We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Creme of Tzaneen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Ranked #1 of 15 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Only needed a stay for one night in Tzaneen. Did a whole lot of searching and glad we found Kings Walden.
Tranquility, beautiful views and old charm.
The rooms are very spacious and certainly dont follow any area limitation formula of modern hotels.
The gardens are huge and definitely worth a meander, could do with a bit of maintenance, this was however early spring and had no rain in months.
There is effort in the food preparation and not just a general fry-up with the breakfast.
If I must be critical, I would have liked a bar fridge to keep my drinks chilled and my own TV in the room.
Yes, I would return again and would stay longer if the opportunity came.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tyrone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016

Kings Walden was by far the best accomodation of our South-Africa trip! We spent two nights in a cosy room with excellent beds. Even the 2 extra beds for the kids were very comfortable. The views from the terrace/garden are really stunning. You could spend your whole day in the garden reading a book with a good glass of wine. The food is absolutely delicious, both breakfast and dinner. Staff is very friendly, service is excellent and relaxed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniDub40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

During our 2 weeks holiday in South Africa this was definately the place were we had the most delicious food. The staff is adorable and the setting of the place is just great. The garden is really a hidden treasure, it may indeed need some extra maintenance, but on the other hand that adds to the authencity.
The rooms are very comfortable and have a fireplace and the bathrooms almost as big as the room itself.
You can either use this place as a stop over between the Kruger and Blyde Canyon region towards J'burg but also as a place to take some days off, there's a lot of things to do around Tzaneen. If you are still hesitating, this really is the best value in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevenSSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Stayed here two nights (family of four, with two sons aged 20 and 19) on our way to the greater Kruger Park area. Certainly worth visiting: cosy rooms, very good service, very friendly staff, also very helpful when planning activities in the neighbourhood, extremely good cook, beautiful gardens, very nice views. To be recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarcDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We stayed at Kings Walden for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were incredibly helpful : providing information on local hiking trails, serving breakfast earlier than listed and generally going beyond what we could reasonably expect. We had pre-booked dinner every evening and it was delicious. The house is clearly marked from the main road and has lovely gardens and amazing views.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
2.3 km away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
18.9 km away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Tzaneen
160 reviews
16.4 km away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
108 reviews
2.1 km away
Sherwoods Country House
Sherwoods Country House
#5 of 15 in Tzaneen
43 reviews
17.9 km away
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
#1 of 1 in Magoebaskloof
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Walden Garden Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Walden Garden Manor

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Price Range: R1 947 - R2 252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Walden Garden Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain views and a romantic garden provide a charming backdrop for six luxury rooms at Kings Walden Garden Manor. Rooms that are made for romance and relaxation. Stretch out on extra-length, king size beds, relax in front of the fire with fine wine, good music and great company. Our decor is inspired by clean, elegant lines with modern European undertones - warm and earthy, velvet and leather, cream and black - and our bathrooms are spacious and sexy. The ideal 2-night stopover !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kings Walden Garden Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing