We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
329
9
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
9
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birkenhead house cape town vineyard suite our honeymoon wine country world class heaven on earth anywhere in the world attention to detail main building amazing hotel beautiful place local wine moment you arrive blown away small hotel stunning views
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Royal Portfolio itinerary. We stayed in a beautiful suite with mountain and pond views. This is a special and beautiful hotel. Excellent desk and housekeeping service. Complimentary drop off and pick up to town. Only complaint is that food service could be improved. Breakfast was excellent, but we did have lunch on our first day and both dishes (mine and my husbands) were not at all good. Overcooked and over-sauced pasta. Sauce was not at all authentic Italian by any standards. Server was inexperienced although very polite.

Date of stay: February 2018
3  Thank Elyse E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalPortfolio, Deputy General Manager at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018


Dear Elyse E,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your experience at La Residence.

We appreciate your comments regarding the lunch that you had at the hotel. We have relayed this to our team to try our utmost to improve on this.

We hope to welcome you back to La Residence or any other Royal Portfolio property in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Werner Krause
Deputy General Manager | La Residence
La Residence is a member of The Royal Portfolio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Visited today with my husband to have lunch only. From the moment that we got out of the car we had Lawrence acknowledge us by name knowing who we were. We then had other staff members introduce themselves including Edward and Ricardo. The setting is beautiful and food was amazing. Couldn’t say enough about the level of service. Lawrence was fabulous.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scuder85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Really lovely place. Good location and lovely rooms. Topped off with really helpful and enthusiastic staff. A please to stay. Franschhoek is a small but lovely little town surrounded by beautiful scenery.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank matt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

A warm welcome on arrival, a beautiful room in lime and pink ( each room is unique ) , stunning views, delicious food and great service. What more could one want? I’d happily stay there again.
The hotel is situated a few minutes drive from the Main Street of Franschhoek, which makes it very convenient, but you can enjoy the peace and quiet of the beautiful countryside.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 604jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalPortfolio, other at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear 604jen,

Thank you for the lovely review about your stay at La Residence!
We are so glad that you enjoyed everything that the hotel and team had to offer.

Many of our guests love the Disa Suite, overlooking our Cabernet Sauvignon and Shiraz vineyards and the stunning Franschhoek mountain range.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Werner Krause
Deputy General Manager | La Residence
La Residence is a member of The Royal Portfolio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in July 2017. Probably one of the most amazing places we have ever stayed. The service was impeccable without being stuffy or formal - everyone was so friendly and took such good care of us. What you really notice is that everyone does everything - the GM was happy to serve us food/drinks, in addition to running the place. The rooms in the hotel are gorgeously decorated and so comfortable. We borrowed the bikes - i got a flat while out riding and within 5 minutes they had sent two cars out - one to drive us back and one to take the bikes back. The property and grounds are just beautiful - be sure to ask for a tour of the wine farm. We can't wait to go back! I honestly cannot think of a single complaint.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank philly7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalPortfolio, other at La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear philly7677,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this kind review about your experience at La Residence.

Bicycling around Franschhoek is a great way to explore the area, we apologise that your expedition was cut short by a flat tyre!

Our team on the estate works very hard to ensure that the grounds look as beautiful as possible, thank you for mentioning this.

Whilst you cannot wait to come back to La Residence, we cannot wait to welcome you back.

Warmest Regards,

Werner Krause
Deputy General Manager | La Residence
La Residence is a member of The Royal Portfolio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews