We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This is an oasis, not to be missed.Everything is taken care of for you.
Declan and all his team do all they can to make your stay memorable, however short or long.We shall return.The cottage Verugde was an absolute delight, spacious, well equipped, ideal for two who want privacy and quiet.

Room Tip: Book very early to secure the suite or cottage of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 22 February 2017
Hi jack186336, thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and loved the 'all new' Vreugde cottage! Hopefully, we will see you back soon. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Street Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
859
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2017

If you are thinking of visiting Franschoek this is the only place to stay. What a stunning place. We stayed in the cottage which includes your own pool and garden. The rooms were large and have all the facilities you could possibly need including a full kitchen should you decide to eat in. The place was spotless. The breakfasts superb, eaten outside under the grape vine. Declan and the team can't do enough for you; they are all so welcoming. All this and only 2 minutes away from the host of excellent restaurants.
Wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Hi houlty, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a generous review. We are delighted that you had a great time on Akademie street and we really hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2017

What a wonderful experience. On arrival Declan, Stacey and the team were welcoming and friendly, willing to assist to all our needs. We stayed in Vreudge - A beautifully decorated, spacious, modern room with a stunning brass bath and private swimming pool. I will definately be returning soon!
I will definitely return to Akademie Street.

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
Thank kellybost85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Hello kellybost85, thank you for such kind words and we are so happy that you enjoyed everything that Akademie Street has to offer! We really do hope that you do get the chance to return! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Made up of a beautiful colonial Dutch house in a tranquil garden, this is a real oasis.
Our room was large, well appointed, spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The staff are friendly, pleasant and unfailingly polite. The breakfasts, served outside whenever possible, were delicious. On top of all this, there are wines, spirits etc. available at no charge and the laundry service is also free. The main street of Franschhoek is only a few minutes walk away with all of its attractions.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Hi Eileen W, thank you so much for such kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and indeed loved Franschhoek! Hopefully we will see you again soon on Akademie Street. Declan & the Akademie Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Super hotel. Warmly welcomed by Declan and his staff. The hotel is so quiet yet it is just a short walk from the main street. Very large and comfortable room with free mini-bar. Help yourself drinks in the lounge. Super breakfast. Lovely area by the pool which is sheltered; a must on a really hot day! Highly recommended hotel. We were advised to stay in Franschhoek rather than Stellenbosch and we are so glad we did.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisV2461PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Hello chrisV2461PG, we are so happy that you really enjoyed your time with us and indeed in Franschhoek - you are so right; it really is the 'jewel of the winelands' and we are so lucky with our location, being so close to the village! Hopefully, you will return again some day! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
0.8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
2.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
1.5 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
534 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price range (per night): R3 763 - R6 810
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing