We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We couldn't take a trip to South Africa without making a return visit to Akademie Street. What a gem of a place it is, with wonderful staff who really do achieve what they strive for and that is to create a " home from home" atmosphere.
We loved the changes that you've made since our visit in 2016, not least listening to the pianist playing in the lounge in the early evening before we went out to enjoy Franschhoek's wonderful restaurants.
Declan, Stacey, Meena and all the team - a big thank you for making our return visit to see you such a memorable one.

Room Tip: Take the walk around Franschhoek that is marked on the restaurant map that the hotel gives you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnepeter2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi lynnepeter2017, thank you for your lovely review and it is always very gratifying to receive such praise from returning guests! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us but also that you loved the various improvements we have made!! Hopefully, you both will be back again soon. Kind Regards,Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 1 186 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

.... we will never find any where that could compare to this fantastic place your every need has been thought of and catered for it's absolutely fantastic. We are currently here for two nights and having just arrived will definitely return . As two couples staying in a two bed cottage it's absolutely gorgeous two separate bedrooms a main lounge and our own pool with patio as well as the usual, we are welcomed with a bottle of champagne, snacks, sun cream and sun hat, we also have a large four poster bed, fabulous stand alone brass bath and a wood burning hot tub to name but a few things. We arrived early without having booked any where for dinner but that was quickly taken care of by our wonderful host Declan who sorted dinner for both nights of our stay. Franschhoek is very pretty and has a village feel and only being an hours drive from Cape Town definitely with a visit and should not be missed there are so many wonderful restaurants to visit and of course the vineyards loving it so far

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helenbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hello Helen, thank you for taking time out to write such a lovely and kind review - and you haven't even left us yet!! Please relax and the enjoy the rest of your time with us!! Kind Regards Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We had just 3 wonderful days in Franschhoek & what a fabulous time we had at the Akademie Boutique Hotel & Guest House
This staff were brilliant- nothing was too much trouble
Declan,Meena & Stacey were all very polite & cheerful & made Vicki & I extremely welcome
The amazing fruit - a minimum of 12 different varieties was superb & the choice for cereal,toast,cooked meals were great for our breakfast
The little things made all the difference to us including the free mini bar together with a night cap if so wanted, also a Bloody Mary for breakfast!
Well done Declan to a really friendly but fantastic guest house
We would have no hesitation in coming back in the future
All the very best for the future to you & your team


Regards
Ray & Vicki

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RayVicki2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Hi Ray & Vicki, Thanks a million for such a lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we will see you again soon on Akademie Street! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We would firstly like to thank Declan and his staff for making us so very welcome and giving us a truly wonderful experience. From the moment we stepped into Akademie ,the service and attention to detail was impeccable. If we could we would give them six stars! We went with friends and we stayed in the 2 bed roomed cottage. Again it was fantastic- a wow from us all. The decor was very stylish and apart from having our very own pool with sun hats ,towels and even sun lotion provided, there were hot tubs for each bedroom. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms spacious and luxurious. Breakfast was very special starting with large platters of fresh fruits(18). There was an excellent choice of breakfast items to suit all types of travellers.
Location wise it was ideal as it was only a few minutes walk into the main high street.
We look forward to returning there on our next South African adventure!

Room Tip: All rooms were of a very high standard and we're all private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Hi Sandra J, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is particularly gratifying that you loved our recently refurbished Oortuiging cottage! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Writing my 1st (and perhaps only) TA review here because this place was so over-the-top extraordinary. If you have the opportunity to stay here, do it. The service, the bed, the linens, the amenities, the bathtub!, the breakfast..... I could go on and on. When we're next in SA we're DEFINITELY staying again. And next time for more than just one night.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank levdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Hi levdor, Thank you for such a generous review and we are honoured that we are the subject of your 1ST review!!! Thank you! You absolutely must return and as you say, stay longer than 1 day!! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0,3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
2,3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0,8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
0,3 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
1,5 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: R4 231 - R7 168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing