We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do you want to feel Royal?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do you want to feel Royal?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was great! Because it is not a big hotel, we got the feeling we were very special. The room was excellent and we had a private pool and a hot tub. Breakfast is outstanding! The laundry is back on the same day. Friends of ours recommended the Akademie and we want to recommend the Akademie to you all.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jos en Nico v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Jos en Nico v, thanks a mjllion for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Thanks also for the recommendation and what a lovely comment you made - that we made you feel very special - that has made our day!! See you again! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
846
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Akademie Street Boutique hotel was the first part of our honeymoon. We arrived the day after our Wedding on the afternoon of Friday 10th March. We made the short trip from Stellenbosch and enjoyed a couple of wine tastings on our way to Akademie Street.
What a wonderful and warm welcome we received from Declan. We were given a little tour round the main house and shown where you can enjoy pre-dinner drinks & cocktails whilst listening to the piano being played. There is also an extensive library that you are free to use. Free wifi is available throughout the property. There is also a PC that you can use should you need to print anything off.

We were then shown our accommodation for the two nights my husband and I were staying for. We chose Gelatenheid for the 2 nights to just simply to relax after the wedding. Declan showed us round the 2 storey house with private pool and pointed out the mobile phone that is left in the room with all the contact details of nearby restaurants listed should we wish to phone and book. Great idea, although booking prior to arrival in Franschhoek is recommended. The spacious villa had a wraparound balcony that you could enjoy watching the sun go down and a small but compact bathroom with lovely toiletries as well as slippers and robes. Downstairs was a kitchenette, another toilet and a seating area as well as another seating area up stairs with TV. There was an outside tub as well as an indoor one, we didn’t use the tub, as it was so warm both nights we were staying.
There was complementary drinks in the fridge downstairs and snacks which were replaced daily which was such a lovely touch.

Breakfast was truly extraordinary with fresh fruit being served, plus a smoothie which changed both days depending on what fruits were available to use. There was also homemade granola with honey and yoghurt to enjoy as well as a further option of a cooked breakfast with toast and preserves. The breakfast really set you up for the day and you certainly didn’t need any lunch. Dinner isn’t included and this is where Akademie Street have been very clever. In Franschhoek, you are spoiled for choice with amazing restaurants covering street food to fine dining and everything in between. By not offering dinner, Akademie Street can really focus on the other elements during your stay. You really notice this attention to detail.

The extra nice touch of straw hats and suntan lotion on the lounger was a great extra feature, as it was so hot at the start of March when we were staying, suntan lotion was a definite must whilst lying out by the pool. We ate at Allora (Italian) both nights, which again we recommend for good, simple food, we hadn’t booked anywhere as we weren’t sure what we fancied.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Akademie and would highly recommend. Our only regret is that we only stayed for 2 nights. We wished we had longer and if ever in Franschhoek again, we will definitely return.

Thanks to Declan and the team for making our stay truly memorable.

Room Tip: Gelatenheid offers complete privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ-BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi AJ-BB, Firstly thank you so much for choosing Akademie to celebrate your honeymoon - we were trully honoured! But thank you also for such a very kind & generous review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we may see you again - perhaps celebrating an anniversary with us! Good luck for your future together. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Charming might be an overused description, but when you stay at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House you learn what charm really means. The team is superb, lead by Declan, for whom we're sure the word charm must have been coined. The guests' comfort and needs are first and foremost and you're welcomed and treated with the utmost care and genuine warmth.

My husband and I stayed in Gelatenheid, a 2-story cottage with its own private garden and large pool. We found straw hats and sunscreen on the lounge chairs by the pool, unexpected and delightful amenities. The ground floor included an equipped kitchen, dining table and chairs, a cozy sitting room and a bathroom with toilet, sink and shower. One door lead to our parking bay on the street behind the main entrance and the other to a wraparound porch and the garden. The upper floor contained the comfortable bed and another sitting area, plus plenty of space to unpack clothes and personal items. The bathroom was compact with a small sink and shower, however, there is a convenient vanity just outside and a soaking tub indoors and another secluded one outdoors on the wraparound balcony on this level. The view from the upper balcony was beautiful. The ample towels were soft and fluffy, as were the bathrobes and slippers. Good quality toiletries were provided as well as converter plugs along with enough outlets. Wi-Fi worked well. There are plenty of snacks, wine and soft drinks to enjoy.

The public areas were equally inviting with a piano lounge and a beautiful pool and garden where breakfasts were served. Breakfasts were exceptional! The fruit plate was extraordinary and there was tasty homemade muesli, all kinds of tea, coffee, pastries and an adorable menu listing the various cooked items you can order.

Nights were peaceful and we slept well. Franschhoek is a lovely town and it's easy to walk to good restaurants or drive to vineyards and attractions in Stellenbosch and Paarl.

We would have gladly spent more time here and can highly recommend it when you're visiting the Winelands area.

Room Tip: Gelatenheid is wonderful. Comfortable and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAM1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi BAM1113, thank you so much for such a generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we'll see you back on Akademie Street again some day! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2017

My wife and I stayed in this super boutique hotel for 3 days during our honeymoon. The hotel is very well located (short walking distance to the main street with all the restaurants and cafes) and in a very quiet street. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the attention to detail is impeccable. Our room (Oortuiging A) was lovely ad even had its own fire powered hot tub. The staff were friendly and so helpful. Complimentary cocktails and an incredible breakfast served in the lovely pool area really added to the experience. We did not want to go home - absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathieu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 22 March 2017
Hi Mathieu L, thank you for such a lovely review and we are delighted that you guys enjoyed your Honeymoon on Akademie Street. Thanks for choosing us!! Who knows, maybe you will celebrate your 1st Anniversary with us!! Congratulations & the very best of luck!! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

A gem of a place. My husband and I enjoyed 3 amazing days here and were very sad to leave. Declan was so welcoming and gregarious, he made our stay a real delight. Thank you to all the staff who were always very considerate and sweet.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 20 March 2017
Hi Sarah N, thank you so much for such a kind and generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for choosing Akademie for your honeymoon! Hopefully we will see you again soon on Akademie St. Kind Regards,
Declan & the Akademie Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.5 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price range (per night): R3 682 - R5 905
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing