We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Edwin P
Eibergen, The Netherlands

Cosy but also extremely noisy

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Old and noisy place. Our room was ok but the floor (and ceiling) were so noisy that you are a wake as soon as anyone in the building makes two steps. Very small area for breakfast and a pool for max.2p.
Very nice staff and good service, the breakfast was super!
We could not sleep from 5:30am when our neighbors from above started walking around.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Bring earplugs or ask for a room without the squeeking floors
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elsa Naude, Owner at Centre-Ville Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Evening
Thank you for your review
When you booked you new that it was an historic building with wooden floors.
I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience in our beautiful home.
We have a lovely breakfast area outside when the weather is nice.
We do not advertise a Swimming Pool BUT only a Spash Pool and I am sure 4 guests can easily cool down in the Splash Pool.
I suggest that you book a modern Guest House in Franschhoek next time
There are at least 54 to choose from
Kind regards
Elsa and Jaco Naude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 2 096
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Centre-Ville Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 622
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Centre-Ville Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 545
  • Priceline
    R 2 633
  • Vio.com
    R 2 286
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 673
0.0 km from Centre-Ville Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 5 900
R 4 693
  • Priceline
    R 4 693
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 814
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 814
0.5 km from Centre-Ville Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 6 204
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 204
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 335
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 204
2.0 km from Centre-Ville Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Protea Hotels
R 2 508
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    R 2 533
  • Priceline
    R 2 530
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 533
0.6 km from Centre-Ville Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 6 744
R 5 844
  • Priceline
    R 6 152
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 744
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 844
1.5 km from Centre-Ville Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 9 699
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 892
  • Agoda.com
    R 8 271
  • Priceline
    R 8 941
0.3 km from Centre-Ville Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 181
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Centre-Ville Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
384
109
16
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
384
109
16
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house attentive hosts the main street attention to detail four poster bed within walking distance the ground floor home away from home restaurants and shops wine tram excellent location fantastic breakfast bed and breakfast perfect hosts each morning beautiful town next morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2024

Central location, fantastic hospitality,cozy rooms, good breakfast in a nice little garden. Like coming home to your loved ones who dont know what good they can do for you.If We should have the opportunity to visit beatyful Franschoek again we will certainly book here.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank henges512862
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2024

The hosts ignored any potential risk of fire. There is no smoke detectors and the rooms in 2nd floor has no alternative escape route than the one stairs. The roof windows could only be used for ventilation.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thanse149926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2024

We had a lovely 2 nights here, comfortable beds, super friendly staff and a great breakfast too. The pool was also appreciated because it was extremely hot and we enjoyed a swim after a day out to cool down.
Great location too, everything was on our doorstep.

If you are super tall, double check which room you are in though, we were on the top floor with attic style roof & we had to duck our heads moving around the space a bit.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Twanine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

Everything was superb - the bedroom was large with a 4 poster bed - the bathroom had a bath and a separate shower
- the quality of breakfast was amazing - the hosts so helpful - the location - the delightful little swimming pool
The parking was secure and lovely restaurants within a stones throw

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 804lindsayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Good things come in small packages they say. This small guest house is just perfect. The attention to detail, the kindness, the staff, the superb breakfast
Short walk to town and fantastic value for money. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews