We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Africa 2017”

La Rochelle Wine Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65,64*
and up
Full-Day Wine Tour from Franschhoek
Ranked #1 of 42 Food & Drink in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: La Rochelle Tours (Est 2000) with the main focus being on conducting personalised wine tours in small groups (2-13) visiting less commercial wineries when possible. Our 2 specialized wine tourism guides are educated by the Cape Wine Academy. All guided tours and transfers by La Rochelle Tours are done in a professional way & we try to exceed expectations on a daily basis. We like to share information about wine in a fun & relaxing manner. Wine should be enjoyed & learning more about it can be fun. We are based in Franschhoek & we would love to share our passion for wine with you! We now also offer restaurant (lunch) or inter town transfer daily. Transfers to and from Franschhoek and Cape Town International Airport now also available. Collections for wine tours from Franschhoek, Stellenbosch & Paarl. Contact us directly when booking to ensure we plan the best possible day for you! The Team: Tour Guides: Danelle & Aylmer Drivers For our Non-Guide Services: Johan, Francois & Andrew
Reviewed 27 November 2017

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private tour"
in 13 reviews
"mystery tour"
in 7 reviews
"gourmet tour"
in 3 reviews
"cape town"
in 13 reviews
"an amazing guide"
in 2 reviews
"arranged lunch"
in 2 reviews
"local history"
in 5 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 6 reviews
"great company"
in 4 reviews
"anthonij rupert"
in 2 reviews
"aylmer"
in 31 reviews
"danielle"
in 11 reviews
"cheese"
in 21 reviews
"chocolate"
in 20 reviews
"wine"
in 81 reviews
"vineyards"
in 35 reviews
"chauffeur"
in 2 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Wonderful last day spent yesterday with Danelle and another couple. We were picked up from our B&B and dropped back afterwards. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour to three vineyards with our guide.Danelle who adapted the tour as we went along to suit both couples. She was friendly, funny and very knowledgeable about wine and the whole region. We learnt so much.
I would definitely recommend the company. Danelle was very professional and ensured we did not miss a photo opportunity. She even took some excellent photographs for us!
Although it appears expensive, we felt we had excellent value for money. From beginning to end the tour was informative, enjoyable and highly entertaining.

Thank joanoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

My friend and I took the full day whale watching tour from Franschhoek to Hermanus. It was pricey at R3995 because the company only does the whale watching tour on a private basis. Our guide was informative and easy to understand. However, we felt that the whale watching experience was not what we expected. We waited a number of hours on the cliffs and were just about to leave, when, we finally spotted something. The whales are very far away and all you really see is their tail or a small part of their heads. They did not breach out of the water at all. I guess I expected more but found out that this is typical behavior. I assume many people will still like to have this experience, but for me it was not worth the time and effort getting there. Also, I find it extremely odd that the company only accepts cash. They did tell me in their correspondence that it was the policy. I happened to run short of rand and wanted to pay with dollars or credit card. They wouldn't accept either and it was a real problem getting money exchanged in the bank here. So if you go on any tours with this company make sure you have enough rand.

Thank gramma-Jill-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleTours, Owner at La Rochelle Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our services.
I am sorry that you feel you did not get to see any whales properly.
Like, when you go on a safari, we have no control over any wild animals (it is impossible for us to say how much sightings you will have).
You mentioned that our guide was informative and easy to understand which is the possitive what we will take out of this as this is ultimately what it is about - information.With regards to the payment policy - you said yourself in your review that we mentioned this in our correspondence which you were happy to do (also in your correspondence). The reason we don't take card payments on the day is that we have quite a few vehicles and card machines cost lots of money to rent in South Africa. And after all, we agreed on a cash payment.
Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic day out, our host Aylmer was very knowledgeable and we learnt so much from him, not just about wine! The pace of the day was excellent and the choice of wines also very good. I would absolutely recommended this company if all of the hosts are as good as Aylmer.

1  Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleTours, Owner at La Rochelle Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you so much for the possitive feedback.
It is feedback like this that makes it all worth it for us.
Thank you so much for this (it made our day) and i will be sure to forward this to Aylmer.
We really hope that you can join us again in the near future.
have a lovely day.
Johan Barnard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rochelle Wine Tours also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to La Rochelle Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing