We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$231
View deal
Booking.com
US$193
View deal
Hotels.com
US$231
View deal
PricelineUS$203
eDreamsUS$193
TravelocityUS$231
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
128
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
128
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavender garden the main street own private plunge pool private location outstanding staff warm breakfast sister hotel common areas ample space afternoon cakes breakfast buffet brilliant stay wonderful garden recommend this hotel spacious room great attention to detail tea and coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2021

This little getaway was our first staycation after the start of the pandemic. We usually travel overseas, but thought that we would try a try locally. Chapter House made us feel as if we were in another country. The proximity to the restaurants and wine farms are an added attraction. Everything is within walking distance. Priceless. The service was exceptional. Definitely a repeat performance.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jdekock2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Thank you for your review.

It is wonderful to read that your experience at Chapter House was a positive comparison to your usual overseas trip. Our location really does offer the best of everything - just a minute from the main road, but also very quiet and peaceful - exactly what you need when away for the weekend.

I am very pleased to read that you would like to come back. Please do stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip. We have also One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel in Hermanus, and The Tree House Boutique Hotel, and Zest Boutique Hotel in Cape Town. If you would like assistance in booking your next trip please so let us know and we would be more than willing to help.

Warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021

Our stay at Chapter House was fantastic. The hotel is stunning and different. Staff very friendly. Great value for money. Breakfast with a view of the mountains was especially awesome and the food great quality.

Date of stay: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MelFromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Dear Mel

Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Franschhoek and your stay at Chapter House Boutique Hotel.

We re-opened the hotel after renovations just before lockdown, and with that we managed to restore the old charm whilst also introducing some key modern .must haves', so I am very pleased to read that you appreciated the combination.

I will share your comments about the team with them. They work very hard and really appreciate when they get positive feedback,

Please do stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to Franschhoek, we would love to welcome you back to Chapter House, or indeed to another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town and Hermanus.

Warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2021

We had such an amazing time at Chapter House. Such friendly staff, stunning views, delicious breakfast and loved all the small touches (cake every after noon). Thank you for making our time in Franschhoek so memorable!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swalte605489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Dear Swalte

Thank for your review and for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel for you stay in Franschhoek.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed all of our special little touches. I have shared your comments with the team who always appreciate it when their friendliness and passion for service are mentioned.

Please do stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to Franschhoek, we would love to welcome you back to Chapter House, or indeed to another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town and Hermanus.

Warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

We have had bad experiences in Franschoek with overpriced and underwhelming standards on a number of occasions and so it was rewarding to arrive here and find very good value for a lovely boutique hotel. The setting is both excellent and convenient

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Dear Doto

Many thanks for your review. It is disappointing that your first few days in Franschhoek were underwhelming, but we are delighted that you found an oasis of calm and excellence at Chapter House Boutique Hotel.

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we very much look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Franschhoek.

Warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021

We had a lovely stay at Chapter House. The staff members were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts delicious and the rooms and common areas were beautiful. And the location is great! I would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Odyssey402460
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2021

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 'getaway' at Chapter House Boutique Hotel and in Franschhoek. I have shared your kind words with the team who are always really delighted to get a special mention from guests.

Thank you for the recommendation, Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to Franschhoek, we would love to welcome you back to Chapter House, or indeed to another one of the Living Journey Collection of Hotels in Cape Town or Hermanus.

Thanks and warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews