We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel was everything we needed. Arriving around midday, we parked in the visitor car park but did not even need to leave our vehicle before the security guard came over to greet us, checked us off on his list and escorted us directly into the secure parking area. Our bags were quickly whisked straight to our room and check in was super efficient & friendly. The room itself was very comfortable, with a nice large bathroom (with separate bath & shower). The hotel is walking distance to the restaurants and shops in the Main Street and we felt very safe in doing so. We had a lovely buffet breakfast on our first morning, and while the hot buffet was not offered on the following day, the staff were more than happy to prepare items to order. This hotel does the basics well, and with a big smile. I thoroughly recommend it for a comfortable stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wooders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Wooders1

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience and we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your wonderful feedback has been shared with the TEAM and we appreciate your positive comments.

Once again thank you and come visit us soon!

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Well located in the heart of the town. Service was polite and helpful.

Clean and all the basics are in place including USB charging docks and Wi-Fi access.

Great restaurant in the hotel.

Only negative was the TV did not work

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Izyskosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Izyskosi

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay.

Although it seems that overall you had a good experience it is disappointing that we were not able to provide the full service we are known for. I am however happy to report that we have resolved the technical issues experienced.

We thank you for your valued support and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Stayed at this property and loved every bit of it. The property had been refurbished recently hence had a very modern look. Rooms were very well made with a white feel overlooking the swimming pool in the centre. There were bikes available for riding through Huguenot road to the franschhoek market place. Breakfast was served in the restaurant on the ground floor with a very vast variety and freshly prepared eggs and porridge. Cocktails, dinner, lunch and wine were available at the Hussar Grill that had a lovely open patio in the evenings. The location was just perfect. The staff were amazing and helped us with getting cabs. Complementary parking was also available on site. A must visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nitaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear NitaMumbai

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel By Marriott Franschhoek with us.

As a valued customer we pride ourselves in providing a premium Guest service experience that not only meet, but exceed your expectations and we as a TEAM appreciate your wonderful review and positive comments.We are indeed delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay as well as our beautiful and relaxing Village Franschhoek.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and come visit us soon!

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Don't be put off by the 'Marriott' name this is a lovely full service hotel well suited to the visitor and tourist. Rooms arranged around a central courtyard with small swimming pool. A good restaurant, bar and comfortable lobby. Rooms spacious, quiet with comfy beds. It is located at one end of the main street in Franschhoek which is ideal for browsing its many shops, restaurants and bars. Staff are friendly and professional. Locked carpark. Only complaint was when we checked out the credit card machine defaulted to my local currency (not zar) so I was charged a few percent more than I should have been with poor exchange rate and big commission. I honestly think this was not the hotel but the bank who supplied the credit card machine. And I am sure if I was paying attention I could have stopped the default and got the bill in South African rand, so pay attention when checking out. Recommended would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoll365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Scoll365

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek with us.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations and please do accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused at check out. Rest assured that this matter has been resolved.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Franschhoek.

Management and TEAM


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed just one night and wished we had time to stay longer! From checking in to departure the service was first class. Delightful helpful staff checked us in and arranged for our luggage to be taken upstairs. Large, recently renovated room, with some of the best electrical sockets ever! We could have charged 12 individual appliances! US and European options as well as UK and South African. No more crawling under tables to find an elusive single socket! Wonderful duvets and large shower. Very convenient location within walking distance of town. Breakfast was superb. Again, delightful, polite waiting staff who seemed genuinely pleased to be of assistance. They coped valiantly with demanding tour group members without a flicker of annoyance or impatience-very commendable! We called at reception on the way back to our room after breakfast and asked for luggage assistance and the two ladies were there in minutes. An outstanding team of people. Management should be proud of them!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TravellingoneSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear TravellingoneSwansea

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay.

We appreciate the feedback provided and are most grateful for the recognition given to our TEAM.

We thank you for your support and wish you all the best in your travels.

Kind regards

Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3,2 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
717 reviews
0,5 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
59 reviews
0,1 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,8 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
1,4 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0,8 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: R1 853 - R2 997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing