We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel@Tzaneen(Tzaneen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magoebaskloof Hotel(Magoebaskloof)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bolivia Lodge(Polokwane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
155
49
10
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
49
10
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse mealfantastic locationenjoy the viewawesome viewsmichelin starperfect servicefour courseshigh classfresh salmonset in beautiful groundsan unexpected delightshows howoutstanding fooddirt roadgreat stopoverlong weekendopen fire
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to visit, it's intimate, the service is brilliant, the touches around the place immaculate. Had dinner there with my wife and two kids, a four course meal and it was splendid, served goat cheese wrapped in salmon for starters and we loved it the rest of the course. A must visit

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank tadiwa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Unfortunately we arrived very late for our 1 night stay however a delicious, hot, 4 course meal was ready for us and served with a wonderful smile. The rooms are exceptional but better suited for a romantic getaway, if you cannot live without TV. We had to leave before the official breakfast time the next morning and again, we were served a wonderful breakfast at the time we requested. The service is superb and I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank carolas199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Only needed a stay for one night in Tzaneen. Did a whole lot of searching and glad we found Kings Walden.
Tranquility, beautiful views and old charm.
The rooms are very spacious and certainly dont follow any area limitation formula of modern hotels.
The gardens are huge and definitely worth a meander, could do with a bit of maintenance, this was however early spring and had no rain in months.
There is effort in the food preparation and not just a general fry-up with the breakfast.
If I must be critical, I would have liked a bar fridge to keep my drinks chilled and my own TV in the room.
Yes, I would return again and would stay longer if the opportunity came.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tyrone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Kings Walden was by far the best accomodation of our South-Africa trip! We spent two nights in a cosy room with excellent beds. Even the 2 extra beds for the kids were very comfortable. The views from the terrace/garden are really stunning. You could spend your whole day in the garden reading a book with a good glass of wine. The food is absolutely delicious, both breakfast and dinner. Staff is very friendly, service is excellent and relaxed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniDub40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

During our 2 weeks holiday in South Africa this was definately the place were we had the most delicious food. The staff is adorable and the setting of the place is just great. The garden is really a hidden treasure, it may indeed need some extra maintenance, but on the other hand that adds to the authencity.
The rooms are very comfortable and have a fireplace and the bathrooms almost as big as the room itself.
You can either use this place as a stop over between the Kruger and Blyde Canyon region towards J'burg but also as a place to take some days off, there's a lot of things to do around Tzaneen. If you are still hesitating, this really is the best value in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevenSSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews