We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian food”
Review of Marigold

Marigold
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Food was really tasty just like how Indian food should be. I ordered mild for spicy level but it was not spicy at all so you may want to go with very spicy if you like spicy food. Decoration of the restaurant is nice looking and calming.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank loiseviranti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayleyLC439, Public Relations and Marketing at Marigold, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience at Marigold and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Marigold Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018

Excellent Indian menu! If you need a tasteful spice infusion in the generous stream of French inspired menus in Franschhoek, this is a great place for getting your taste buds a bit on the toes making them receptible for fine-tuned challenges up and down the main road.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayleyLC439, Public Relations and Marketing at Marigold, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Marigold experience and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

The Marigold team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

First time and just love all of it. The Decor, ambience and most of all the food absolutely delicious with fresh herbs and spices.Definitely a place to visit especially if you enjoy a good curry.

Malcolm
Traveller of all parts of the World

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MalcolmP334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayleyLC439, Public Relations and Marketing at Marigold, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We love that you enjoyed your experience at Marigold and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Marigold Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We came to the Marigold with high expectations. We love Indian cuisine, from all parts of India! With much anticipation for scrumptious food, we reserved a table on a Saturday night.

The welcome was warm and the elegant simplicity of the restaurant is certainly five stars! The outfits worn by the staff are beautiful and gives you a hint of staff at a maharajas palace! Our waiter was very nice.

We ordered one gin and tonic, which was expertly prepared, and a glass of sparkling wine, both of which were brought over expeditiously. Things were looking up when complimentary nibbles were presented, papadum with a variety of delicious chutneys.

On perusing the menu, it's no secret that items are priced on the high end, but this was a birthday dinner, so, we just ordered.

We ordered the spinach starter, the tandoori prawns, and murg chicken. In regards to the food presentation, it all looks great, and whereas the beauty aspect is met, the important details addressing the flavors on the palate are missing. The food is bland, completely ignoring the genuine seasoning of Indian foods, and seems to be catering to the western palate. This is a shame, as the flavors of the food were quite average and did not impress. There was no "wow" factor on the palate.

I was shocked by the fact that the basmati rice was over cooked and clumped together. I sent that back. That was was embarrassing.

The Nan was very nice and delicious.

Will we return? Probably not.


Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank reginafug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayleyLC439, Public Relations and Marketing at Marigold, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to hear your experience did not live up to expectations and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The Marigold team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

everything about this place is lovely. the staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the food options. decor and lighting overwhelmingly spa-like and relaxing without noisy music. very good menu, with lots of choices. We all had something different and all the dishes were exceptionally tasty and well-spiced (well-blended and rounded out). the naans were to die for and alone worth returning for. the trio of kulfis were a taste lesson in how spices can be used to make beautiful sweet things even better. BRAVO! overall a wonderful experience. forget about the prices and just indulge and enjoy for once in your life truly great Indian food. would move to Franschhoek for this place alone...

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank leilag56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayleyLC439, Public Relations and Marketing at Marigold, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you for your glowing review. The team and I love that you enjoyed you experience at Marigold and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Marigold Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marigold also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Simondium, Franschhoek
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Marigold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing