We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
129
60
23
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
60
23
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt pan game drives remote place unique experience sand dunes the managers morning walk there is no air conditioning hot water bottles craft village local community vegetarian food sunset drive stunning position family room living museum welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely lodge a few lions and hyena but that part of the world is about space,stars, big vista's and all the small things that makes the arid dunes of the kalahari. Rooms comfortable, food great. The guides are knowledgeable especially John. All in all a feel good place

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Chenin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My boyfriend and I spent 4 days at Xaus Lodge and loved every minute of it, from the early morning dune walks to getting into bed with hot water bottles at night! We were warmly welcome by Anthony who spent time telling us all about the fascinating background of the lodge and the land before going through our comprehensive itinerary. Our days were a perfect mix of activities and time to relax in the beautiful setting overlooking the dunes and watching animals from the sun deck. The food was fabulous and the staff were friendly and attentive the whole time.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lottie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We stayed one night in the lodge, which is located next to a salt pan, which is special plus the stunning sky at nighttime with its stars. Long drive from collecting point to the lodge, which is not indicated by booking information. Hardly any wildlife, except birds and steenboks. we did enjoy the morning walk with a local san.
Despite the manager explained a part of the money is going to the local community its in our eyes overrated. Stuff + hosts are friendly and helpful, food is good. Frankly we were glad booked only one night for this money.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

This is the place where you experience nature and wildlife far from the nearest neighbor. Which gives a special and genuine feeling to be close to mother nature. However, the accommodation is very good with all the amenities you need and the food will not disappoint you either. The guides on !XAUS complete the overall impression of this lodge and make it very easy to recommend staying here to experience something beyond the usual.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

This isolated venue, situated on the rim of a red dune above one of the Kalahari's salt pans, is for people who love semi-arid landscapes and spectacular night skies. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, wonderful night drives.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ireen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews