We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lalaphansi
Hout Bay, South Africa

Perfect homely hotel in Franschhoek

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks agovia mobile
Highly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for this amazing team. Rooms are delightful and cozy. A stones though away from the village. Chapter House is a place we will visit again and always recommend. Grab a daily piece of delicious cake with compliments. The staff are probably some of the best most welcoming I have ever experienced. Thank you so much for making our visit so warm and special.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded today
Dear Lalala

Thank you for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Franschhoek, and for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and very pleased that you enjoyed some of our special little touches, such as the afternoon cake.

We appreciate your strong recommendation. Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area, we would love to welcome you back to Chapter House Boutique Hotel, or another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Hermanus and Robertson.

Warm regards, and thanks again.

Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 238
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 238
0.2 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 900
R 4 710
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 307
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 252
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.9 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 517
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 517
17.6 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 10 036
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 10 036
0.2 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 302
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
0.2 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 117
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Protea Hotels
    R 2 508
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    R 2 865
  • Hotels.com
14.3 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
240
22
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
240
22
3
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street own private plunge pool every afternoon sister hotel breakfast was delicious brilliant stay cape town lovely hotel staff could not have been more went the extra mile coffee machine the ground floor attention to detail lovely touch we loved our stay quiet street location is great
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2024

Nice traditional hotel. Lovely room with everything you need. Good breakfast and nice pool area. Great location for main town restaurants (2 min walk) and wine tram tickets/station (5-10min walk)
Although we enjoyed our stay the staff didn’t interact. Having stayed at another of there hotels the day before in Hermanus where we had exceptional service, we expected the same. It felt like there was never anyone around. No bar area as such, so was difficult to get a drink either by the pool or in the evening. Enjoyed our stay and it worked well for what we needed.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2024

Dear Alison

Thank you for your review, and for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel, and indeed One Marine Drive, for your recent trip.

We get a lot of great comments about our location, which you describe so well. I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and the food service. I am however very disappointed that you found the service to be lacking. This is unusual feedback, so I will engage with the team and try to find out a little more. We will definitely be addressing this, and exceptional service, which we are very proud of, is our differentiator.

Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area. We would love to welcome you back to Chapter House Boutique Hotel, where we will demonstrate that we can do better, or to another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Hermanus and Robertson.

Thanks again, and warm regards.

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024

We stayed for 4 nights in March. I would call Chapter House more of a BnB rather than a hotel. It is situated in a quiet street one street back from the Main Street so everything is within walking distance. The breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Our room was in the old part of the building and we had people passing by our one window/door continually so we had to keep the blind down. I would suggest requesting a room in the newer part of the building.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharllew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Dear Sharlew

Thank you for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel for your recent stay in Franschhoek, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the location, which is really great, and the professional and friendly service. I do hope that you managed to take advantage of all the hotel's amenities such as the beautiful spa, the bar, and the all-day dining service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chapter House Boutique Hotel on your next trip to Franschhoek.

Warm regards.

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Loved the hotel! Great vibe, excellent staff and clean and comfortable rooms.
Very conveniently situated close to the town centre, but not too close. There is also a nice swimming pool area to cool off and relax!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 19mrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Mrs T

Thank you for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Franschhoek and for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us.

We get great feedback about our location, and it is exactly as you say, right in the middle of everything but nicely tucked away to make sure we have lots of peace and quiet. We are so pleased you also enjoyed this. I have also shared your lovely feedback with the team, they always appreciate these wonderful compliments.

Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area. We would love to welcome you back to Chapter House Boutique Hotel, or another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Hermanus and Robertson.

Thanks again, and warm regards.

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2024

There is no doubt that the setting of this hotel is wonderful and the location is perfect: smash in the middle of Franschhoek. The reception room is spectacular, but we have to say that the room, although charming, lacked the style that we expected for this price. The wall sockets were making a zooming noise (which gave an unpleasant feeling) and it was quite hot (the airco was pointing at the bed, so would have made for an uncomfortable nights rest if we would have used it. The ceiling fan didn't work properly and was noisy. The view from the terrace over Franschhoek was very nice though. The stairs leading to the room were very narrow. The breakfast was fair and could have been better for the price (even though the setting, again, was beautiful).

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MaartenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Mike

Thank you for your review, and for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel for your trip to Franschhoek last October.

We really appreciate your feedback, although it would have been great to hear from you a little earlier. I have had the maintenance team check your small issues with the fan and the A/C and all is in perfect working order.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the location and the design of the hotel.

Thanks again for taking the time to post and review, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards.

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024

We stayed 2 nights at the end of a 2 week African adventure! Chapter House is located a block off the main street and is walking distance to many restaurants/stores etc. Maybe a mile from Franschhoek wine tram terminal so we had uber take us there. The property is also secure with a gate for only guests and on a quiet street.
The room was large and comfortable with a nice shower. We even had our own plunge pool ( but we never used it!) and little sitting area outside but it was always shady so we opted for the main pool to enjoy the sun. The lobby is cozy and the main pool is luxurious with nice loungers and beautiful views of the mountains. The breakfast is good with hot order and a nice continental spread as well. It was a great place to stay and enjoy all the wineries that Franschhoek has to offer.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank brandyu2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Brandy

Thank you for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Franschhoek, and for taking the time to post such a wonderfully detailed review.

I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us, and in the Franschhoek Valley, and the great selection of wineries and wine farms, and of the course the added benefit of having do many attractions and restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area. We would love to welcome you back to Chapter House Boutique Hotel, or another one of The Living Journey Collection in Stellenbosch, Hermanus, Robertson and Cape Town.

warm regards and thanks again.

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews