We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mrsdenisegriffin

Mont Rochelle

Review of Mont Rochelle
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jun 2024
The level of service and standard of accomodation was excellent. Everyone was professional and friendly nothing was too much trouble. They wanted us to have the best experience - I have never experienced service this good before - special mention to Sarah.
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 290
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 296
  • eDreams
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 521
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 521
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 6 335
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 335
  • Hotels.com
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 711
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 711
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 900
R 4 733
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 733
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 246
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
Free parking
Pool
R 8 799
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 799
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 269
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 537
  • Protea Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    R 2 865
  • Hotels.com
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (1 178)
Filter reviews
1 178 results
Traveller rating
947
153
44
26
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
947
153
44
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country kitchen richard branson wine tasting merlot room our honeymoon cap classique welcome drink stunning views complimentary mini bar complimentary shuttle main restaurant stunning hotel cape town spa treatments shuttle service nothing is too much trouble franschhoek valley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1 178 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2024

From the initial welcome, complimentary wine tasting, the food and the vista from every angle was just perfect.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GazzaBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2024 via mobile

A lovely retreat for wine connoisseurs and anyone that appreciates good food, nature and relaxation.

The hotel is beautiful with a boutique feeling. It is on stunning manicured grounds and the rooms are large, quiet with stunning views over the vineyard and hills.

Special mention to the staff who is so welcoming and friendly and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible, such as lighting up the fireplace in the lounge where we enjoyed a lovely glass of wine!

We were so in love with the Cabernet Sauvignon we ordered a bulk of it as soon as we came back to London. Great memories.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AntoineM-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2024

We spent a lovely weekend at Mont Rochelle. The staff were excellent. I was however disappointed with the food quality at Miko restaurant. Our Cap Classique rooms air conditioner was not working. The host advised us that the pool was heated which was not true.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anitaparbhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2024

Dear anitaparbhoo,


I was delighted to read here that you enjoyed your weekend at Mont Rochelle and were impressed by our wonderful staff. We always strive to offer the most welcoming and outstanding service to our guests.



I was sorry learn that you were disappointed in the cuisine at MIKO, however, as our chefs pride themselves on creating South African dishes using locally sourced, fresh and seasonal produce. As we are now also in touch directly, I do hope to be able to discuss this in a little more detail with you, so that I might share your feedback with our chefs.

Regarding your comment about the air conditioning in your Cap Classique room, our team has investigated, and the system is fully operational, however, I’d be most grateful to gain further insight into your experience. To address your comment around your suite’s private plunge pool, these pools are indeed heated, although this is to a slightly lower temperature than the main swimming pool, and average at 24 degrees Celsius.

I look forward to hearing from you and very much hope to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle on another occasion soon.


Best regards,

Elizma Stone

General Manager Mont Rochelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2024

We had the most lovely couple of days here at the end of your trip to South Africa, we certainly ended on a high. The accommodation is beautiful, the staff are incredibly friendly and could not be more helpful. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZosAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2024

Dear ZosAustin,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to spend the end of your trip to South Africa with us at Mont Rochelle – and I’m thrilled to hear that it ended on a high note.

I’m delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the team will be so happy to hear your kind words.

I hope to welcome back again someday. Please do come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Elizma Stone
General Manager
elizma.stone@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2024

It’s impossible to describe how fab our stay was, it was simply perfect.

Beautifully appointed rooms, free and well stocked mini bar, views to die for, amazing breakfasts, tennis, croquet and staff who can not do enough for you

If you get the chance to stay here grab it with both hands

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 571duncand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2024

Dear 571duncand,

Thank you for this wonderful review – it’s heartwarming to hear that it could not have been more perfect. It sounds like you really made the most of your stay too, enjoying our lovely rooms, the stunning views over the Winelands and our delicious breakfasts.

I'm especially pleased to hear that our team made your stay memorable with their attentive service. They work exceptionally hard and are a huge part of what makes Mont Rochelle so special.

Thank you for choosing to spend your family holiday with us and I hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable and unforgettable stay.

Kind regards,
Elizma Stone
General Manager
elizma.stone@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews