We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
andrewlack2023
Guildford, United Kingdom
Simply Outstanding in every way
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Sept 2023
Just returned from an amazing stay at this property - it really is first class in every way. From the minute we arrived all aspects were perfect - the welcome and the service throughout were first class. The property is beautiful, in a stunning location and has a wonderful feel about it. The service while we were there was exceptional and i would really recommend people to use the onsite chef we have special memories of family meals at the property. I really have nothing but positives about all aspects of our stay it is just the perfect place to relax. We will definitely return.
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 2 599
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 919
  • Priceline
17.3 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 020
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 586
  • Priceline
17.9 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 664
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 200
  • Priceline
17.5 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 6 204
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 453
  • Priceline
15.8 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free Wifi
Free parking
La Cotte House - Pool House
Booking.com
R 4 093
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 897
  • Priceline
17.4 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 694
  • Expedia.com
  • StayForLong
    R 2 526
  • Priceline
17.8 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 10 656
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 478
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 619
18.0 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 3 456
R 2 824
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 456
18.5 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 999
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 284
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 085
18.7 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 5 844
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 844
  • eDreams
    R 5 844
19.3 km from The Residence @ Vrede & Lust
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
94
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
94
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house manager his team jungle gym freshly baked muffins general manager house offers small wedding family vacation breathtaking setting amazing property world class service attention to detail every morning cape town little piece of heaven amazing breakfast a special place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2023

To stay at the Residence is few days in paradise. Very spacious rooms with immaculate bedding and all the luxury you might need.
Staff and food is of extraordinary quality. Asome views of the Mountains ,

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 973johan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corné Yzel, General Manager at The Residence @ Vrede & Lust, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Hi Johan, I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review for us. We hope that you will consider The Residence @ Vrede & Lust again when you are next in the Cape Winelands. Until next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2023

This was our second visit to the Residence, our first being January 2020 and it did not disappoint. We were a group of 3 families with children age 4-7 and we stayed 6 nights, The accommodation was plenty big enough to accommodate all of us comfortably. The house and setting are amazing, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean and even smells amazing. All of our needs were catered for and the house manager Corne made our trip extra special from before we arrived, helping us to make all of our plans including in-house massages and beauty treatment to add to our already relaxing stay. We used the services of the in-house chef 4 of the nights and the food was amazing, and plenty of gorgeous estate wine to sample as well. he also made some amazing breakfast which would fill us up for the day. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt like royalty during our stay and were totally pampered. Unfortunately we are now spoilt forever. We will definitely be back on our next visit to South Africa.

Room tip: We hired a car but Ubers are readily available.
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mannio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corné Yzel, General Manager at The Residence @ Vrede & Lust, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2023

Hi Katie, wow, what a review! Firstly - thank you for visiting us for the second time.. I know it took a while with Covid and all, but what a pleasure it was to see all of you again! Secondly - Thank you very very much for writing this special review for us. I know that you are a busy woman and I appreciate you taking the time to write this for us tremendously. I will most certainly let you know when my wife and I manage to take a trip to the UK and spend some time with you in Manchester!! Until next time then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2023

This was the family's second trip to The Residence and to say it's becoming a home away from home is an understatement. Every single family member was catered to seamlessly. With memorable meals and festive season atmosphere. It really was a beautiful time to enjoy the holidays. Attention to detail in all areas and a constantly willingness and availability. Having experienced The Residence in two separate seasons I would highly recommend it to any and family looking to be pampered with in house massages and more, as well as local activities. Everyone can enjoy the ultimate relaxing holiday.

Room tip: it really helps to have an itinerary planned and prebooked for any local restaurant visits and outings especially during peak seasons
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lungilenhlanhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corné Yzel, General Manager at The Residence @ Vrede & Lust, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2023

H Lungi, ag you know what, it was such an incredible honour for us to have you and the whole Nhlanhla family for Christmas. You all really feel like family now and I mean what I said that you have to experience The Residence in winter now. Both times that you've been here has been summer, and although summer is fantastic in the winelands, winter at The Residence has it's own magic. With the fireplaces going making it so cozy and the willows with no leaves leaving exposed snow covered mountain tops, you will feel like you've woken up in a fairy tale.. See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2023

My family and I stayed at the Residence for the first time in December 2022, from the 30th to the 12th of January 2023. What a privilege it was for us to experience this level of hospitality. The unanimous view expressed my all members of the family, including my mother and a close friend of hers who got to join us for a number of days, is that this is by far the best accommodation we have ever experienced on a family vacation. Corne and his team deliver a world class service and experience, to such an extent that it was a no brainier for us to return to The Residence for another visit later this year. Spoiling my family by bringing them to this type of establishment is arguably one of the best holiday decisions I have ever made. The setting of the property, the views in the area, the flow and convenience of the house, the natural beauty of the region, and the quality of the food prepared by the chef, are only some of the factors that make The Residence a truly unforgettable experience. Thank you very much Corne and team.

Dion

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Curious57198691676
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corné Yzel, General Manager at The Residence @ Vrede & Lust, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2023

Hi Dion, what a lovely review, thank you SO very much!! It was such a great pleasure to have met you and your family and we are all very much looking forward to seeing all of you at the end of the year! Dion, I know that you are a very busy man and I really appreciate you taking the time to write this really awesome review for us. All the best for the year to come and see you at the end of the year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2023

We went on a family holiday for 10 days to The Residence. Our Welcome by Corne was very warm and he explained everything very well. We were welcomed with a freshly baked chocolate cake specially made by the chef.

We had a very comfortable stay, extremely private and the location is perfect if you want to drive around for shopping and wine tasting.

At the Residence we had a canoe which the kids enjoyed which ended up with them swimming in the dam, afternoon drinks on the deck while the kids play.
Our toddlers enjoyed the beautiful grass and jungle gym.

The food was incredible. The Chef went out of his way to cater for every person, young, old and vegetarian.

Corne was there for every need. Exceptional service. It is a beautiful place to relax and spend precious time with family.

Room tip: Winelands Luxury
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarykevdKwast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corné Yzel, General Manager at The Residence @ Vrede & Lust, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2023

Hi Maryke, you have absolutely made my year!! Thank you SO much for taking the time out of your very busy schedule to write this wonderful review for us. It was such a pleasure to have met and host you and your family and I am extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We value all the feedback and I am happy to hear that we are still on the right track with making our guests' experiences most memorable. I hope that we get to see you again when you come to the winelands again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews