We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
252
85
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
85
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house private deck the main street attention to detail excellent hosts four poster bed the ground floor within walking distance small pool the location is perfect bed and breakfast lovely accommodation stayed nights owners and staff breakfast is served wine tram a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

If staying in Franschhoek this is a must if there is room. The attention to detail is outstanding and the location is perfect right in town. We had the main suite with the sun deck which I would recommend. Breakfast in the garden was fantastic and the owners and staff were extremely nice and accommodating for all our needs.
We were moving to the Mont Rochelle for a wedding, but actually at the time didn't want to move its that good.
Ideal for couples.

Room tip: Honeymoon suite has the sun deck. worth the extra
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

This is most beautiful guest house. The location is perfect. The attention to detail and care is amazing. It is just lovely to be here. Feel so cared for. Highly recommend a good few nights here to anyone. To soothe the soul.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LizT867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in one of the upstairs en-suite rooms (Sensational). The bedroom was a reasonable size and the bathroom was very spacious with a bath and separate shower. When we stayed the weather was cool but I think this room may get quite warm during the summer. Breakfast was served in the garden the first morning but inside the other 2 mornings due to the cooler weather. There was a nice choice of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals etc to start and then made to order hot breakfast which was very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Centre-Ville is in an ideal location only a few minutes walk to lots of excellent restaurants and also the wine tram.
I would be more than happy to stay here again next time we visit Franschhoek.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robinwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Centre-Ville Guest House is located right next to the main road in the corner of a quiet and cute street.
The staff (Brenda and Jaco) was very attentive from the moment we arrived until we left!
Breakfast was great.
I believe the swimming pool was fixing something and it did not seem clean or inviting.
The room and bathroom were very cute, fairytale like, but the way the furniture was set in the room was not ideal and made it very crowded, there were some shelves to place the luggage but they were small and bags could not be opened there. In front of the shelves there were chairs that had to be placed inside the bathroom for us to take our luggage off the shelf and put it on the floor to open it.
Other than that, everything was fine but I seriously think spave for luggage should be thought off better!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Xuxudevizinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

- It's only an advice: we had a room under the roof, taller people might have issues due to the low ceiling
- We were lucky it wasn't really hot, but I imagine it gets extremely hot during summer time in the upstairs rooms

Pro's:
- Lovely breakfast with great variety (warm and cold)
- Helpful and extremely kind hosts and staff
- Outside breakfast area
- Very comfortable bed/ mattrass
- AC available (we didn't use it though)
- old-fashioned, original cozy furnished rooms
- walking distance to the shopping street of Franschhoek (incl. wine tram)
- parking free of charge (around the corner at a public parking lot with reserved spots)
- very good water pressure in the shower

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luzifrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews