We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
42
24
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
24
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hussar grill secure car park wine tram locked gate included in our rate central courtyard boutique feel delightful hotel loved this hotel saturday market would highly recommend this hotel restaurants and bars cape town art galleries the ground floor the main street checking out
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

It's a Marriott with all the things you would expect from a Marriott in a small town. Big comfortable room. Great bathroom, Clean. Good bed. WiFi. Good location. Nice staff. Good facilities. Nice Breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BillPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear BillPom

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.


Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Franschhoek.

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We enjoyed our 20th anniversary during our stay, from the first day on arrival we were threaded with a JC Le Roux and service were great, personnel were friendly en Jentia, are there from our first visit to the Hotel a few years ago and she is one of the most friendliest people and helpful, anytime and any problem. Overall we enjoyed our stay and thank the hotel for making our stay special. Only complaint, as a prokard member, you do not receive any discount as a prokard member in the restaurant, BUT the restaurant on site have the best food, chefs and waiters. 5* to the Protea Hotel and Staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and renovated, so it is as if you stay in a new building.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lourens-Esterhuyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Lourens-Esterhuyse

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Franschhoek. It was
truly a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with
the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service
to guests like you.


Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek and we hope you choose to create more memories with
us whenever your travels bring you back to Franschhoek.

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Simply Amazing! Food is great and the staff are even more amazing. The service is quick and there is barely any hassle at all. Very quiet at all times. And the beds are extremely comfortable! Highly recommended

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank kekesears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear kekesears

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Franschhoek. It was
truly a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with
the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service
to guests like you.


Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek and we hope you choose to create more memories with
us whenever your travels bring you back to Franschhoek.

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We were staying one night in the Protea hotel Franschhoek, i didnt have many expectations.
first of all the location is really good, right on the main street, close to all the restaurants, caffes and art galleries in the area. they have a free parking area, which is secured.
service was really good, and receptionist was really nice.
room was really good, facing the pool, with a nice view, the room was clean, with mini bar in case you want to store things. shower was really good.
wi fi was excellent.
breakfast - we had to pay for breakfast as it was not included in our rate, the breakfast was average compare to other hotels we stayed in South Africa, so this can be better. beside that - hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear bdelad

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Franschhoek. It was
truly a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with
the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service
to guests like you.


Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek and we hope you choose to create more memories with
us whenever your travels bring you back to Franschhoek.

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We had an overnight stay in Cape Town on a cruise ship and opted to spend the time in Franschhoek. The Protea has an excellent location at the edge of town and everything you want to see is in short walking distance. The hotel is clean, modern and has helpful & friendly staff. The attached restaurant is an excellent place for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good to me
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Jim B

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek with us.
As a valued customer we pride ourselves in providing exceptional customer service that not only meet, but exceed your expectations and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews