We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the wine lands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We would firstly like to thank Declan and his staff for making us so very welcome and giving us a truly wonderful experience. From the moment we stepped into Akademie ,the service and attention to detail was impeccable. If we could we would give them six stars! We went with friends and we stayed in the 2 bed roomed cottage. Again it was fantastic- a wow from us all. The decor was very stylish and apart from having our very own pool with sun hats ,towels and even sun lotion provided, there were hot tubs for each bedroom. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms spacious and luxurious. Breakfast was very special starting with large platters of fresh fruits(18). There was an excellent choice of breakfast items to suit all types of travellers.
Location wise it was ideal as it was only a few minutes walk into the main high street.
We look forward to returning there on our next South African adventure!

Room Tip: All rooms were of a very high standard and we're all private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Hi Sandra J, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is particularly gratifying that you loved our recently refurbished Oortuiging cottage! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 67 of 1 164 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2017

Writing my 1st (and perhaps only) TA review here because this place was so over-the-top extraordinary. If you have the opportunity to stay here, do it. The service, the bed, the linens, the amenities, the bathtub!, the breakfast..... I could go on and on. When we're next in SA we're DEFINITELY staying again. And next time for more than just one night.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank levdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Hi levdor, Thank you for such a generous review and we are honoured that we are the subject of your 1ST review!!! Thank you! You absolutely must return and as you say, stay longer than 1 day!! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful 2 night stay which unfortunately wasn't long enough to fully appreciate this lovely property. The photos on trip advisor are fantastic but still do not do this place justice! It is very stylishly decorated to the very finest detail (we live in a house built in 1871 at home and I envied the decor!). All of the extra touches just made it (pianist, wine/whiskies etc) and Declan and the team were more attentive than anyone could ask for. And I must mention breakfast - nothing less than a feast. The highlight being the stewed fruit - Declan I understand why there may have been a revolt at the suggestion of taking it off the menu!! Perfection overall. Thank you!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MKEG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Hi MIKEG2014, thank you for such a kind and generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we will see you guys back again - perhaps for your 1st Anniversary!! Congratulations and the very best of luck! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Fantastic and brilliant, is probably the best way to describe this place. Declan the owner's attention to detail caters for everyone's needs and more.
Declan really went out of his way to make us feel welcome.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lieplapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Hi Lieplapper, thank you so much for such kind words - they really mean a lot to us here! Hopefully you will get the chance to come stay with us again - but stay longer this time!! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We have stayed at Akademie a number of times and we would rate it as one of the best boutique hotels in the world. Declan,Stacey, Meena and the rest of the crew ensured that you get 5 star treatment. Since a change in ownership took place a number of refurbishments have been made and the hotel is very welcoming and beautifully furnished, with no expense spared. Seems expensive when looking at the room rate but when you consider it includes the use of a local mobile phone, free drinks and laundry it represents good value. This is the only place in Franschhoek to stay but do book well in advance.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Paul C, thank you for such kind words and we are delighted that you once again enjoyed your time with us. It really is satisfying when a returning guest, lets us know that they really enjoyed the many new improvements made to Akademie Street. Hopefully we will see you back again soon! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
2.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
685 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
0.4 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: R4 580 - R7 367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing