We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only estate chocolate pairing, lovely wine”
Review of Franschhoek Cellar

Franschhoek Cellar
Ranked #30 of 66 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We invite you to visit our cellar to experience our decadent chocolate or cheese and wine pairing with attractions and entertainment for the entire family. At The Franschhoek cellar we boast an array of wine tasting facilities as well as child friendly playground and picnic areas. Some of the facilities available include: Garden/picnic area, kiddies playground, entrance/foyer, Brampton studio, Bernard Premium tasting room, Conference & wedding venue & Bellingham & Franschhoek Cellars tasting rooms.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Sat down one member of staff offered us chocolate pairing, he became rather indisposed having his photograph taken with two very inebriated female guests. Impossible to attract his attention his more professional colleague eventually realised we hadn’t been served. Rather spoiled our experience, spoke to the estate manager Brett he was very informative. Lovely wines.

Thank worldtravellers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chocolate wine"
in 3 reviews
"bobotie"
in 2 reviews
"wine pairing"
in 4 reviews
"outside area"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 5 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"light lunch"
in 2 reviews
"wine tram"
in 3 reviews
"playground"
in 6 reviews
"cheese"
in 17 reviews
"bellingham"
in 4 reviews
"pinotage"
in 5 reviews
"restaurant"
in 9 reviews
"taste"
in 9 reviews
"grapes"
in 5 reviews
"waitress"
in 4 reviews
"menu"
in 5 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

When I arrived, it was like pulling teeth to get someone to tell me where to go for the wine tasting. I did the wine and cheese tasting. 6 wines with great cheeses! Beautiful area! A 10 minute walk from town.

Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
409margueriten, Manager at Franschhoek Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Megan,

Thank you for your review, sorry to hear that it took so long for someone to help you to the wine tasting area. We will take this up with the team, and hopefully, it does not happen again.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the tasting, hoping you will be back to try out some of our other experiences!

Kind Regards,

The Franschhoek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

As far as stops on the Franschhoek Wine Route go, The Franschhoek Cellar and its restaurant wasn't our favourite.

The outside garden lunch area is unfortunately located alongside the busy main road, so your ambiance is affected by trucks, taxis and passers by shouting at one another. On a positive note (for parents), however, it is one of the few cellars that has an active play area set up for children so if you are wine tasting/lunching with kiddies, this is a convenient stop for a break for you.

On the wines side: The Franschhoek Cellar houses Bellingham, Brampton and The Franschhoek Cellar range of wines, which you can choose to have paired with a choice of Belgian chocolate or cheese on your visit.

Service: We battled to get service on our visit, but the restaurant was busy with lots of young families and kiddies running around, so I can only imagine that it can be attributed to that. I got up twice during our short visit to walk inside and ask for service.

*Recommendation: I would recommend The Franschhoek Cellar as being convenient for parents with young kids, who'd like to do a little wine tasting during their day out!

Thank LaurasWorldza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

What a gem!!We always return here when the rest of Franschoek is to busy!!

Excellent play area and great food with friendly staff

Will return

Thank JohanAntoinette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
409margueriten, Manager at Franschhoek Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for your review! Glad you like to visit and hoping to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This is a beautiful old vineyard that has a gorgeous tasting room with comfy chairs for two by the window as well as a range of other sized tables to accommodate groups...great, given it's on the Franschhoek Wine Tram route....it offers a range of wine tasting options including cheese and chocolate wine pairings at R40 each ( 6 mines); The Pinotage Experience,with 5 wines and nut/biltong tastes at R70 as well as The Franschhoek Cellar Wine Tasting which is a 6 wines blind tasting at R40...if you identify all the wines correctly you win your favorite wine....but for me the absolute "grape extravaganza" is the opportunity of tasting the premium award winning Bernard Series wines at R25 per tasting i.e. 1 wine (although there are 9 of them)..... the Old Vine Chenin, Hand picked Viognier and the Basket Press Syrah are simply Heaven In a Glass!...if you take this option there is a separate tasting room and gorgeous wine glasses to add to your tasting pleasure....Wonderful....

Thank olive c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
409margueriten, Manager at Franschhoek Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Olive,

Thank you so much for your great review! It's wonderful to see that you like all our tasting options and that you enjoyed the Bellingham Bernard Series Tasting so much. Pop-in and come enjoy a cuppa coffee in our newly renovated Deli Area (Grape & Bean)!

Kind Regards,

The Franschhoek Cellar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franschhoek Cellar also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Franschhoek Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing