We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$86
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tamboti Lodge(Tzaneen)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel@Tzaneen(Tzaneen)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwoods Country House(Tzaneen)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Christie's Inn(Tzaneen)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
158
49
10
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
49
10
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful locationenjoy the viewgreat place to visitawesome viewsmichelin starperfect servicefour courseshigh classfresh salmonset in beautiful groundsan unexpected delightshows howoutstanding foodcourse dinnerdirt roadgreat stopoverenjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Only needed a stay for one night in Tzaneen. Did a whole lot of searching and glad we found Kings Walden.
Tranquility, beautiful views and old charm.
The rooms are very spacious and certainly dont follow any area limitation formula of modern hotels.
The gardens are huge and definitely worth a meander, could do with a bit of maintenance, this was however early spring and had no rain in months.
There is effort in the food preparation and not just a general fry-up with the breakfast.
If I must be critical, I would have liked a bar fridge to keep my drinks chilled and my own TV in the room.
Yes, I would return again and would stay longer if the opportunity came.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tyrone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Kings Walden was by far the best accomodation of our South-Africa trip! We spent two nights in a cosy room with excellent beds. Even the 2 extra beds for the kids were very comfortable. The views from the terrace/garden are really stunning. You could spend your whole day in the garden reading a book with a good glass of wine. The food is absolutely delicious, both breakfast and dinner. Staff is very friendly, service is excellent and relaxed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniDub40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

During our 2 weeks holiday in South Africa this was definately the place were we had the most delicious food. The staff is adorable and the setting of the place is just great. The garden is really a hidden treasure, it may indeed need some extra maintenance, but on the other hand that adds to the authencity.
The rooms are very comfortable and have a fireplace and the bathrooms almost as big as the room itself.
You can either use this place as a stop over between the Kruger and Blyde Canyon region towards J'burg but also as a place to take some days off, there's a lot of things to do around Tzaneen. If you are still hesitating, this really is the best value in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevenSSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Stayed here two nights (family of four, with two sons aged 20 and 19) on our way to the greater Kruger Park area. Certainly worth visiting: cosy rooms, very good service, very friendly staff, also very helpful when planning activities in the neighbourhood, extremely good cook, beautiful gardens, very nice views. To be recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarcDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We stayed at Kings Walden for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were incredibly helpful : providing information on local hiking trails, serving breakfast earlier than listed and generally going beyond what we could reasonably expect. We had pre-booked dinner every evening and it was delicious. The house is clearly marked from the main road and has lovely gardens and amazing views.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews