We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
498
112
34
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
112
34
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry kitchenmerlot roomrichard bransonwine tastingour honeymooncap classiquestunning hotelcomplimentary mini barhotel restauranthotel guestsstunning viewswelcome drinkcape townmain restaurantcellar touroverlooking the valleycomplimentary shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at this gorgeous hotel while visiting the Winelands. From the point of arrival the serve from the staff was first class, nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel so welcome and referred to at time as their family which was most endearing. We were meet by Annette who kindly asked us our plans over the duration of stay. We explained all the things we wanted to do during our visit and she went away to return with a full itinerary for us which included a private wine tasting tour, golf, bike hire and reservation each evening in different restaurants in the town we were delighted! Mont Rochelle also provide transportation into town and collection so all can enjoy the evening without the worry of a designated driver. We did opt for the room with its own private plunge pool which totally meet our expectations with plenty of space. Our only concern was the carpet which sadly was badly stained especially in the bedroom area although I was informed this was due to be replaced. The public areas of the hotel are beautiful and the views are breathtaking. A special thank you to the guest service manager 'Peter' who put a smile on our faces everyday.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Christina G,

What a beautiful review, thank you for taking the time to share it with us! It was a true pleasure to welcome you into the Mont Rochelle family for a few days and we couldn’t have been happier to hear your kind comments about your experience. Annette and Peter wanted to say a big thank you for their personal mentions, Peter really enjoyed putting a smile on your face every day and Annette was delighted to help you make the most of your time exploring the area. We would the love the opportunity to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle and do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Upon arrival we were greeted with such enthusiasm that we truly felt like this was home! The rooms are spacious and very well appointed, a true pleasure to be able to retreat to after a busy day of wine tasting or shopping. The shuttle service to and from Franschhoek is a nice touch even though the distance is walkable. The gardens are beautiful and the pool very welcoming. This is our first visit to the area and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Pindari62,

It was a true pleasure to read your fabulous review so we wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing it with us. Our favourite part was hearing that you felt right at home as soon as you arrived, that’s exactly what we aim for! We were delighted to hear that you are planning to return to Franschhoek again, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle and just hope we won’t have to wait too long.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

We did a recce to. Mont Rochelle a month back to include in planning a trip next year in April
We were do impressed we decided to book April and the 6th to 8th Dec this year as part of recuperation from an operation in Durbanville
Booking exactly what we wanted for both visits was a mission ! The office in Jhb was very unprofessional
( all you have to do visit all the emails we had to send in an attempt to get our bookings right ) also there was no sense of urgency whatsoever.
Any way we got here on the 6th and Mont Rochelle exceeded our expectations in all departments
We look forward to our visi with overseas guests next year

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Graham E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback, it was a pleasure to welcome you to Mont Rochelle and we couldn’t have been happier to hear that we exceeded your expectations in every department! Following our previous conversation, I wanted to take this opportunity to reassure you that I have raised your concerns on the booking process with our reservations team, who will certainly be taking your feedback on board for the future. Once again, thank you for sharing such lovely compliments with us and we are really looking forward to welcoming you and your guests in April.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Had a great time at the Country Kitchen at Mont Rochelle Hotel. The server was knowledgable about each wine. Choices from 3 choices to 5 choices and to the premium choices. Cannot believe how cheap it was. R950 for the premium selection which is £4.50 !!! We paid £10.00 earlier in the year in California. Anyway please go and sample there super wine choices. Ours was the Chardonnay!! A bottle was £5.00 a bottle. We stayed at the Mont Rochelle Hotel in the grounds which was also the best service.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank betsy065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear betsy065,

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing such a great review. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed wine tasting with us as we loved having you! The team were thrilled to receive such high praise, so thank you for making their day. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day, and maybe next time we can tempt you to stay a little longer.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Mont Rochelle for 3 nights on our honeymoon and were blown away with the hospitality of all the staff. They wouldn't let us lift a finger which we certainly aren't used to. The hotel has such amazing scenery and everything in the decor of the hotel and grounds has been well considered and is well maintained. Franschhoek itself is a lovely town with nice shops, restaurants and art galleries.

The restaurant at Mont Rochelle was truly fine dining and had a menu rivalling any top restaurant.

It is certainly an amazing place to visit especially for a special holiday like ours was. The wine is also fab and we were given a free wine tasting at Mont Rochelle as guests.

We would definitely recommend this to others and would love to return...perhaps for our anniversary?!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Emily T,

It was such a privilege welcoming you to Mont Rochelle as part of your honeymoon and so we were really touched to receive your fabulous review. On behalf of the team we wanted to once again extend our heartfelt congratulations! We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed exploring our little corner of the world and our head chef was positively beaming to hear that you felt we have a menu to rival any top restaurant. We really can’t thank you enough for recommending us and would love nothing more than to help you celebrate your first anniversary! Until next time…

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews