We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
!Xaus Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kimberley Club(Kimberley)
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishops Lodge(Kimberley)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nook B&B(Kimberley)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
114
52
20
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
52
20
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt pangame drivesremote placesand dunesour night staythere is no air conditioningfamily roomnight skiessunset drivestunning positionmorning walkliving museuman unforgettable experienceoverall impressionfabulous staylocal communityvegetarian food
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

!Xaus lodge is probably as far away from civilisation as we've ever been. No phones, no Wifi, only salt water in the shower and limited hours of electricity.

You leave your car just off the main road and is driven to the lodge on the back of a 4x4 over 90 dunes. The lodge is build on a dune overlooking a salt pan.

We had unexpected cold and wet weather while we were there but they provided us with blankets on the game drives. We didn't see a lot of wild animals while we were there because it is so vast. We had an unscheduled game drive trying to find the lions we could hear in the distance but with no luck.

The visit to the Bushmen workshop felt like exploitation and made me very uncomfortable. This raised more questions with my kids than I could answer.

The choice of food available on the menu was understandably limited but still delicious. Despite the remoteness of the lodge, there were plenty of other refreshments snacks throughout our time there.

If you want to experience the Kalgadi in luxury, this is the place to go to! Only bring your children if they are adventurous and be prepared to spend hours walking and on the back of a 4x4 without seeing alot. A must for the adventurous family that enjoys their comforts.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Cobus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

iXaus is a community lodge situated where the San and Mier Heritage Lands meet. Guides will meet you at the Kamqua picnic site and the lodge is a roughly 30km drive west from the Auob River over 90 dunes. It is situated on dune 91 and overlooks one of the salt pans.

The lodge consists of 12 wooden chalets connected via a raised walkway. The rooms all face the salt pan and have a comfortable bed and bathroom area, with a covered patio. The rooms face the setting sun and give great views. There is no air-conditioning, but the rooms have a ceiling fan. The shower, toilet and basin water is salty and soft. Normal water is provided for drinking and brushing teeth etc.

The lodge has no permanent electricity supply and is reliant on its generators which operate for an hour or two in the morning and for around 4 hours in the early evening. This was more than sufficient for our use, but sadly does not allow for air-conditioning.

The central buildings contain the dining area (indoor and outdoor area), the swimming pool, small gift shop and offices. It was extremely hot during our 3-day stay, yet the swimming pool water remained cool and very refreshing.

The lodge offers various activities which are included in the price. We did the early morning dune walk, visited the bushman craft village, did the evening dune sundowner drive (twice) and an evening game drive. They offer a "long" game drive (free if you stay 4 nights or on a paid basis for shorter stays). It takes you back to and along the Auob River. There is much time in the middle of the day to relax at the pool or in your room with a book etc.

Our guide was Johan who was very knowledgeable and helpful and went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.

The management team of Anthony and Suzi were great and always around and this lodge is well run. There are many challenges in the background given that the lodge provisions (including ice) come from either Askham (5-hour return trip) or Uppington (8-hour return trip), but you would never have guessed.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Remote, placed on top of Dune 99 in the Kgalagadi National Park.

We were greeted as we arrived at the lodge by the very charming and informative Richard, and Claudine (resident Guinea fowl). Richard informed us of our program of activities and gave us the run down of the lodge and its history.

We had a delicious dinner and then went off on our night drive. This was our first interaction with Melissa (Ou Sus). The woman is an encyclopedia of knowledge and has a great excitement for her job and the rolling red hills of the Kgalagadi.

Our itinerary for our 4 day stay included a morning walk, visit to the "Bushmen Village", numerous sunset drives and a long day drive through the Kgalagadi Park. We saw an abundance of wildlife - lion (22 in one day!) jackal, wild cats, hyenas, gemsbok, birds, etc.. - all look healthy and chubby despite the arid harsh surroundings.

Our room was comfortable, clean, unique and completely embodies the lodges minimal carbon footprint policy. True there is no aircon but I would gladly give that up to not miss the sounds of the jackal and the hyena calling, as the aircon will surely drown that out.

A tranquil escape with great food, abundant wildlife, knowledgeable staff and an amazing host.

This is a place like no other and it is an experience of a lifetime.

Melissa and Richard you are both one of a kind, as is !Xaus!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Munro83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We (two couples) have just spent 3 night's at iXaus Lodge and had a wonderful relaxing stay.our guide Koos was very knowledgeable and with a great sense of humour. Rooms were very comfortable (luckily not the end chalet where the lions camped out for a day!!) Food very good overall and plentiful. Sure there is no wi .fi, tv and showering in salt water is a new experience but that is what made it so special. Far from the maddening crowds! Everything is included in the price and we found it good value for money. Thanks Anthony,Susie and your great team, we loved it. Barbara,Glen,Andre and Riana

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank bjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

If you are interested in seeing wildlife this place is NOT for you. It is remote, quiet and perfectly situated to experience the real Kalahari. That said, for the price, this private reserve is a long cry from what it boats to be. The game drives are minimal unless you stay 4 nights. Be prepared to be hot in warm months until the winds come up and your room can cool off. The electricity goes off at 22:00h and if your room is not cooled off by then it can take hours. Also, bring your own guide books, they do not have any for you to take on your game drives. Of note: guides are excellent, staff is friendly and hosts are very helpful and accommodating. All that said, save your money and go elsewhere unless you are looking for a remote area to sit in peace all day.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 472nik22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews