We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$254
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holden Manz Country House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashbourne House Guest House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Roux Street(Franschhoek)
US$179
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$330
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 271)
Filter reviews
1 271 results
Traveller rating
1 231
35
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 231
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creamthought of everythingfruit plattermueslithe main houseguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barhis teamlittle extrassouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1 271 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

As a regular traveller occasionally you come across a real gem.....something so special you don’t really want to tell anyone!!!
This is it........not just in Franschhoek,not just in South Africa,but in the World!
The place is a joy......superb service,beautiful rooms,wonderful food and drinks.Nothing is left to chance.Everything has been thought of.
Thankyou Declan

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi michael a, thank you for your very kind review - we really appreciate it and also hope to see you back on Akademie Street in the very near future! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We knew this boutique hotel would be good after doing a lot of research and the whole experience, from start to finish was just pure delight.
The charming Declan with his great supportive team of staff made my husband and I feel genuinely wanted and cosseted even though it was only for 2 days.
What stood out for us, mainly, was the wonderful atmosphere of the tinkling pianist, whilst have a delicious cocktail in the decadent 'out door lounge' with a roaring fire lit!
Magical was the word we used often( especially for me the complimentary laundry wash and delicious breakfast with the freshest and most bountiful fruit platter we had eaten all holiday!). We also very much appreciated the complimentary well stocked mini bar, not just the usual slim pickings of other establishments, plentiful and re-stocked daily.
We knew that wasn't a cheap option, but you get what you pay for, and this was much more that we had hoped for.
Thankyou to Declan with your charming Irish personality- the most perfect host at all times and thank you to the rest of the hard working team behind the scenes.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NobbyWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi NobbyWorcestershire, thank you so much for such a kind & generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything we have to offer. Hopefully, we will see you both back again some day! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We stayed one night at Akademie, and it was soooooo lovely! I wish we had stayed longer. The guest house is so tastefully decorated, it is pure eye candy. Our room was so spacious and comfortable. The bed and bathroom were amazing. I loved that the minibar was complimentary. There is such great attention to details at Akademie, it feels like they have thought of everything. The staff was lovely. They gave us lovely recommendations for the wine tasting tour and restaurant in the evening (Ryan's Kitchen - very nice). The breakfast was absolutely delicious! They made us the prettiest and tastiest fruit platter with, if I remember correctly, about 25 different fruits. I highly recommend this place! It's of course more pricey than other guest houses but definitely worth the money. I hope to visit again someday.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Hi Alexandra L, thank you so much for your kind words & generous review. We are delighted that you loved Akademie Street and really hope to see you back some day - hopefully staying for longer! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Akademie Street, Declan
and staff were amazing. We loved everything about it, its slightly quirky contents to the amazing breakfasts, lovely fruit and homemade muesli along with cooked bacon and eggs etc. Within easy walking distance (and very safe) of some great restaurants in Frankschoek. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Hi Jane W, thank you so much for such kind words! We are thrilled that you loved your time with us & hopefully we'll see you back again on Akademie Street some day. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Franschoek is a beautiful town with fantastic restaurants and a wine tram allowing drive free wine tasting. Akademie Street guest house is the perfect place to stay. Walking distance to everything, quirky olde world charm buildings with very different and individual suites. Fabulous breakfast, charming host would not consider going anywhere else when returning to Franschoek.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank happy-travel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Hi guys, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and in deed, enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek! It is a very special place! Hope to see you both back soon. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews