We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ThatsMySunbed
UK

The best hotel in Franschoek

Review of Mont Rochelle
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2024
Stayed here 21-24 Feb. An amazing experience from the very start, and even though we had arrived very early (by necessity) we were treated as very special guests and served drinks while we waited. Mont Rochelle has a beautiful location and superb views across the valley. The staff are all very helpful and friendly - a big thak you to Siwe, Charles, Sia and Tyron in particular, but to all the staff who made our visit so memorable. The food was excellent and we were never disappointed in the meals or the wine list. Fantastic, well done!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear ThatsMySunbed,

Thank you for your amazing review and I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m especially pleased to hear that you felt like very special guests and that our team – including Siwe, Charles, Sia, and Tyron - made your visit memorable. We are lucky to have them with us.

Your kind words are greatly appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back for another stay soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 1 850
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 766
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 781
  • Priceline
    R 1 850
1.4 km from Mont Rochelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 756
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 817
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 694
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 804
1.5 km from Mont Rochelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 4 650
R 2 846
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 642
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 650
  • Priceline
    R 2 846
1.7 km from Mont Rochelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 6 204
R 4 657
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 584
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 574
2.1 km from Mont Rochelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 3 018
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 2 461
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 202
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 096
1.9 km from Mont Rochelle
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 6 257
R 5 844
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 257
  • Priceline
    R 6 152
  • Lol.travel
2.5 km from Mont Rochelle
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 2 508
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 503
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 508
  • Priceline
    R 2 507
17.0 km from Mont Rochelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 9 698
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 785
  • Vio.com
    R 8 308
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 783
1.6 km from Mont Rochelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Protea Hotels
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    R 2 533
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 529
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 533
1.5 km from Mont Rochelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (1 170)
Filter reviews
1 170 results
Traveller rating
940
152
44
26
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
940
152
44
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country kitchen richard branson wine tasting merlot room our honeymoon cap classique welcome drink stunning views complimentary mini bar complimentary shuttle main restaurant stunning hotel cape town spa treatments shuttle service nothing is too much trouble franschhoek valley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1 170 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2024

We stayed at the Mont Rochelle during our recent visit to South Africa. The 5 stars that I have been able to give are not enough and if I had my way it would be 10 stars.

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The entire staff are so friendly, helpful, and professional. Nobody was without a smile, and nothing was too much trouble. A group of people who enjoyed and were proud of their jobs. Through conversations with many of them we found out that this is because of their employer, Richard Branson, who owns the hotel and vineyard. He treats his employees with respect and compassion and when you do that you have happy employees.

The grounds are beautiful and the views from every area of the hotel are spectacular, overlooking the valley of Franschhoek. We were in the smaller Shiraz room, but still big enough for our 3 night stay and was equipped with all that you would expect from a 5-star hotel, including complimentary bottles of wine and a stocked mini bar for your enjoyment. It was probably wasted on us as we are not big drinkers, but it was still appreciated.

The food was lovely with lots of choice at breakfast – whether you are a hearty or lighter eater. We had dinner in Miko (the main restaurant) on our second night which was excellent – much better than an overpriced competitor’s hotel where we dined at on our 3rd night.

You are offered a free wine tasting at the Mont Rochelle’s vineyard. Do not pass on this opportunity as it was a lovely tasting – with samples of the vineyard’s superior wines and nibbles given to hotel guests. We had been on the wine train the day before, but this was by far the best tasting of our stay in Franschhoek.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough – it is simply Superb!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luv2travel50London
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear luv2travel50London,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. I’m thrilled to have exceeded your expectations and made your stay at Mont Rochelle truly special. It's heartwarming to me to hear that from the moment you arrived, you felt like royalty and that our team made every effort to ensure your comfort and enjoyment – that is how we hope to make all of our guests feel.

It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of our grounds and the spectacular views overlooking the Franschhoek valley, that your accommodation in the Shiraz room met your expectations and that you appreciated the thoughtful amenities provided.
I deeply appreciate your positive comments about our restaurant Miko and I’m so delighted that you took advantage of the complimentary wine tasting experience.

Your recommendation means a great deal to us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024

A luxury hotel, well maintained with top amenities. Beautiful views everywhere with available shuttle service to the town. We had a wonderful stay thanks to Anette for looking after us. Will definitely come back

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Moussakz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Moussakz17,

I’m delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay at Mont Rochelle! I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to Anette for taking such great care of you.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another wonderful stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024 via mobile

Where to begin with this hotel… the service you get from the moment you arrive until you are in the taxi leaving is unmatched. Warm friendly greetings from Peter who throughout our stay did everything in his power to make us feel at ease. Thank you Peter! Lovely bubbles upon arrival with a view of the hotel grounds which are truly breathtaking.

Rooms were very clean and modern with all the amenities (including free wine, sweets/biscuits, suncream) you could need. We were in the main house and again had stunning views over the grounds which are immaculately kept.

Also a special thank you to Candice at reception who planned a lot of our vineyard tasting for us and arranged for us to have late check without us even asking.

Another great touch that this hotel has is the free transfers (luxuary vehicles) that drop you and pick you up from any local vineyards/town free of charge.

We did 4 wine tastings over the course of our 2 day stay which did include the wine tram on the second day which is well worth doing if you are in franschhoek. We particularly liked the mont Rochelle wine tasting which was free of charge for guests but also would highly recommend doing a picnic lunch at boschendal as they had a lovely little live band playing and the food was amazing.

Much to our surprise guests get automatic dinner reservations at either of the 2 restaurants at the hotel. We went to Miko and had a superb steak dinner. Again service was faultless. Breakfast everyday at Miko too was also fantastic with a lot of options both buffet and a la carte.

Only downside was that we wished we had longer here! 2 nights was not enough and we will definitely be returning next year. Thank you again to all the staff at Mont Rochelle, you made our experience truly incredible.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank catriona_maclean100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear catriona_maclean100,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, and for sharing your magical experience at Mont Rochelle. I’m thrilled that from the moment you arrived until the end of your stay, our team provided unmatched service, ensuring you felt welcomed and relaxed. Our team work so hard, and they love hearing this feedback which I will pass on. I’m glad you enjoyed everything from the wine tastings and picnic lunch to dinner at Miko – these are special highlights of any stay.

We would love to welcome you back next year for a longer stay and another unforgettable experience. Thank you again for choosing Mont Rochelle and we look forward to creating more magical memories with you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2024

Mont Rochelle is a stunning property set in beautiful grounds. The hotel is a short distance from the centre of Franschhoek and a complimentary shuttle service is provided upon request.We were delighted with our room which was well equipped and spotlessly clean.The private terrace afforded breathtaking views of the valley and mountains beyond. The breakfast and evening meals at the Miko restaurant were first class. Apart from its wonderful location and facilities, we cannot praise the staff highly enough. Every individual with whom we came into contact was pleasant , courteous and eager to please and ensured that our time at Mont Rochelle was memorable for all the right reasons. Thanks to all for a truly wonderful stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 206BobR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 206BobR,

Thank you for your review. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed our stunning property, well-equipped accommodation, and breathtaking views. It's wonderful to hear that you found our breakfast and evening meals at Miko to be first class.
I’m also delighted to hear your feedback about our wonderful team and their commitment to ensuring your stay was memorable – they are an exceptional team and work so hard behind the scenes.

We hope to welcome you back for another truly wonderful stay with us sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Just to follow up my review yesterday about this venue. We had a BBQ at home for 25 people today with fillet steaks bought from the local supermarket and they were fantastic; how a supposed top end restaurant like Mont Rochelle can make such a mess of just cooking simple steaks is beyond belief.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Happychappy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Happychappy2002,

I was glad to read that you enjoyed a successful home BBQ, but of course was sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations during your visit to MIKO. We always strive to deliver exceptional culinary experiences, and I’m sorry that you felt that we fell short on this occasion. I have shared your comments with our culinary team for further review and improvement. We would of course love the opportunity to see you again and provide you with the outstanding dining experience that we're renowned for.

Best regards,
Elizma Stone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews