We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$324
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ivy Apartments(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$190
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$527
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
489
111
34
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
111
34
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry kitchenmerlot roomrichard bransonwine tastingour honeymooncap classiquewelcome drinkcomplimentary mini barhotel restaurantmain restaurantstunning hotelstunning viewshotel guestscape townoverlooking the valleycomplimentary shuttlecellar tour
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Simply Wow!!! This hotel is probably the best place we’ve ever stayed. We decided to book this as part of our honeymoon. Best decision EVER- wish we had of stayed longer. The service was brilliant, all staff were very friendly and attentive. Peter - who greeted us when we first arrived was ‘awesome’, don’t think I’ve ever met an employee who was so passionate and enthusiastic about his job. He wants everyone to have a fabulous time. Would recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Rachel b,

It was a privilege to help you celebrate the first few weeks of married life, thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us at Mont Rochelle. We really enjoyed reading your perfect review, and to hear that you thought we were the ‘best place you’ve ever stayed’ truly means so much! Peter in particular wanted to say a big thank you for your awesome feedback, he loved meeting you both. Your kind recommendation has made our day, thank you so much and we just hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Just finished a four night stay at Mont Rochelle.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Peter who was the most welcoming and energetic host! He made us feel extremely welcome and immediate settled.

We stayed in a Cap Classique suite which was spacious and tastefully decorated.

Everybody at the property is very welcoming and friendly and nothing seems like too much trouble.

We loved it that much we are looking to return for longer next year.

A big thanks you to all the team at Mont Rochelle.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Rebecca H,

A ‘home from home’ is exactly what we aim for here at Mont Rochelle so it was such a treat to read your lovely review. We really enjoyed hearing your first-class feedback, particularly Peter who was grinning from ear to ear when he heard that you felt immediately settled when you arrived. We couldn’t be more pleased to hear that you are planning to come back and stay for a little longer next time, we are already looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Am a big fan of Virgin Ltd Edition properties and was well looked after in Ulusaba near Kruger a week or so ago.

As a result, we decided to arrange to visit Mont Rochelle when visiting Cape Town so arranged a whole day around having lunch there.

Arrived and the place was empty with no atmosphere and poor service. After a while staff apologised staying that the “shift” was handing over. Not something either interesting or important to a paying guest.

After being ignored by several staff we left - something I have only done 3 or 4 times over the last 30 years.

A real disappointment after visiting several other vineyards who treated us well and we only popped in for wine tasting, not lunch.

It doesn’t take much to spoil a lovely day but Virgin managed. James, the manger, called later to apologise and also organised a bottle of bubbly. But that was too late -they missed their moment and spoiled an otherwise terrific day.

If I were you I would go to a proper vineyard’s restaurant like Graff (and many others) and avoid this place.

I am really sad to write this review as Virgin Ltd Edition normally do so well.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Andrew W,

Following our chat yesterday, I wanted to once again say how sorry we were to hear that you left Miko feeling disappointed, particularly when you had been looking forward to visiting us. This certainly isn’t the level of service that we usually pride ourselves on and I wanted to take this opportunity to reassure you that I have personally been speaking with the team about your feedback so that we can improve in the future. While we have sadly noted that you felt like we missed the moment, we really hope that we were able to go some way towards making amends for the disappointment you felt and if you would like to speak further then please do not hesitate to get back in touch with me.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Branson knows how to pamper you when he wants. And in this case, he does. It’s about a magnificent estate lost in the wine area, where the staff is hand-picked and trained to be there but not to overwhelm you. There are scores of magnificent spots on the property to sip your tea or enjoy a glass of great wine. The pool is small but taken care. The rooms are fantastic, with great views and privacy. Last but not least, the restaurant lives up to the dining expectations of the place. No surprise that it is frequented by lots of non-residents as well. Expensive but reasonably priced for what it offers, its a definite stop if you tour South Africa.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kYazitzoglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear kYazitzoglou,

There is nothing we love more than treating our guests to some pamper time, so it was a true pleasure to read your magnificent review! Thank you for sharing your kind words on the service, accommodation and food during your recent stay with us. The whole team were delighted to hear that you felt well looked after and that you think of us as a ‘definite stop’ in South Africa. We just hope that this means that you might come back and visit us again one day, because we miss you already!

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Beautifully located in the middle of the winefields, just outside the center of Franschhoek. From the garden and terraces great views of Franschhoek and surroundings. A truly 5* luxury hotel, very tastfully decorated, and well equipped. The rooms are spacious, and have everything you need. Nice swimming pool and two fine restaurants. Friendly and helpfull staff.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Peter Jan R,

I don’t think we could ask for a more beautiful review so thank you for taking the time to share it with us. It really means so much to hear how much you enjoyed the setting, accommodation and service and we really enjoyed welcoming for your adventure in the winelands. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle one day in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews