We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 2 700
Breakfast included
Priceline
R 3 339
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
R 2 477
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
brandyu2002
Cleveland, Ohio
great base for winery hopping!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2024
We stayed 2 nights at the end of a 2 week African adventure! Chapter House is located a block off the main street and is walking distance to many restaurants/stores etc. Maybe a mile from Franschhoek wine tram terminal so we had uber take us there. The property is also secure with a gate for only guests and on a quiet street.
The room was large and comfortable with a nice shower. We even had our own plunge pool ( but we never used it!) and little sitting area outside but it was always shady so we opted for the main pool to enjoy the sun. The lobby is cozy and the main pool is luxurious with nice loungers and beautiful views of the mountains. The breakfast is good with hot order and a nice continental spread as well. It was a great place to stay and enjoy all the wineries that Franschhoek has to offer.
Date of stay: February 2024
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 2 025
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 586
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 804
0.1 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 890
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 919
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 834
0.5 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 750
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 200
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 424
0.3 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 11 000
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 691
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 478
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 661
0.2 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
La Cotte House - Pool House
Booking.com
R 4 093
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 897
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 911
0.7 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 6 204
R 4 428
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 277
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 261
2.1 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 920
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 284
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 106
1.6 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 5 844
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 844
  • eDreams
    R 5 844
1.5 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 712
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 676
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 704
0.1 km from Chapter House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
238
21
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
238
21
3
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street own private plunge pool every afternoon sister hotel breakfast was delicious brilliant stay cape town lovely hotel staff could not have been more went the extra mile coffee machine the ground floor attention to detail lovely touch we loved our stay quiet street location is great
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2024

A beautiful hotel and extraordinary attention to detail. Very private and quite and close to the main street and eating areas. the breakfast was excellent and the swimming pool available to all. They organized the ride back to the airport.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Barry

We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review, and I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Chapter House Boutique Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our attention to detail, and all of our special little touches. I am also pleased that you managed to take advantage of our tour and transport offering, which is very popular.

Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area. We would love to welcome you back to Chapter House Boutique Hotel, or another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Hermanus, Stellenbosch and Robertson.

Many thanks again and warm regards,

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

We were so pleased we chose this hotel. It was beautiful, and even better than we expected. We were in one of the new rooms and it was lovely. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. The location is great, just behind the main street in Franschhoek and has parking facilities. Although the pool area is small it was great and lovely to relax here after being out all day. We definitely would recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tophillgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear TopHillGreen

Thank you for your wonderful review, and it is just great to read how much you enjoyed your time at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, and in Franschhoek.

I have shared your lovely comments with the team, who always appreciate great feedback and love when their passion and hard work is appreciated. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the location. It really does feed into a great feeling of relaxation when so much is within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Please so stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area. We would love to welcome you back to Chapter House Boutique Hotel, or to another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Hermanus and Robertson.

Warm regards and thanks again.

Lorraine


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Amazing attention to detail in this beautiful boutique hotel in quiet Franschhoek. Perfectly located to explore the wonderful restaurants recommended by the hotel. Friendly attentive staff in a restful atmosphere. Highly recommended

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeteGMaunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Pete

Thank you for taking the time to post such a stunning review, and for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Franschhoek. I couldn't agree with you more, that this a beautiful, quiet little town.

We really appreciate your strong recommendation, and your great endorsement, and would love to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not-too-distant future. Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area, either to stay in Chapter House again, or another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Hermanus and Robertson.

Thanks again and warm regards,

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

Very enjoyable and in a great location for the shops and restaurants in the centre of Franschhoek. Parking at the hotel. Yummy breakfasts and very friendly staff and a sensible price. We would book again :)

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 803Maz1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Maz

Thank for deciding on Chapter House Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Franschhoek, and I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us.

Thanks for highlighting some of your favourite aspects of the hotel, the parking, breakfast, the great location, and of course the friendly team members.

Please stay in touch, we would love to welcome you back to Chapter House Boutique Hotel, or another one of The Living Journey Collection in Stellenbosch, Hermanus, Robertson and Cape Town.

Warm regards.

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

What a great location if you wish to tour the wineries of Franschhoek. The hotel was well presented with welcoming and friendly staff and conveniently situated just off the main road where there were a lot of good restaurants. A comfortable walk to the wine tram and a delightful town to visit. Very helpful booking restaurants. A great place to stay

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S7656FYsharonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Sharon

Thank you for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Franschhoek, and for taking the time to post such a complimentary review.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Franschhoek is a beautiful little town, and easy access to the best that it has to offer is a real bonus and always popular.

We really appreciate your support and your strong endorsement and recommendation. Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area. We would love to welcome you back to Chapter House Boutique Hotel, or perhaps another one of The Living Journey Collection in Hermanus, Stellenbosch, Robertson and Cape Town.

Many thanks and warm regards,

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews