We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Lust Bistro & Bakery
Ranked #8 of 100 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: There is nothing like a familiar welcome to create an atmosphere of warmth, a sense of coming home and of good things prepared with love. The Lust Bistro & Bakery enfolds you with that feeling of belonging that fills up your senses with satisfaction. Cradled in the folds of the peaceful Vrede en Lust wine estate in Franschhoek, the Lust Bistro & Bakery entices one's surroundings with the tantalising aromas of freshly baked artisan bread - imaginative creations of Jean Pierre Smith, patron chef and baker extraordinaire whose lunchtime chalkboard presents a constantly intriguing invitation of discovery. From breakfast to late lunch, there is something for everyone: salads crisp with dew-fresh seasonal garden produce, cakes just out the oven, cheese and charcuterie platters boasting South African specialities, mouthwatering chicken and beef dishes all exquisitely presented. The Lust Bistro & Bakery is definitely an experience you do not want to miss.
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Good food
****
Good drinks
****
Good location
****
Excellent service!
*****

Alrich and Justine were great very attentive, conversational, friendly and keen, quite enthusiastic to go above and beyond the call of duty.

Thank RyanP3758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan F, Digital Marketer at Lust Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ryan

Thank you for taking time to write this great review!
Thank you for mentioning the excellent service received during your visit to our restaurant!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards
The LUST Bistro & Bakery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

This a must when you are in the area.
Thirsty the waiter was supper friendly and you can see that see enjoyed her job.
I like to look at other guests when they receive the meal, every time they had one massive smile on their face. I had The butternut and Gorgonzola salad with extra biltong. Everything so fresh. The cheese whas deepfriend in crumbs. They grow there own micro herbs for the salads.
Pleas make sure you go to the shop where you can buy freshly baked bread and French baguette and the best bacon jam ever.
The views are spectacular and the wine is some of the best in the world.
Top-notch

1  Thank Hencko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan F, Digital Marketer at Lust Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi Henco

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review and for mentioning the observation made on other satisfied guests and the freshly baked French baguettes!
The team at LUST Bistro & Bakery is thrilled to hear such good feedback!

We hope to see you again soon, and bring a friend!

Regards
The LUST Bistro & Bakery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Great service and amazing food. Jean Pierre Smith can surely be rated as one of our country’s best chefs. Pork belly out of this world. A sweet platter you will love A visit to this restaurant is a must.

Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan F, Digital Marketer at Lust Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi Johan

Thank you for writing a review and for mentioning our mouth-watering pork belly!
Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards
The LUST Bistro & Bakery Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I was highly disappointed with our experience at Lust Bakery & Bistro. From the start the service was terrible. There were hardly anyone there, but we had to call a waitress over to take our drinks order. I ordered the pork wrap, which was nice, but my mom had the lamb curry (which was on the specials board!!), but it came with none of the sides which is stated on the board, and was full of whole pieces of fat. She was very disappointed. But worst of all was the state of the bathroom!! I could luckily find ONE clean-ish toilet, but still with pieces of toilet paper all over the place etc. I could really not believe this in an upper-class restaurant! The setting is absolutely beautiful, but that is more or less all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marelievs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP_LustBistro, Owner at Lust Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Marelie,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review here. I apologise for the less than stellar performance of the staff and facilities. This is not what we strive for and I will look into it as a matter of urgency. We hope that you will consider coming to visit us again in the near future so that we have the opportunity to leave you with a much different impression.
Warmest regards
JeanPierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

This place is part of the Vrede En Lust vineyard and is a great place to have breakfast before you start a hard day of wine tasting. Recommend you try the eggs benedict or one of the omelettes which are both excellent. Added bonus is that they come with a side order of toast from bread that is made in the onsite bakery. Good tea and coffee too. Well worth a visit.

Thank leslie1667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan F, Digital Marketer at Lust Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi Leslie1667

Happy to hear that you had a great breakfast experience at our Bistro!
Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards
The LUST Bistro & Bakery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lust Bistro & Bakery also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Simondium, Franschhoek
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Lust Bistro & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing