We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
503
114
35
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
114
35
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country kitchen merlot room richard branson wine tasting our honeymoon cap classique stunning hotel hotel restaurant complimentary mini bar hotel guests stunning views welcome drink cape town main restaurant overlooking the valley cellar tour complimentary shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had an excellent room with a great bathroom and lovely terrace overlooking fantastic scenery. Dinner was good although the choices were limited and the wine quite expensive, given this is a vineyard. A free minibar was a nice extra. It is within easy walking distance of the wine tram which is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _judy15t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear _judy15t,

Thank you for sharing your stunning review with us, we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your room during your recent stay with us! Maybe we are biased but we think a morning coffee on the terrace is the perfect way to take in the views across the valley, so were so pleased to hear you agree. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a peaceful escape one day in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

From start to finish the service, quality of food and accommodation was outstanding. All the staff were open and friendly.

And what a location.

The room just lovely and the food outstanding. One of the highlights of our South Africa leg of our world tour.

Set such a high bar other places we stayed were good but this was great.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Starbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Starbarr,

Wow, where to start with this stunning review! We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and it meant so much to hear that we were one of the highlights of your South Africa tour, I don’t think we could ask for a bigger compliment. The whole team were smiling from ear to ear when they heard that you think they are open and friendly, thank you. We really hope that it won’t be too long before your next grand tour as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

It was dark and rainy night. Then we got the warmest welcome from Peter. A glass of fizz for Abigail and one of their own Sauvignon Blanc for me. Our room was wonderful with great views. The staff were all exceptional one downside, the weather. But on our last day the sun shone and we could truly enjoy this amazing place.

This is the best hotel I have stayed in 30 years of travelling.i can,t wait to return

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SaneTubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear SaneTubbo,

We think there’s only one way to combat dark and rainy weather, and that’s with a warm Mont Rochelle welcome! It was a pleasure to help you and Abigail get cosy, and we wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you for sharing such a fabulous review. I don’t think we could ask for a bigger compliment than being the ‘best hotel you have ever stayed in’! We can’t wait to welcome you back again one day and will be sure to put in a good word with the weatherman next time.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Wonderful place to stay. Very tranquil. Courtesy bus to and from town. Friendly staff. Attention to the smallest detail was exceptional. Would highly recommend. Also enjoyed the wine tasting. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julescardiff2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear julescardiff2015,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Mont Rochelle and we wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to share your beautiful review with us. We all really enjoyed hearing that you found some tranquillity here in the Western Cape. Maybe we are biased but we think there is no better way to get a taste for the region than with a glass in hand! Thank you for the recommendation, it truly means a lot and we just hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Warm and personal welcome on arrival at this very special place.
The setting and ambience made for a wonderful experience and a memorable birthday.
Thankyou to all the staff team for their extra attention to detail.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Indochinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Indochinegirl,

Let us start by once again wishing you a very happy birthday, we couldn’t have been more pleased to play a part in the celebrations and to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at Mont Rochelle. We hope that the little touches make a big difference and were all so happy to hear that you agree. The pleasure was truly ours, thank you for sharing your stunning review and we really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews