We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sophie B
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

A magical stay at this wilderness camp

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2024
We loved our stay at Kalahari Tented Camp! We got lucky with tent #8 as it was directly opposite the waterhole (a couple in #13 said they were quite a distance from the waterhole and struggled to see anything at night as the light wasn't strong enough). We found the waterhole to be one of the busiest of all the places we stayed and although we didn't see any cats, we enjoyed watching the antelope, jackals, ostriches, and secretary birds who were frequent visitors. There was a brown hyena there on the second morning too.

The tents were clean and comfortable, and we slept really well there (despite the alarm calls of the jackals letting us know there was a leopard in camp). When we stayed it was 40 degrees and as there was no air con, it was too hot to stay in the tents during the day. But the balcony was in shade and we spent the hottest part of the day at the plunge pool. At night, as it was a canvas tent - it cooled down quickly and we even needed the duvet in the early morning. I liked the kitchen tent being off set from the sleeping tent, but you do need to be careful about leaving the door open as there were a couple of hungry looking jackal around the tents who would have loved the opportunity to get in there and raid the cupboards!

The camp manager on duty was friendly and welcoming, and came round to check on us a couple of times during our stay (which we found reassurring as this is an unfenced camp!) We also booked a night drive from Mata Mata, and the guide picked us up from our tent. We had a great lion sighting on that game drive and got to walk on the dunes at sunset.

Overall, my husband and I will remember our time at KTC fondly and are keen to come back!
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Tent #8 had a great view!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 606
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 606
  • Priceline
    R 1 605
152.9 km from Kalahari Tented Camp
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
100.6 km from Kalahari Tented Camp
Free parking
Pool
Swimming Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
96.3 km from Kalahari Tented Camp
Free parking
Pool
Lovely bedroom
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.0 km from Kalahari Tented Camp
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
70.8 km from Kalahari Tented Camp
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
Contact accommodation for availability.
142.4 km from Kalahari Tented Camp
Free parking
Pool
Schlafzimmer
Contact accommodation for availability.
Unit 2
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Die Privat Chalet
Contact accommodation for availability.
96.6 km from Kalahari Tented Camp
Free parking
View more hotels in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
105
61
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
61
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tented camp braai area jackals waterhole units animals kgalagadi silence
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2023

Sam was fabulous guide very knowledgeable and kind. The volume and types of animals was astounding. The staff in our camp were helpful and the food was tasty. I didn’t expect the food to be good. I would highly recommend this trip.

Room tip: Pack light.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DietitianTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2023

We booked the bit more expensive tent - and were disappointed. Yes, #1 has bigger bathroom with tub - but there is no internet connection (had to walk some 20 metres to #2) and worst of all, no view to waterhole!!
Luckily there was Gert, and for second night we got #11 - definitely top location!
The two-tent units are otherwise really great. Nice kitchen and bedroom units, not that far to each other and good braai area in between.
Be aware of jackals, never leave anything outdoors - they will come and eat it!

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2022 via mobile

If you go to Kgalagadi you should not miss some of those smaller camp opportunities such as this one here - but beware, they are mostly booked out months in advance!
The Tented camp offers a very nice and comfy double-bed tent with adjacent ablution block, a private terrace with a private kitchen-tent. And you have views onto the waterhole.
This is a very nice experience to stay in such smaller camp and you will marvel at the silence and the stars above you!

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shiput99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2021 via mobile

Totally different to what I expected. I expected it to be a basic tent with no frills. Not at all. It is not really glamping either. It was like home. Comfortable and inviting. We had a separate kitchen with everything that we needed and an outside braai area. I was a little worried about the kids safety since it was intended. There was nothing to worry about. The jackals are always visiting but we’re rather friendly than aggressive. I had to keep reminding the kids they were wild animals. We had a plain in front of us with a watering hole and we could watch animals coming in and out. The pool was way too cold so we popped into Mata Mata and enjoyed that pool instead. Over the two days we spent there we went from 40 degree weather to hailstorms and thunderstorms. It was beautiful. The evenings were filled with the sounds of jackals. We never ran out of power because we were on solar and we could make a phone call if necessary.
My kids have decided that next time we are staying at Mata-Mata. According to them, the meerkats are there, bird hide, air con and obviously the pool.
In my opinion, I prefer the seclusion and serenity of the Kalahari tented camp. Food for the soul.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Crazyredpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2021 via mobile

We've just spend 3 nights at KTC and it was our second tour there this year!
Its just always fabulous, we love it!
The staff is awesome and the pool was clean and cold everyday, it was 40°C haha
Will definitely be back again next year.
The jackal population has exploded! Do not feed the Jackals!

Room tip: Be careful of the jackals, they will get into your kitchen if you leave the gate or kitchen door open!
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MichMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews