We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FirstclassSussex
Sussex, England

AN EXCELLENT HOTEL, BUT.....

Review of La Residence
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Feb 2024
Stayed four nights in a spledidly over the top room, with massive space, crazy decor and lovely outlook to the fish pool. Standards at the hotel are very high and managers and hotel staff cheery and efficient. The grounds and pool are lovely, recovering from a flood last autumn, and the hotel is close to the many restaurants in the town. A nice feel to the place.
The "But" relates to the restaurant, which on current form lets the hotel down. A rather short menu (the option to extend this did not add a lot) and slow service at breakfast and dinner. On one evening it took them 90 minutes to produce even a bottle of wine. It seems there is a lack of management supervision in the evenings.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura Siebert, Marketing at La Residence, responded to this review
Responded 22 Mar 2024
Thank you for staying with us at La Residence! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that the suite and our passionate and expert team were highlights. We will certainly pass on your feedback about the service you experienced at the restaurant as we aim to uphold our exceptionally high standard of service at all times.
Laura (Marketing Team)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 1 781
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 941
R 1 817
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 4 642
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 642
1.4 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 5 803
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 803
1.1 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Protea Hotels
R 2 508
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 296
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 296
4.1 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 503
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 503
17.1 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 8 785
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 785
1.5 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 284
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.3 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 4 517
  • Algotels
1.7 km from La Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
415
10
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
415
10
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frangipani suite deputy gm the general manager cape town attention to detail wine region our honeymoon beautiful spot food and wine three nights nothing is too much trouble luxury property lr turner mountains setting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

Ex pat returning to show family the best of South Africa….stayed here about 10 years ago and must say was disappointed…the location is great but facility and amenities in need of renovation…the good was food and pleasantness of staff….the bad was two of the pools near our villa (#5) were not usable ….the air conditioning in the main bedroom was very noisy and disturbed sleep, it also was blowing onto the bed so had to sleep with covers over our head…

Wouldn’t come back

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Spoek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura Siebert, Marketing at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Good day,

Thank you for staying with us at La Residence, your review is much appreciated. We will certainly share your feedback with our team as we aim to uphold our high standard of service and our promise of delivering a perfect stay at all times.

We hope to provide you with an improved experience in the future.

Laura (Marketing Team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2023

The property reminds of Bali in Indonesia - From the Moment we corresponded with Byron at reception, a memorable experience was already forged - this guy is simply the best and infinitely competent - The wife and I were personally welcomed and hosted by the Deputy General Manager, Mr. Hoon, who waited at the main entrance of the building - This was our third visit to 1 of 4 properties in the stable - Both my wife and I immediately agreed that this is Africa's Best boutique hotel - Mr. Hoon further confirmed our view that this property is a must visit for at least 3 - 5 nights when in the Winelands - We learnt so much of this region from Mr. Hoon and we are frequent travelers to this region, however his detailed knowledge and passionate approach leaves one in awe - We were not just inspired by the history, but also first handedly experienced outstanding and faultless service, throughout our visit - Every singly staff member passing by stops and enquires, if all is still good - Well done to Mr. Hoon who reminded us of the difference between a manager and a leader - Mr. Hoon is clearly a leader and one who leads from the front - The property is not far from the main road and the numerous wine tasting farms and restaurants in Franschhoek - All rooms are way above average in size and enjoys exquisite mountain views - The peacocks are forever entertaining guests and there is even some wildlife at the entrance to the property - This is a MUST VISIT property.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bo1ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura Siebert, Marketing at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2023

Thank you for this fabulous review. It is wonderful to read about the details of your experience at La Residence and it is fantastic to hear that our passionate and expert team was able to deliver an unforgettable experience.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Laura (Marketing Team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2023 via mobile

We absolutely loved our visit to La Residence. The property is gorgeous. Our room was ginormous as was the equally huge bathroom. Each room is uniquely decorated…ours was a Tibetan theme. We had a beautiful view of the vineyard and mountains. We also enjoyed seeing the spectacular peacocks roaming the property. Hoon was a really cool manager who made us feel so welcome. The food and service was very good. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EllenG2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura Siebert, Marketing at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience with us at La Residence!
Laura (Marketing Team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2023 via mobile

We stayed for six nights at this stunning property and had a lovely relaxing time. The staff were very helpful whenever we asked for something or enquired about an excursion. The in house shuttle was really good and meant all but one of our trips out were covered by this great service. The rooms and bathrooms were stunning as were the main areas of the hotel and we enjoyed both sitting outside to watch the sunset and also inside by the fire at night. Food and drinks were great, wonderful breakfast, delicious cakes and coffees in the afternoon and pre dinner drinks and canapé’s before some excellent in house dinners when we ate in house. They happily prepared some ‘simpler’ food, not on the menu, one evening when we fancied a night off from the ‘extravagant’ food the hotel and Franschhoek has to offer. When not eating in the hotel we visited La Petite Colombe, Protége, Chef’s warehouse and Epice for some amazing food in the evening and enjoyed Haute Cabriere , Le Petit Ferme and Babel by Babylonstoren at lunchtime. We also really enjoyed the wine tasting we did at the hotel and reading and swimming in and around the pool. Thank you to everyone who made our stay ‘a perfect stay’.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AilsaF972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura Siebert, Marketing at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Dear Ailsa,
Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review.
It is wonderful to read the details of your experience with us at La Residence, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the special touches.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience soon.
Laura (Marketing Team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2023

We couldn’t recommend a stay at La Res more! It was highly regarded anytime we mentioned we were staying at La Res before we got there, and the hype was met. Our suite, called the Armani Suite, was truly gorgeous, and we arrived with the most magical sunset to greet us. Our suite looked out to the little pond and peacocks. The property is stunning and set just a little back from the cute town of Franschhoek, only a short bicycle ride away.

Anything we were interested in doing, the super friendly staff at La Res was willing and able to assist. They made sure we got around the region safely and comfortably with very friendly drivers. The lobby has the coziest yet elegant ambiance. We especially loved our private, hands-on lunch with Brandon, which was delicious and so lovely to spend the afternoon with him, followed by him providing us with fruits and vegetables to take to the onsite mini ponies Twist and Tango. Every time we exited the room, the staff knew exactly who we were and what our plans were, and eager to see how they could assist with everything. Everything was perfect, I just wish we had had more time there! Thank you for everything.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura Siebert, Marketing at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Dear Casey,
We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience with us at La Residence.
It is wonderful to hear our team's high level of service was a highlight.
We hope to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future.
Laura (Marketing Team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews