We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surrounding ”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Richard Branson owns this vineyard,it's really lovely setting as you expect,it was the country kitchen we visited up on a hill very pleasant wine tasting experience,we went by tuk tuk which was great fun especially going down the hill

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sandie M,

We really enjoyed welcoming you for a wine tasting in Country Kitchen and wanted to say a big thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It was such fun to hear that you arrived in style in a tuk tuk, we have to agree that going downhill is the best bit! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle one day soon and will be sure to have the wine chilled and waiting for you.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 5 nights at this gorgeous hotel while visiting the Winelands. From the point of arrival the serve from the staff was first class, nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel so welcome and referred to at time as their family which was most endearing. We were meet by Annette who kindly asked us our plans over the duration of stay. We explained all the things we wanted to do during our visit and she went away to return with a full itinerary for us which included a private wine tasting tour, golf, bike hire and reservation each evening in different restaurants in the town we were delighted! Mont Rochelle also provide transportation into town and collection so all can enjoy the evening without the worry of a designated driver. We did opt for the room with its own private plunge pool which totally meet our expectations with plenty of space. Our only concern was the carpet which sadly was badly stained especially in the bedroom area although I was informed this was due to be replaced. The public areas of the hotel are beautiful and the views are breathtaking. A special thank you to the guest service manager 'Peter' who put a smile on our faces everyday.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Christina G,

What a beautiful review, thank you for taking the time to share it with us! It was a true pleasure to welcome you into the Mont Rochelle family for a few days and we couldn’t have been happier to hear your kind comments about your experience. Annette and Peter wanted to say a big thank you for their personal mentions, Peter really enjoyed putting a smile on your face every day and Annette was delighted to help you make the most of your time exploring the area. We would the love the opportunity to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle and do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Upon arrival we were greeted with such enthusiasm that we truly felt like this was home! The rooms are spacious and very well appointed, a true pleasure to be able to retreat to after a busy day of wine tasting or shopping. The shuttle service to and from Franschhoek is a nice touch even though the distance is walkable. The gardens are beautiful and the pool very welcoming. This is our first visit to the area and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pindari62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Pindari62,

It was a true pleasure to read your fabulous review so we wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing it with us. Our favourite part was hearing that you felt right at home as soon as you arrived, that’s exactly what we aim for! We were delighted to hear that you are planning to return to Franschhoek again, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle and just hope we won’t have to wait too long.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

We did a recce to. Mont Rochelle a month back to include in planning a trip next year in April
We were do impressed we decided to book April and the 6th to 8th Dec this year as part of recuperation from an operation in Durbanville
Booking exactly what we wanted for both visits was a mission ! The office in Jhb was very unprofessional
( all you have to do visit all the emails we had to send in an attempt to get our bookings right ) also there was no sense of urgency whatsoever.
Any way we got here on the 6th and Mont Rochelle exceeded our expectations in all departments
We look forward to our visi with overseas guests next year

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Graham E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback, it was a pleasure to welcome you to Mont Rochelle and we couldn’t have been happier to hear that we exceeded your expectations in every department! Following our previous conversation, I wanted to take this opportunity to reassure you that I have raised your concerns on the booking process with our reservations team, who will certainly be taking your feedback on board for the future. Once again, thank you for sharing such lovely compliments with us and we are really looking forward to welcoming you and your guests in April.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Had a great time at the Country Kitchen at Mont Rochelle Hotel. The server was knowledgable about each wine. Choices from 3 choices to 5 choices and to the premium choices. Cannot believe how cheap it was. R950 for the premium selection which is £4.50 !!! We paid £10.00 earlier in the year in California. Anyway please go and sample there super wine choices. Ours was the Chardonnay!! A bottle was £5.00 a bottle. We stayed at the Mont Rochelle Hotel in the grounds which was also the best service.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank betsy065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear betsy065,

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing such a great review. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed wine tasting with us as we loved having you! The team were thrilled to receive such high praise, so thank you for making their day. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day, and maybe next time we can tempt you to stay a little longer.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1,3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
1,9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
2,1 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,5 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1,2 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
1,3 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: R4 632 - R16 510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 26-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 26 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing