We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
36
23
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
23
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshussar grillsecure car parklocked gateincluded in our ratecentral courtyardboutique feelwine tramloved this hotelbeautiful hotelwould highly recommend this hotelsaturday marketcape townrestaurants and barsthe main streetthe ground floorwithin walking distanceart galleries
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Well located in the heart of the town. Service was polite and helpful.

Clean and all the basics are in place including USB charging docks and Wi-Fi access.

Great restaurant in the hotel.

Only negative was the TV did not work

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Izyskosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Izyskosi

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay.

Although it seems that overall you had a good experience it is disappointing that we were not able to provide the full service we are known for. I am however happy to report that we have resolved the technical issues experienced.

We thank you for your valued support and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Stayed at this property and loved every bit of it. The property had been refurbished recently hence had a very modern look. Rooms were very well made with a white feel overlooking the swimming pool in the centre. There were bikes available for riding through Huguenot road to the franschhoek market place. Breakfast was served in the restaurant on the ground floor with a very vast variety and freshly prepared eggs and porridge. Cocktails, dinner, lunch and wine were available at the Hussar Grill that had a lovely open patio in the evenings. The location was just perfect. The staff were amazing and helped us with getting cabs. Complementary parking was also available on site. A must visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BenitaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear NitaMumbai

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel By Marriott Franschhoek with us.

As a valued customer we pride ourselves in providing a premium Guest service experience that not only meet, but exceed your expectations and we as a TEAM appreciate your wonderful review and positive comments.We are indeed delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay as well as our beautiful and relaxing Village Franschhoek.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and come visit us soon!

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Don't be put off by the 'Marriott' name this is a lovely full service hotel well suited to the visitor and tourist. Rooms arranged around a central courtyard with small swimming pool. A good restaurant, bar and comfortable lobby. Rooms spacious, quiet with comfy beds. It is located at one end of the main street in Franschhoek which is ideal for browsing its many shops, restaurants and bars. Staff are friendly and professional. Locked carpark. Only complaint was when we checked out the credit card machine defaulted to my local currency (not zar) so I was charged a few percent more than I should have been with poor exchange rate and big commission. I honestly think this was not the hotel but the bank who supplied the credit card machine. And I am sure if I was paying attention I could have stopped the default and got the bill in South African rand, so pay attention when checking out. Recommended would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoll365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Scoll365

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek with us.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations and please do accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused at check out. Rest assured that this matter has been resolved.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Franschhoek.

Management and TEAM


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed just one night and wished we had time to stay longer! From checking in to departure the service was first class. Delightful helpful staff checked us in and arranged for our luggage to be taken upstairs. Large, recently renovated room, with some of the best electrical sockets ever! We could have charged 12 individual appliances! US and European options as well as UK and South African. No more crawling under tables to find an elusive single socket! Wonderful duvets and large shower. Very convenient location within walking distance of town. Breakfast was superb. Again, delightful, polite waiting staff who seemed genuinely pleased to be of assistance. They coped valiantly with demanding tour group members without a flicker of annoyance or impatience-very commendable! We called at reception on the way back to our room after breakfast and asked for luggage assistance and the two ladies were there in minutes. An outstanding team of people. Management should be proud of them!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TravellingoneSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear TravellingoneSwansea

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay.

We appreciate the feedback provided and are most grateful for the recognition given to our TEAM.

We thank you for your support and wish you all the best in your travels.

Kind regards

Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Recently took the family for a quick getaway to Franschhoek! We arrived on Friday evening to very friendly staff who quickly booked us in and made us welcome. Our stay at the hotel was very pleasant. The staff was easy to talk to and very helpful. The hotel is not halal so be prepared to buy what you need or bring what you need. The hotel is quite central so we walked to the Saturday Market which a 2 minute walk and a cute chocolate factory shop which is also a 2 minute walk away. There are also no fast food shops close by - the closest is a short drive to Stellenbosch which then allows you to visit Stellenbosch too :)
All-in-all, a very pleasant stay!
Thanks to the staff at Protea Hotel Franschhoek!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Wasiemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Wasiemal

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek.

Your wonderful feedback has been shared with the TEAM, to continue motivate and inspire them as every process put in place is aimed to provide you with an unforgettable hotel experience.

Once again thank you for your valued feedback and come visit us soon!

Kind Regards

Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews