We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ogie H

Incredible Experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2024
It is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The attention to detail was second to none, every little detail has been thought about and everything you need is taken care of. The greenhouse where they host evening drinks before dinner is an extraordinary space; the room and bed were so comfortable. To top it all off the owner and host Declan was so welcoming and all the staff were amazing. I highly recommend Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and look forward to returning next time I visit SA.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Stick around for the evening drinks before heading out to dinner
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 22 Mar 2024
Hi ogiehollywood, It really was lovely meeting you &thank you so much for taking the time to write such a generous review - it is greatly appreciated! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and would love to see you back some day on Akademie Street. You will be warmly welcomed back Ogie! Look after yourself & Safe travels. Kind Regards, Declan & The Akademie Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 5 750
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 5 803
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 803
0.8 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 296
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 3 090
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 6 193
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 193
2.3 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 503
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 503
  • Hotels.com
17.8 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 942
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 284
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 107
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Protea Hotels
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 529
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (1 829)
Filter reviews
1 829 results
Traveller rating
1 789
34
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 789
34
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mobile phone attention to detail oortuiging cottage sun hats fruit platter wood burning sun cream hot tub evening drinks thought of everything his team laundry service the main house homemade granola complimentary mini bar the main street private pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1 829 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2024 via mobile

Akademie is all round fantastic. The property is absolutely stunning, and so well kept. Everything has been thought of, even down to complimentary sunscreen by the pool! We were welcomed on the property by friendly staff and given a tour around the site. We stayed in one of the Twyfeling suites and it was gorgeous, peaceful and extremely comfortable. The pool area was perfect, giving plenty of sunny spots but also comfy shady areas. The sunbeds were soo comfortable!
There was a complimentary mini bar in the suite that was restocked each day. In addition there were complimentary drinks each evening in the orangery, plus night caps!
The breakfast was out of this world and one of the best I’ve ever had in a guest house. There was an array to choose from and it was all so fresh and tasty.
The staff were fantastic and couldn’t have done more to help us. On our final morning we felt unwell and missed breakfast but they let us stay after check out and prepared us a light snack. Nothing was any trouble and we appreciated their care and effort.
An amazing stay, and we’ll definitely be back! Thank you for looking after us so well.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Hi Katie R, Thank you so much for your kind & generous words - it is greatly appreciated & always give us a lift! We are delighted to learn that you still enjoyed your stay with us, despite feeling unwell on the last day & hopefully you are now both fully recovered. Look after each other & hopefully, we'll see you both back on Akademie Street some day! Kind Regards, Declan & The Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

A return visit to Akademie Street. It's still a little corner of heaven, tucked away on a quiet street in Franschhoek. I can only echo what everyone else says: Declan and his team will do everything in their powers to ensure you have a great stay. Franschhoek is full of world-class destination restaurants, but our favourite moments of our trip were the afternoons we spent hanging out in the hotel. It might be small, but it's full of tranquil and comfortable corners; perfect places to linger over a cocktail. Already plotting our return.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Hi oliverr337, Thank you so much for your lovely review & kind words - they are greatly appreciated! We are very happy to learn that you are already 'plotting a return' - it would be great to see you both back again on Akademie Street! Take care of each other & safe travels. Kind Regards, Declan & The Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

The BEST HOTEL we have stayed at! It’s a MUST STAY!
From the moment you walk into Akademie Street Hotel, you can’t help but feel the soul - it has almost a home from home feel. We were welcomed by Declan, who also made our stay (more to come on him later!)
The hotel is warm, charming, unique and so special, the rooms and communal areas are beautifully designed with so much character and charm. Every bit of detail has been thought of, down to the smallest things….sun hats by the pool, SA cell phone to take out with you, endless breakfast options, drinks in the orangery, complimentary drinks galore, literally you name it….NOTHING is too much trouble for Declan and his team.
Declan is so hands on, cheerful and makes you feel like a VIP - always checking in - there but never in your face - Declan, if asked, is happy to recommend and will sort anything you want, from restaurant recommendations to days out, to even getting a new hole punched in your belt (I over indulged a little too much!)
The team are equally amazing - they will attend to whatever need you have - they are all great and so welcoming, the service is outstanding, again, making you feel so special.
If you visit Franschhoek, this place is a gem - extend your stay.
Declan and wonderful team, we will be back and we cannot wait! Thank you for such a memorable time at your gorgeous hotel.
Thanks, Emma & Garry

Room tip: Remember to park the right way down the street :) The market on a Saturday morning is lovely to mooch around
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Hi Emma D, thank you so much for your absolutely wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us & even happier to know, that you may even return - expect a very warm welcome back! Take care of each other & safe travels. Kind Regards, Declan & The Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

What a fantastic experience at Akademie Street. It’s a beautiful property with wonderfully decorated rooms and lovely areas to relax, whether by the pool or in the orangery with an evening drink. The breakfast spread is amazing. Terrific location in central Franschhoek with easy walking to the bars and restaurants. Best of all is the fabulous service that Declan and his team provide to make your stay memorable. Thank you!!!

Room tip: Book restaurants in advance - which Declan and his team are more than happy to help with! Particularly recommend Le Coin Francais!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JYUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Hi folks, Thank you so much for your lovely review & very generous words - greatly appreciated! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us on Akademie Street. Hopefully, we'll see you both back some day. Look after each other & safe travels! Kind Regards, Declan & The Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024

This is a gorgeous hideaway in Franschhoek. The staff could not have been more helpful and there are a huge number of lovely touches that made our stay super special. There are many but we loved the fireplace on our balcony, playing pétanque, the wood fired hot tub, the 6 o’clock drinks and the Bluetooth gramaphone speaker in our room. We ll be back

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Hi KenDoooo, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us & we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed 'life on Akademie' street'! It was lovely meeting you both & you can expect a very warm welcome back, should you come this way again! Look after each other & safe travels! Kind Regards, Declan & The Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews