We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

From then moment if our arrival until the time we left we were looked after with special attention. The pool was great and warm and we enjoyed the evening wine and music before setting out to one of the many good restaurants. The front door boast 6 trip advisor awards and soon to show 2017.

Not cheap but you really do get a special experience. Denise and Nick both hope to return and will certainly be recommending this Oasis to our friends. Well done Declan.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi Nick B, Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay on Akademie St. It is always great to hear that guests really enjoyed the unique 'Akademie experience'. We continue to further enhance this, so hopefully you will return again some day to experience it all again!! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
There are newer reviews for Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1 138 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I write a lot of reviews so I always like to have what I consider to be the top in each category. Large hotels, BnBs restos etc. the Akademie definetley sets the standard for a boutique hotel. They did not miss a beat. We had one of the suites with a private pool area so I can only comment on that one but I am sure the quality is as good in the other rooms and the service definetly is. The room was understated luxury beautiful bathroom with free standing tub in its own room, a small kitchenette area with everything you need including complimentary beverages. The main area has cocktails and wine in the afternoon with numerous places to lounge. Breakfast poolside in the morning was superb. I can keep going on but all I can say is if in Franschoek again I will stay here.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank howard0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi howard0928, Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review - trust me, it means so much to us all here on Akademie Street, especially from one so widely travelled - Thank you!! Hopefully you will get the chance again to visit us very soon. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We couldn't take a trip to South Africa without making a return visit to Akademie Street. What a gem of a place it is, with wonderful staff who really do achieve what they strive for and that is to create a " home from home" atmosphere.
We loved the changes that you've made since our visit in 2016, not least listening to the pianist playing in the lounge in the early evening before we went out to enjoy Franschhoek's wonderful restaurants.
Declan, Stacey, Meena and all the team - a big thank you for making our return visit to see you such a memorable one.

Room Tip: Take the walk around Franschhoek that is marked on the restaurant map that the hotel gives you.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnepeter2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi lynnepeter2017, thank you for your lovely review and it is always very gratifying to receive such praise from returning guests! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us but also that you loved the various improvements we have made!! Hopefully, you both will be back again soon. Kind Regards,Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

.... we will never find any where that could compare to this fantastic place your every need has been thought of and catered for it's absolutely fantastic. We are currently here for two nights and having just arrived will definitely return . As two couples staying in a two bed cottage it's absolutely gorgeous two separate bedrooms a main lounge and our own pool with patio as well as the usual, we are welcomed with a bottle of champagne, snacks, sun cream and sun hat, we also have a large four poster bed, fabulous stand alone brass bath and a wood burning hot tub to name but a few things. We arrived early without having booked any where for dinner but that was quickly taken care of by our wonderful host Declan who sorted dinner for both nights of our stay. Franschhoek is very pretty and has a village feel and only being an hours drive from Cape Town definitely with a visit and should not be missed there are so many wonderful restaurants to visit and of course the vineyards loving it so far

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helenbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hello Helen, thank you for taking time out to write such a lovely and kind review - and you haven't even left us yet!! Please relax and the enjoy the rest of your time with us!! Kind Regards Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We had just 3 wonderful days in Franschhoek & what a fabulous time we had at the Akademie Boutique Hotel & Guest House
This staff were brilliant- nothing was too much trouble
Declan,Meena & Stacey were all very polite & cheerful & made Vicki & I extremely welcome
The amazing fruit - a minimum of 12 different varieties was superb & the choice for cereal,toast,cooked meals were great for our breakfast
The little things made all the difference to us including the free mini bar together with a night cap if so wanted, also a Bloody Mary for breakfast!
Well done Declan to a really friendly but fantastic guest house
We would have no hesitation in coming back in the future
All the very best for the future to you & your team


Regards
Ray & Vicki

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RayVicki2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Hi Ray & Vicki, Thanks a million for such a lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we will see you again soon on Akademie Street! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
2.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
0.4 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: R4 649 - R7 166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing