We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mont Rochelle
Nearby Hotels
Holden Manz Country House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

21 Roux Street(Franschhoek)
US$182
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$256
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ivy Apartments(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$327
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
487
111
34
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
111
34
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry kitchenmerlot roomrichard bransonwine tastingour honeymooncap classiquewelcome drinkcomplimentary mini barhotel restaurantmain restaurantstunning hotelstunning viewshotel guestscape townoverlooking the valleycomplimentary shuttlebreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 658 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

The whole experience from the moment we arrived until the moment we left was 5*. The staff are incredibly engaged and could not do enough for us. The suite was one of the best I have ever stayed in. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank capetownfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear wiganlatics,

Thank you for sharing your amazing five star review! We were all so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Mont Rochelle and that you thought your suite was one of the best you have ever stayed in, what an accolade! The team wanted to say a big thank you for your lovely words about the service, it is easy to engage with guests as lovely as you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had an excellent room with a great bathroom and lovely terrace overlooking fantastic scenery. Dinner was good although the choices were limited and the wine quite expensive, given this is a vineyard. A free minibar was a nice extra. It is within easy walking distance of the wine tram which is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _judy15t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear _judy15t,

Thank you for sharing your stunning review with us, we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your room during your recent stay with us! Maybe we are biased but we think a morning coffee on the terrace is the perfect way to take in the views across the valley, so were so pleased to hear you agree. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a peaceful escape one day in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

From start to finish the service, quality of food and accommodation was outstanding. All the staff were open and friendly.

And what a location.

The room just lovely and the food outstanding. One of the highlights of our South Africa leg of our world tour.

Set such a high bar other places we stayed were good but this was great.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Starbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Starbarr,

Wow, where to start with this stunning review! We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and it meant so much to hear that we were one of the highlights of your South Africa tour, I don’t think we could ask for a bigger compliment. The whole team were smiling from ear to ear when they heard that you think they are open and friendly, thank you. We really hope that it won’t be too long before your next grand tour as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

It was dark and rainy night. Then we got the warmest welcome from Peter. A glass of fizz for Abigail and one of their own Sauvignon Blanc for me. Our room was wonderful with great views. The staff were all exceptional one downside, the weather. But on our last day the sun shone and we could truly enjoy this amazing place.

This is the best hotel I have stayed in 30 years of travelling.i can,t wait to return

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SaneTubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear SaneTubbo,

We think there’s only one way to combat dark and rainy weather, and that’s with a warm Mont Rochelle welcome! It was a pleasure to help you and Abigail get cosy, and we wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you for sharing such a fabulous review. I don’t think we could ask for a bigger compliment than being the ‘best hotel you have ever stayed in’! We can’t wait to welcome you back again one day and will be sure to put in a good word with the weatherman next time.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Wonderful place to stay. Very tranquil. Courtesy bus to and from town. Friendly staff. Attention to the smallest detail was exceptional. Would highly recommend. Also enjoyed the wine tasting. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julescardiff2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear julescardiff2015,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Mont Rochelle and we wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to share your beautiful review with us. We all really enjoyed hearing that you found some tranquillity here in the Western Cape. Maybe we are biased but we think there is no better way to get a taste for the region than with a glass in hand! Thank you for the recommendation, it truly means a lot and we just hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews