We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alot of fun ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franschhoek Wine Tram

Franschhoek Wine Tram
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90,48*
and up
Full-Day Franschhoek Wine Tram Experience from Cape Town
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the Vineyards of Franschhoek. The Franschhoek Wine Tram hop-on hop-off tour is one of the best ways to discover the true essence of the Franschhoek Valley - picturesque vineyards, breath-taking scenery, warm hospitality, world-class cuisine, fine wines and a 300-year history. Tour Experience: Passengers aboard the hop-on hop-off tour will experience a unique and leisurely introduction to the Franschhoek Valley as they journey through rolling vineyards in an open-side tram and open-air tram-bus stopping at some of South Africa's oldest and most distinguished wine estates. A combination of tram and tram-bus follows a loop of stops allowing guests to hop off at each stop and experience the activities on offer, such as wine tasting, a cellar tour, lunch or simply a stroll through the vineyards. When ready guests simply hop on to continue the tour. The tour takes guests into the heart of the Franschhoek Valley, with a guided commentary and unparalleled views of the valley and vineyards.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alot of fun ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

What a great way to sample various wine houses. The day is well planned giving you an hour at each winery. Everyone seemed to have a really great experience

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank suecQ1161ZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    377
    65
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“An experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A great way to get around and visit the many vineyards. Pick your route and off you go. Departs from the town centre with a bus taking you to the tram stop; once returning by tram another bus continues you on your journey of discovery; best of all you set your pace.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woods Hole
Level Contributor
218 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Forget 'gardens'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The trams and staff are great. For a winery they advertised as good for tasting and for their gardens they dropped us at a tasting venue 1.6 kilometers from the gardens and main center which also had tasting. We were dumped at the 'bus entrance' and walked the distance and were richly rewarded for our effort. Being in our 70s we were stuck and could not walk back that long walk! I hope they fix this glitch at Bochendal!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This is such a great idea, works really well, doing wine tasting without worrying about having to drive, seeing beautiful scenery and enjoying vintage transport at the same time!

Two tour options are available at time of booking, the blue line and the red line each stopping at different vineyards along the way. Tickets can be purchased on the day at the tram office or online however tickets are issued for a specific date and time when purchased and cant be changed. The tour boards at the Franschhoek Wine Tram ticket office which is located in the heart of Franschhoek Village. The tour allows passengers to hop-off at a stop and then when ready, hop back on to continue the tour.

If passengers wish to dine at one of the restaurants on the tour, they strongly advised that this is pre-booked at least 24 hours in advance. On the website, they do have a dining reservation form that can be filled out. We stopped and had lunch at Rickety Bridge Winery. Rickety Bridge was fun, some of the best food & wine, nice atmosphere and knowledgeable and friendly staff.

If clients are not staying in Franschhoek but like the idea of this, they now offer an exclusive transfer from Cape Town and the surrounding areas. We weren’t given much information on this but full details can be found on the website. I would highly recommend this excursion.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“an excellent way to discover the hugenot valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

we took the Blue Line so that we get to Richard Bransons La Rochelle first. This we've passed and headed off for Le Lude which is famous for bubbling wines, so called MCC (Method Cap Classic, means Champagne).The best stop was La Bourgogne (see separat recommendation). The most wine we've get in Holden Manz (9 for R60). Only the last 10 minutes you go by the tram what you should definitely know. The rest you go by an old bus which is also quite nice. The Wine Tram is also recommendable for rainy days.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franschhoek Wine Tram also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Franschhoek Wine Tram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing