We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pink bubbles”
Review of Haute Cabriere

Haute Cabriere
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108,52*
and up
Guided Wine Lands Day Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #17 of 66 things to do in Franschhoek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Situated on the slopes of the Franschhoek Mountains, Haute Cabriere – The Home of Pierre Jourdan - specialises in still wines and Methode Cap Classiques produced exclusively from Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. The Tasting Room offers visitors a personal introduction to its wines through cellar tours and tastings, in English, Afrikaans, German or French (French and German by appointment only). An informal tapas-style small plates menu is also available to enjoy during the wine tasting. Next door, Haute Cabriere Restaurant treats guests to the “True Marriage of Food and Wine” with a menu that revolves around the estate’s wines.
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Detailed and informative wine and MC tasting. The inviting cellar is authentic and a calm respite from the 35 degrees celsius summer heat. Their Pierre Jourdan Cuvee Bella Rose is a darling.

Thank michellejC119HX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteManager, Manager at Haute Cabriere, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Michelle

Good to hear that you enjoyed the tasting. Please visit us again for a glass of Belle Rose when you are in the area.

Regards
Haute Cabriere Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"pinot noir"
in 20 reviews
"pierre jourdan"
in 12 reviews
"tasting room"
in 29 reviews
"cellar tour"
in 20 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 52 reviews
"hot summers day"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 3 reviews
"stunning location"
in 3 reviews
"franschhoek valley"
in 7 reviews
"wine route"
in 3 reviews
"cape town"
in 6 reviews
"great wine"
in 4 reviews
"first stop"
in 3 reviews
"wine estate"
in 4 reviews
"sabrage"
in 13 reviews
"sword"
in 7 reviews
"champagne"
in 17 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Here I was trying to be fancy booking a private tour only to tossed around between 4 people, none willing to guide us. We spent 45 minutes past our appointment waiting, and waiting and waiting. Finally assisted by a young short lady. She was pleasant but extremely hurried. I don't remember much of the details. At least she tried, much better than their front of house.

Thank zodiac0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteManager, Manager at Haute Cabriere, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Zodiac0908

Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. Our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience - this will be investigated and attended to in order to ensure that this do not happen again. Kindly send us an e-mail to marketing@cabriere.co.za so that we can get in contact with you.

Regards
Haute Cabriere Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We were so looking forward to the 6 course tasting menu with pairing wines but it was such a disappointment and probably the worst restaurant experience of my life (I am 55 years old well travelled and eat out regularly in the U.K. at high and lower end restaurants).

We arrived at 7pm. So quite an early sitting. The wine waiter was great but they seemed to forget we were meant to be eating too. The bread course took about 20 minutes to arrive by which time we had finished the wine which was meant to go with it. After 50 minutes we still hadn’t had the 2nd course although again had been served the wine 20 minutes earlier.
We complained but no explanation until we said we were leaving. They persuaded us to stay and things went well for the next 2 courses.
Then back to square 1. Wine but no main course until we chased them and complained again. They did twice refill our wines due to the delays but I actually didn’t want to keep drinking so much. I just wanted my food with the wines it was supposed to go with and not to have to wait 20/30 minutes for each course!
And then to cap it all, when I asked to see the manager, he/she couldn’t be bothered to come out!!
I have never encountered such appalling service and the food was nothing special in my view either.

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteManager, Manager at Haute Cabriere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hello Karen

We are sorry you feel that way. Our tasting menu takes about 3 hours, perhaps that was not communicated to you, we will look at better communicating that. There were 3 other tables also doing the menu and they did not seem to have any issues with the timeframe. Your final course was served at 9:10pm

When plates come back empty and there is nothing is communicated regarding a dish being not correct or to a diner’s taste, there is not much we can do. We will bring the wine service to the attention of our staff, as yes, the idea is that you have wine and food together.

The manager did speak to you and deal with you, but you seemed to not be happy with her solutions, and would not accept her answer of no, to your request for a discount. After this you walked out, without paying anything.

The Haute Cabrière Restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

This was our first tasting of the day - and the weather was amazing. This meant that sitting outside 'drinking' in the view (sorry about that) was nearly as much a pleasure as the wine tasting itself.
The tasting itself is inside a large cellar-style room. Cozy and intriguing. The wine was very good. Thoroughly recommend a visit.

Thank DiverHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteManager, Manager at Haute Cabriere, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear DiverHP

Good to hear that you enjoyed the time spent at Haute Cabriere.
Please visit us again when you are in the area.

Regards
Haute Cabriere Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Stunning views over Franshoek. We visited in the middle of December 2017, in 36 degree celcius heat. Luvuyo treated us to a chilled Brut on arrival, and then a boozy bubbly afternoon under the sun. Great stop. Its a box to tick on a wine route holiday!

Thank Arlen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteManager, Manager at Haute Cabriere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Arien

Good to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Please visit us again when in Franschhoek.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haute Cabriere also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Simondium, Franschhoek
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Wemmershoek, Franschhoek
 

Been to Haute Cabriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing