We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
445
86
37
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
86
37
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting room tasting menu the main street south africa garden suite cape town middle of town fine dining open fire beautiful hotel world class little touches our honeymoon granola underfloor heating heated floors boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016

What a wonderfully warm welcome from Carina Groenewald, Manager, and her team!
We were first time guests but were made to feel like old friends.
This is a five star hotel and their reputation is well deserved.
The hotel is gracious & elegant and we would have absolutely no qualms in recommending it.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Le Quartier Français is a boutique hotel delivering first class plus service. It is located on the Main Street of Franschhoek, a wine producing city one hour from Capetown on the mountains. Beautiful weather ! Beautiful scenery, wonderful in room facilities and decoration . A splendid private varandah where I could taste wine and cheese while contemplating the beautiful horizon.
It is definitely a place to return.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank walterrodriguesfilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We drove over from Cape Town and arrived at around 10.30am we were told our room wasn't ready yet and that we would have to wait as check in wasn't until 2pm. My partner explained to reception that at no point had anyone told him what time check in was and when he had emailed that our arrival time would be 10am approx. he wasn't told anything would be a problem. He even showed his email to the reception staff. So they then gave us some water and we were told another cleaner had gone in to help so the room would be ready faster. They booked us into a vineyard for tasting and lunch as we had now missed the wine tram. After a while we were asked if we would like a tea or coffee. My partner had a coffee and I asked for a tea. My tea took so long it had to be brought to our room!!! We got into our room about 11.30am which was fantastic. As it was our anniversary the hotel had left some gifts for us and some extras which was a lovely touch. The room had the WOW factor and we both loved it when we walked in. The bathroom had a walk in shower with free standing bath, sink and toilet. We went out to do the wine tasting. Had a wonderful lunch and a driver came to pick us up and bring us back to the hotel where we found our air con was leaking down the wall and the carpet was soaked. My partner called reception and someone came round to ask if we wanted to move rooms but we would have to go to a different property. We didn't want to move so we sat in our room for over an hour trying to relax after our big lunch while 2 work men tried to fix our air con for over an hour. We had dinner in the tasting room but that's another review. We slept well and next morning went to breakfast. The atmosphere was quite stuck up and tense. The food was ok. We then checked out and went on our way. The whole mess up with check in and the air con really wasn't good at all and we both came away feeling disappointed that this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on our trip but the worst with regards to service.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frenchi700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisPinheiroLQF, General Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Frenchi700,

Thank you very much for your review.

In order for hotels all over the world to offer a comfortable departure time, generally check in times are from noon on-wards, with the majority offering check in from 14h00.

Please do accept our apologies for the negative experiences you had with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback as this will certainly assist us in improving going forward.

Kind regards,

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We spent two nights here. We usually stay at The Last Word but thought we'd ring the changes this year. The hotel is spotless, beautifully decorated with a very welcoming feel. The staff are genuinely pleased to see you. Our bedroom was No 8 and it really was beautiful. Very comfy beds, wonderful bathroom and everything you could possibly want. We ate at the Tasting Room, which was one of the main reasons for visiting. My husband didn't really get on with it, but I am a Chef and was blown away by the innovations, tastes, wine pairings and just about everything really. We both loved that the menu splits in the middle. The boys get one thing and the girls get another. It was a brilliant way of showing more tastes, textures and imagination. Fabulous. We are definitely coming back next year.

Room tip: Room 8 was perfect.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSimmo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

My husband and I stayed two nights here in the middle of our 2-week honeymoon in South Africa and Kenya. This hotel had all the amenities but we weren't there long enough to take advantage of most of them! The complimentary breakfasts were really nice, though! We also ate at the Tasting Room one night (I did separate review of that - quite the experience). This place is right on the main drag in Franschhoek, so it's quite easy to walk through town or drive to the various wineries. We had no service problems and everyone was very nice. The only thing I'd change was the bed - quite firm, and I prefer a bit softer. They did place about 12-15 candles throughout the room for us at turn-down, which was very sweet.

Room tip: Poolside room was quite lovely!
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JenniferLSVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews