We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
146
32
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
146
32
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chestnut cottage bedroomed cottage beautiful farm electric blankets two couples we loved our stay private pool little gem stayed nights beautiful location fireplace wine noir vines privacy estate comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here and it was an absolute dream. Everything you need except food but they did leave us milk, tea and coffee!! The place was spotless, modern, well presented and felt like home from home. The pool was clean, well kept and a gas bbq, there was also wood if we wanted a fire! We will be back!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lorrypage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

Our stay in the newly renovated Chestnut cottage was fabulous. Set on the edge of a flowing stream its privacy and peace is perfect. The decor is elegant and modern with no expense spared on comfort and convenience. Views across the vineyards , private pool, easy parking and access to the cottage all a pleasure. I would return in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank sallymX4031RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Two couples booked a riverside cottage over Christmas.
Have absolutely no complaints, the description on the website is what you get.
Unfortunately the three days were marred with bad weather, rain and cold winds, so no outside activity. The Braii area is under the patio, so if we wrapped up we could cook. The kitchen was a bit tight and only two comfortable seats in the lounge. There is no TV or games, the two bedroomed cottage is tight for two couples.
Would certainly visit again, but book a cottage with private pool.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CliffH287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

Beautifully designed little cottage with everything that you could need, done in a simple, clean style. So comfortable that we could have stayed for weeks. Well located just outside Franschoek and near many fine restaurants, the favourite of which we found to The Werf at Boschendal.

Richard, Julie and Danny were helpful but unobtrusive and the cottage feels safe, with interesting walks on the farm among the vines and by the river.

We will definitely come back.

Room tip: We stayed in Noir, which looks the same as Blanc, and these have a light, airy feel and the small plunge pool is perfect.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2019

We arrived just after 6pm & were warmly welcomed by Mr. Richard Parkfelt who made us feel at home immediately...The cottage(noir) was cosy & comfortable & equipped with everything ones own home would need...a great place to get away.... fantastic hosts & excellent amenities...

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lemeez2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews