We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel@Tzaneen(Tzaneen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magoebaskloof Hotel(Magoebaskloof)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bolivia Lodge(Polokwane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
153
48
10
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
48
10
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse mealfantastic locationenjoy the viewawesome viewsmichelin starperfect servicefour courseshigh classfresh salmonset in beautiful groundsan unexpected delightshows howoutstanding fooddirt roadgreat stopoverlong weekendopen fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2014

First of all I would like to underline that Kings Walden is a beautiful place and they serve very good food. You can compare the kitchen with rather European standards. The area and the rooms of the Manor are really great. Very nice interior design, great luxury. So far the good sight of the visit. I stayed for 3 nights in Kings Walden, the second time in two years. During the whole stay we saw the manager for maximum 10 minutes, in three days 1 time. You can not manage a place if you are never there. Guests have no place to go when they have questions, besides kitchen or garden staff, there is no one to turn to. Staff was very friendly and helpful, but they can not help for more general questions. My friend and I felt abandoned, to feel you are welcome somewhere is important for us when we travel. Staying in a beautiful house, but without any warm atmosphere and some good suggestions of places to visit in the area doesn't give a good feeling. The reception area was always empty, just at the end of our stay to pay the bill we could find somebody. Not even a map to explore the area was available. Kings Walden is a place that shows how not to manage such a beautiful Manor, with a great kitchen. If the Manor doesn't have the excellent kitchen, it will soon go down and I wonder if guests still will visit this management-less place.

Room Tip: room besides the pool
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dsann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswalden, Owner at Kings Walden Garden Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly thank you for all your lovely comments about our boutique hotel. We do regret that you were unsatisfied with your stay. We would like to sincerely apologize that you did not get the personalized attention you as our valued guest deserves. We take pride in our business and as mentioned by you our food, garden and rooms.

We as the business owners were unfortunately away at an annual church conference during your stay and we had left our business in the care of a manager. We have investigated and found that this manager was not as present as we had wished for. This is no excuse, however this is what had happened. We have addressed the absence of this manager and taken the necessary steps.

We do hope that we will be able to host you again at Kings Walden. Kindly contact us directly for your next visit.

We hope that the rest of your trip was well received and you have left with just the best memories of our beautiful province and country.

Kind Regards
Billy and Minette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Warm and welcoming, great accommodation with superb views and garden, excellent food and friendly service, Thanks to Billy, Minette, Leoni and all the other staff for our most enjoyable stay.
When we next visit Tzaneen we would stay at Kings Walden again,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamTibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 day stay at King's Walden. Hospitality was great. I was grateful for no TV in the room this left us more time to lounge by the pool, walk the magnificent gardens, and enjoy the fireplace in the room. Free internet worked very well. Breakfasts were culinary delights (complete with the edible flowers). 4 course dinner was very well prepared and tasty (but a little expensive - R320/person). We were delighted by a massive rainstorm, brilliant sunshine, and breathtaking views. The staff were friendly and attentive; always trying to please and give us individual attention and information. The King's Walden bottled water and nougat chew on the pillow is a nice touch. (The tap water is also good!) We had a nice frog chorus at night. This hotel is about 12 km from the Tzaneen city centre.

Room Tip: rooms 5 and 6 in the main building have fantastic views of the garden.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SequimWATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of my favourite lodges in South Africa. Absolutely breathtaking views, top location. Lovely gardens too. Food is excellent and staff helpful and friendly. Rooms are fine, quite large and fully functional, with fire places. Wifi and mobile phones work best towards the front and not well towards the back. No TVs (maybe a good thing when there is so much peace and quiet). Located also in a beautiful part of Limpopo province within easy reach of the northern Kruger Park. good stopover place to relax for a couple of days and break your journey

Room Tip: Go for a garden facing room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

difficult to reach by most standards, but So worth it once you arrive. beautiful house and welcoming hospitality. the rooms were modern, sexy and well-appointed. the bathrooms were like a visit to a spa. the food and wine selection was superb. my only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cedpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews