We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GillyS324
Ayrshire, United Kingdom

Eat in the restaurant as it was superb.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 May 2024via mobile
Beautiful hotel, really pleased this is our last stop, the receptionist was terrific, really helpful.

The meal we had in the hotel was superb and I want to make a special mention for Tembi, our waitress, who was friendly, courteous and extremely helpful and welcoming. Her recommendation on the wine helped to create a very special and memorable evening. Try the vodka chocolate - OMG it was fabulous.

The hotel itself is fabulous and very comfortable. I cannot recommend this hotel enough

The hotel itself
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review
Responded 31 May 2024
Dear GillyS324,

Thank you for the complimentary review received.

Your feedback has been shared with the TEAM's as a ways of celebrating the special moments we had a hand in creating.

The support is greatly appreciated, we look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon.

Best regards,

Jennifer and TEAM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 6 291
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 291
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 786
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 365
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 224
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free parking
Pool
R 2 494
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
17.0 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 9 948
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    R 3 290
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 273
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 213
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 4 290
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 087
1.4 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 2 865
  • Hotels.com
13.8 km from Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
199
68
9
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
199
68
9
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hussar grill large secure car park wine tram hotel is in a great location boutique feel recommend this hotel tram station on site restaurant large comfortable bed swimming pool easy walking distance room was spotless shops and restaurants load shedding the main street two night stay minute walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2024

Two nights booked here so we could go on the Wine Tram. Great location. Very clean rooms and thank you to the housekeeping team for this (normally unsung heroes). A pool was available but we didn't use as too busy and not hot enough. Free car park. All staff were very friendly and there is a restaurant attached (Hussar Grill). This is where we were served a wholesome, delicious breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Dear terrybensusan,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay and for sharing your experience with us.

I fully agree, housekeeping is most definitely the unsung heroes, we have an amazing TEAM, with some of our ladies having been here well over 10 years!

Thank you for your support, we look forward to welcoming you back, sharing more wholesome breakfasts and making memories.

Best regards,

Jennifer and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024 via mobile

What a perfect hotel for a quick stay in Franschoek - we based ourselves here for our days exploring on the wine tram, and it was perfect! Within walking distance to the tram, we could also walk to get pizza for dinner and there's a pub almost just across the road for a few drinks. The Hussar Grill was lovely for dinner, breakfast was great and rooms were super comfortable, beds are delightful, lots of pillows and comfy sheets. Staff are really lovely too :)

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2024

Dear Natalie R,

Thank you for the welcome feedback received.
We strive to create memorable stays through high standards in quality, service and care.
We appreciate your support and the time you took in rating and sharing your review.

Your support is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jennifer and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

The Protea turned out to be a great choice for a two night stay in Franschhoek. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and also includes a good restaurant for dinner as well as an excellent breakfast buffet.

The hotel has a nice inner courtyard with a pool which we enjoyed after a day of touring the vineyards.

The staff was super nice at all levels and made us feel welcome. A special “shout out” to Kobe who helped us arrange transportation to and from the hotel. He was a also a wealth of local knowledge.

A final note - we liked the location as it was an easy walk to both the town and to the wine train station.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSTraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

Dear GSTraveller200

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay and for sharing your experience with us.

We have shared your feedback with the TEAM as a ways of celebrating the special moments we played a part in creating.

Your support is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Jennifer and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2024

Amazing location, quaint hotel, lovely rooms over looking the pool area and views of the mountains.
Stayed 4 nights 24th-28th December, fabulous Christmas!

I took gifts for all the staff to give at breakfast time 25th Dec and books for their young families, such appreciation was shown.

Lovely friendly staff who were always smiling, watching the staff wait for their bus home all wearing santa hars and singing along gives me a smile on my face, fab memories .

Very easy to walk either way around Franschhoek town to many restaurants and cafes and bars. Amazing live music every night at a nearby out door restaurant (Christmas day too which was really good fun).

Always felt safe even at night walking home from the restaurants, security around the roads too.

Hussar Grill on site at hotel was fabulous for Christmas Eve meal sat outdoors, best dessert ..we can still taste it now!

Peaceful pool area, sipping MCC on a lounger on Christmas morning in the African sunshine...bliss 🥂

Faizaan Head of Reception...such a gem she really helped me alot whilst planning our trip and greeted me personally with a huge hug upon arrival.

South Africans are the friendliest 😊

Immaculate hotel overall would 100% stay here again and recommend 👌

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Dear MAlovestravel,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Your feedback will be shared with our TEAM's as a way of celebrating the special moments we played a part in creating.

We look forward to creating more memories on your next visit.

Thank you for your support, till we welcome you again.

Best regards,

Jennifer and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

Top hotel in Franschoek ideally located close to the Main Street.
We were overnighting in the town and were pleasantly surprised by this gem of a hotel.
Quaint, modern and quite private as there are not too many rooms. Rooms are spacious, neat, clean and recently refurbished.
Ideally annexed to the Hussar grill that offers top quality cuisine.
Friendly and effective service:

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank deanlee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Dear deanlee1972,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay and for sharing your experience with us.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated, we will ensure to share your feedback with our TEAMS.

We look forward to welcoming you again and thank you for your support.

Kind regards,

Jennifer and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews