We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
europeholidays
South Africa

Nossob is Lion Area

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Jun 2022
A large camp, with beautiful river chalets (dry river bed - it is the Kalahari)
Large camping area with a few good trees, but remember cold in winter - really hot in summer. The local ladies bake buns and bread, order at reception the day before.
Staff very efficient and friendly. No cellphone signal, but a WIFI voucher can be bought at reception.
Note: Book months in advance, the camp is always full.
Date of stay: April 2022
Room Tip: River View Chalets are really nice!
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
    188.7 km from Nossob Rest Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    122.7 km from Nossob Rest Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    Tent 15
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    70.8 km from Nossob Rest Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    Swimming Pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    116.8 km from Nossob Rest Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    Lovely bedroom
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    71.0 km from Nossob Rest Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    getlstd_property_photo
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    168.0 km from Nossob Rest Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    Schlafzimmer
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    Unit 2
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    Free parking
    Die Privat Chalet
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    117.0 km from Nossob Rest Camp
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
    Reviews (237)
    Filter reviews
    237 results
    Traveller rating
    59
    94
    59
    19
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    59
    94
    59
    19
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews excellent condition dry river bed hide nossob site camp shop lion waterhole road buns trees gate kalahari riverfront closure bake
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 237 reviews
    Reviewed 4 October 2021

    We stayed in the riverfront chalets which was a treat! We spent hours on our patio overlooking the watering hole in the dry river bed and were treated to various game sightings, including a leopard on the hunt for his next meal. Beautiful accommodation, very spacious and clean. Basic camp, small pool, no electricity at night, but overall, this was an incredible stay. Loved the chalet!

    Date of stay: September 2021
    Thank DW04
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 August 2021 via mobile

    The renovated river front bungalows are in my view the best sanparks accommodation available. Clean spacious and an amazing balcony.

    Camp was full despite COVID, clean and spotless and the pool was well maintained.

    Shop far better stocked than mata mata.

    Game viewing was exceptional as always and everyday we saw lion and leopard / trick is to be out early and drive slowly.

    My only negative is the camp site is getting very very full and crowded. We love our camping but not sure I’d chose here given the space between the sites and how crowded it was.

    Date of stay: April 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Journeyman-Saffa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 July 2021

    Our riverside bungalow was very well maintained and clean. Covid protocol allowed us to look after ourselves for five days, which we did. Normally it is better to be close to the hide, but we were # 19 at the far end. Still line of site to the water trough, but then we had the treat of a pair of spotted eagle owls roosting in a tree just 20m away between # 19 and # 20. We saw them each night and early morning. Beautiful! Our first real winter visit and all I can say is pack warm. Our last early morning was -11 deg C. One negative is that the WiFi was poor, but then what do you expect 160 Km from anywhere? Leave the thing alone! That's the whole point!

    Room tip: Book on the first minute of the first day that bookings for your desired month open.
    Date of stay: June 2021
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Dave_CPT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 October 2020

    We enjoyed 3 nights in a riverfront chalet (no river, but dry riverbed) at Nossob, and were SO happy to have AC in the bedroom (as it was as hot as 44 C during our visit). The chalet was comfortable, luxurious even (with DSTV and AC), and well furnished. It was too hot to sit outside and braai, but the kitchen had everything we needed. We had some incredible sightings all over the area, and were awakened during our last night by a very loud male lion roaring just behind our chalet (3-4 meters from our deck)....very exciting at 2am! The bird hide was a nice place to stop in and see which animals were at the waterhole. The roads were difficult (thick sand) in places, but we managed to drive (without 4x4, only a small SUV crossover, with tires deflated as recommended) all over the area north and south of the camp, enjoying the animals and scenery. The pool was a welcome relief for a cooling dip in the afternoon. Wifi worked ok near the reception and shop. We'll go back!

    Room tip: Riverfront chalets are new and great
    Date of stay: October 2020
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Jennifer L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 March 2020

    Nossob has never disappointed. The wild life activity is always better at Nossob. The swimming pool is clean. The NEW Shop has every thing needed for Self-catering. Old chalets is still clean and well service with affordable rates. The new Riverside Chalets is priced a bit out of reach to the average South African income group therefore more occupied by overseas travelers.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Thank Frans L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews