We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment at Cafe Franschhoek ”
Review of Cafe Franschhoek

Cafe Franschhoek
Ranked #36 of 103 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Description: Modern unique and fresh cuisine from a world of tastes. Specialising in local South African dishes. Doing breakfast lunch and dinner. Also specialising in tapas style food and cocktails. Speciality coffee and home baked cakes. All produce fresh and local. All dishes made on site on order.
Restaurant details
Description: Modern unique and fresh cuisine from a world of tastes. Specialising in local South African dishes. Doing breakfast lunch and dinner. Also specialising in tapas style food and cocktails. Speciality coffee and home baked cakes. All produce fresh and local. All dishes made on site on order.
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Terrible experience. Disgraceful food at exorbitant prices. Yesterday my family and I went for lunch at Cafe Franschhoek with high expectations. We ordered 300g rump steak (R185 each) to be done rare, which came as: 150g, 1cm thin, well done pieces of rubber. And pork belly (R185) which was tough and extremely dry. As a side the veggies were grey, over cooked and looked like they were a few days old. Presentation was shocking.

It’s unfortunate that tourists are exposed to this and think that this our standard of culinary offer.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank TristenStrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Stopped at this extremely quaint cafe for a quick lunch during our winery tour. Service was excellent. Greek salad was very good to start. We both got focaccia flatbreads. They were just ok. Toppings were good but the “flatbread” wasn’t great and wasn’t at all like focaccia.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Tantewitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We were three couples meeting for a farewell drink before some of the group departed back to UK after a holiday together. The staff were very friendly and the menu was extensive. Prices were reasonable. Because it is set on the main road through Franschhoek it was a little noisy, so perhaps not the place to visit if you want a quiet drink.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank akay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely place, centrally located. We both had the fresh apple juice, which was great, and the breakfast croissant, which was to die for! Will be back

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank KirstyLeeGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

on the street location. good food, large menu, friendly staff, good prices, parking on the street, seemed safe. I'll be back

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Franschhoek also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing