We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
US$1 280
View deal
eDreams
US$1 280
US$1 217
View deal
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
378
8
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
378
8
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elton john chefs table cape town the general manager vineyard suite wine country laundry done sister hotel heaven on earth attention to detail stunning property bedroom and bathroom main building south africa trip blown away our honeymoon highlight of our trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2021

Our resent visit for a birthday celebration was much more than expected. The view, setting, service and food was truely SPECTACULAR !!! The total experience can only be described as "Heavenly on a silver platter"

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 617conradv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner Krause, Guest Services / Front Office at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear 617conradv,

Thank you so much for writing this lovely review about your recent experience at La Residence!

We are very glad that we could make your birthday celebration enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you for sharing this special celebration with us.

We hope to welcome you back to La Residence or any other Royal Portfolio Property in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Werner, Edward and La Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

After staying at La Residence, I want to go back to every single review that I have given 5 stars and knock them down a star. Nothing compares to this place. The hotel is a small boutique hotel, and the beauty is incomparable. You feel as if you are staying in the garden of Eden. The rooms are exquisite, from the decor and art to every single attention to detail to ensure you are sleeping like royalty. The staff are unbelievable, not only do they meet your every need - they anticipate your needs before you are even aware of them. We never heard the word NO, and we asked for quite a few special requests. The meals were delicious and intimate. The general manager, Ed, is the most charming, elegant and exceptional manager of any hotel I have ever stayed. He generally wants you to have the best experience possible. Rayno, who assisted us with most of our needs, went out of his way - even driving to another town - to take care of us. We were sad to leave this property and plan to come back as soon as possible. We actually changed our trip plans to continue to stay at other properties in the Royal Portfolio collection as the are truly 5 star experiences.

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank Permanenthoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner Krause, Guest Services / Front Office at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear Permanenthoneymoon,

We appreciate that you wrote out this kind review about your stay at La Residence.

Your kind words mean so much to our entire team. Our team loved having you as guests at the hotel. We especially liked the way you enjoyed the hotel as if it were your home - exactly what Liz Biden would want from every guest.

Thank you for being in South Africa - we feel truly lucky to see international travellers starting to experience the amazing hospitality South Africa has to offer.

We hope to see you both again very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Werner, Edward and La Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2021 via mobile

What an amazing hideaway from the rest of the world nestled in a wine farm in the beautiful Franshoek valley. The General Manager Edward Morton and his staff was so warm and welcoming. They attended to our every need. La Residence is one of the most phenomenal hotels I have stayed at. The attention to detail is unbelievable. We enjoyed the most luxurious treatments at the spa. The therapists were so experienced and offered a seven star service.
The food was amazing!!!! I wish I could live here forever. I am fully recharged and ready to face the world. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank NafeesaV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner Krause, Guest Services / Front Office at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear NafeesaV1,

Thank you so much for your support!

Our team loved having you all at the hotel.

Your kind words have been shared with the team - we do hope to welcome you back to La Residence for some more luxurious spa treatments in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Werner, Edward and La Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

Do yourself a favour and book a stay here. Even if it is just for one night - you will not be disappointed. The attention to detail, the service, the food, the room - everything was excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here - I wanted to just relax and refresh and this place allowed me to do just that. The GM, Edward Morton is the epitome of excellent guest service and he and all their staff made me feel very welcomed. I will be back.

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank ReneR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward Morton, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2021

Dear Rene R,

Thank you for writing this lovely review about your stay with us!

We are happy to read that you were able to fully relax.

Your kind words about our team is greatly appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming you back to La Residence or any other Royal Portfolio property very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Werner, Edward and La Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to stay at La Residence recently and I can fairly say I would be giving it more than 5 stars if o could. The accommodation is styled beautifully with large plush bathrooms. This is the place you want to stay of away for a weekend celebrating it visiting the lovely Franschhoek wine region.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eatsomemore2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward Morton, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2021

Dear Eatsomemore,

Thank you for this wonderful review!

We are so glad to see that you had a lovely stay with us.

Liz Biden took great care to carefully select all the beautiful pieces that make up our rooms and bathrooms to create the most relaxing and stunning rooms.

We hope d to welcome you back to La Residence or any other Royal Portfolio property soon.

Warmest Regards,

Werner, Edward and La Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews