We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The whole experience from the moment we arrived until the moment we left was 5*. The staff are incredibly engaged and could not do enough for us. The suite was one of the best I have ever stayed in. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank capetownfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear wiganlatics,

Thank you for sharing your amazing five star review! We were all so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Mont Rochelle and that you thought your suite was one of the best you have ever stayed in, what an accolade! The team wanted to say a big thank you for your lovely words about the service, it is easy to engage with guests as lovely as you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an excellent room with a great bathroom and lovely terrace overlooking fantastic scenery. Dinner was good although the choices were limited and the wine quite expensive, given this is a vineyard. A free minibar was a nice extra. It is within easy walking distance of the wine tram which is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _judy15t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear _judy15t,

Thank you for sharing your stunning review with us, we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your room during your recent stay with us! Maybe we are biased but we think a morning coffee on the terrace is the perfect way to take in the views across the valley, so were so pleased to hear you agree. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a peaceful escape one day in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From start to finish the service, quality of food and accommodation was outstanding. All the staff were open and friendly.

And what a location.

The room just lovely and the food outstanding. One of the highlights of our South Africa leg of our world tour.

Set such a high bar other places we stayed were good but this was great.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Starbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Starbarr,

Wow, where to start with this stunning review! We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and it meant so much to hear that we were one of the highlights of your South Africa tour, I don’t think we could ask for a bigger compliment. The whole team were smiling from ear to ear when they heard that you think they are open and friendly, thank you. We really hope that it won’t be too long before your next grand tour as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

It was dark and rainy night. Then we got the warmest welcome from Peter. A glass of fizz for Abigail and one of their own Sauvignon Blanc for me. Our room was wonderful with great views. The staff were all exceptional one downside, the weather. But on our last day the sun shone and we could truly enjoy this amazing place.

This is the best hotel I have stayed in 30 years of travelling.i can,t wait to return

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SaneTubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear SaneTubbo,

We think there’s only one way to combat dark and rainy weather, and that’s with a warm Mont Rochelle welcome! It was a pleasure to help you and Abigail get cosy, and we wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you for sharing such a fabulous review. I don’t think we could ask for a bigger compliment than being the ‘best hotel you have ever stayed in’! We can’t wait to welcome you back again one day and will be sure to put in a good word with the weatherman next time.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Wonderful place to stay. Very tranquil. Courtesy bus to and from town. Friendly staff. Attention to the smallest detail was exceptional. Would highly recommend. Also enjoyed the wine tasting. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julescardiff2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear julescardiff2015,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Mont Rochelle and we wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to share your beautiful review with us. We all really enjoyed hearing that you found some tranquillity here in the Western Cape. Maybe we are biased but we think there is no better way to get a taste for the region than with a glass in hand! Thank you for the recommendation, it truly means a lot and we just hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1,3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
2,1 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1,9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,2 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
1,3 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
1,5 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: R5 245 - R12 282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 26-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 26 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing