We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$189
View deal
Expedia.comUS$228
Hotels.comUS$228
PricelineUS$199
eDreamsUS$189
CheapTicketsUS$228
TravelocityUS$228
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
128
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
128
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavender garden the main street own private plunge pool private location outstanding staff warm breakfast sister hotel common areas ample space afternoon cakes breakfast buffet brilliant stay wonderful garden recommend this hotel spacious room great attention to detail tea and coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2021

We had such an amazing time at Chapter House. Such friendly staff, stunning views, delicious breakfast and loved all the small touches (cake every after noon). Thank you for making our time in Franschhoek so memorable!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swalte605489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Dear Swalte

Thank for your review and for choosing Chapter House Boutique Hotel for you stay in Franschhoek.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed all of our special little touches. I have shared your comments with the team who always appreciate it when their friendliness and passion for service are mentioned.

Please do stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to Franschhoek, we would love to welcome you back to Chapter House, or indeed to another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town and Hermanus.

Warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

We have had bad experiences in Franschoek with overpriced and underwhelming standards on a number of occasions and so it was rewarding to arrive here and find very good value for a lovely boutique hotel. The setting is both excellent and convenient

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Dear Doto

Many thanks for your review. It is disappointing that your first few days in Franschhoek were underwhelming, but we are delighted that you found an oasis of calm and excellence at Chapter House Boutique Hotel.

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we very much look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Franschhoek.

Warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021

We had a lovely stay at Chapter House. The staff members were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts delicious and the rooms and common areas were beautiful. And the location is great! I would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Odyssey402460
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2021

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 'getaway' at Chapter House Boutique Hotel and in Franschhoek. I have shared your kind words with the team who are always really delighted to get a special mention from guests.

Thank you for the recommendation, Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to Franschhoek, we would love to welcome you back to Chapter House, or indeed to another one of the Living Journey Collection of Hotels in Cape Town or Hermanus.

Thanks and warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2021

All we can Say was beautiful ,the Service was Excellent in all ways. The room was so clean and fresh.
We will defiantly stay again and recommend to friends and Family. Breakfast always plenty.
My Review EXCELLENT IN ALL THE WAY!!!!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ethomas2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2021

Dear Ethomas

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek and at Chapter House Boutique Hotel.

The team is really passionate about surpassing expectations, so your feedback that everything was 'excellent' will be a real cause of pride and celebration for them. Thank you for that.

I am delighted to read that you will be back and that you will recommend Chapter House further to friends and family. Please do stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip, we would love to welcome you back here or to another one of The Living Journey Collection of Boutique Hotels in Cape Town and Hermanus.

Warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

excellent first class venue

point of concern there appears to be a short in the roof down lighters in room number 8 which was brought to the duty persons attention of particular concern with a wooden ceiling

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marcL1635LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at Chapter House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Dear Marc

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your Valentines weekend with us at Chapter House Boutique Hotel.

Thank you for mentioning your concern with the downlighters. I have followed up with the Duty Manager and the matter has been sorted. As you rightly point out, with such an old building we need to be very careful, but our recent renovations included a full re-wiring, and we undergo twice yearly inspections. We are very committed to ensuring that our guests feel safe at all times.

We look forward to seeing you again. Please do stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to Franschhoek, or indeed to Cape Town or Hermanus where we also have hotels from The Living Journey Collection.

Warm regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews