We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and sophisticated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Ranked #2 of 15 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Elegant and sophisticated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2014

Enchanting place, combining an isolated location with modern elegant and big rooms and evocative old and nicely decadent gardens. Food and service is very good, for dinner and breakfast. Strongly recommended

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similarly excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordi_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    35
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
39
92
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2014

First of all I would like to underline that Kings Walden is a beautiful place and they serve very good food. You can compare the kitchen with rather European standards. The area and the rooms of the Manor are really great. Very nice interior design, great luxury. So far the good sight of the visit. I stayed for 3 nights in Kings Walden, the second time in two years. During the whole stay we saw the manager for maximum 10 minutes, in three days 1 time. You can not manage a place if you are never there. Guests have no place to go when they have questions, besides kitchen or garden staff, there is no one to turn to. Staff was very friendly and helpful, but they can not help for more general questions. My friend and I felt abandoned, to feel you are welcome somewhere is important for us when we travel. Staying in a beautiful house, but without any warm atmosphere and some good suggestions of places to visit in the area doesn't give a good feeling. The reception area was always empty, just at the end of our stay to pay the bill we could find somebody. Not even a map to explore the area was available. Kings Walden is a place that shows how not to manage such a beautiful Manor, with a great kitchen. If the Manor doesn't have the excellent kitchen, it will soon go down and I wonder if guests still will visit this management-less place.

Room Tip: room besides the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswalden, Owner at Kings Walden Garden Manor, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly thank you for all your lovely comments about our boutique hotel. We do regret that you were unsatisfied with your stay. We would like to sincerely apologize that you did not get the personalized attention you as our valued guest deserves. We take pride in our business and as mentioned by you our food, garden and rooms.

We as the business owners were unfortunately away at an annual church conference during your stay and we had left our business in the care of a manager. We have investigated and found that this manager was not as present as we had wished for. This is no excuse, however this is what had happened. We have addressed the absence of this manager and taken the necessary steps.

We do hope that we will be able to host you again at Kings Walden. Kindly contact us directly for your next visit.

We hope that the rest of your trip was well received and you have left with just the best memories of our beautiful province and country.

Kind Regards
Billy and Minette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2014

Warm and welcoming, great accommodation with superb views and garden, excellent food and friendly service, Thanks to Billy, Minette, Leoni and all the other staff for our most enjoyable stay.
When we next visit Tzaneen we would stay at Kings Walden again,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamTibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 day stay at King's Walden. Hospitality was great. I was grateful for no TV in the room this left us more time to lounge by the pool, walk the magnificent gardens, and enjoy the fireplace in the room. Free internet worked very well. Breakfasts were culinary delights (complete with the edible flowers). 4 course dinner was very well prepared and tasty (but a little expensive - R320/person). We were delighted by a massive rainstorm, brilliant sunshine, and breathtaking views. The staff were friendly and attentive; always trying to please and give us individual attention and information. The King's Walden bottled water and nougat chew on the pillow is a nice touch. (The tap water is also good!) We had a nice frog chorus at night. This hotel is about 12 km from the Tzaneen city centre.

Room Tip: rooms 5 and 6 in the main building have fantastic views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SequimWATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of my favourite lodges in South Africa. Absolutely breathtaking views, top location. Lovely gardens too. Food is excellent and staff helpful and friendly. Rooms are fine, quite large and fully functional, with fire places. Wifi and mobile phones work best towards the front and not well towards the back. No TVs (maybe a good thing when there is so much peace and quiet). Located also in a beautiful part of Limpopo province within easy reach of the northern Kruger Park. good stopover place to relax for a couple of days and break your journey

Room Tip: Go for a garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
18.9 km away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.2 km away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
16.4 km away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
11.3 km away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#1 of 15 in Tzaneen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
8.8 km away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Walden Garden Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Walden Garden Manor

Property: Kings Walden Garden Manor
Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Price range (per night): R1 861 - R2 059
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Walden Garden Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain views and a romantic garden provide a charming backdrop for six luxury rooms at Kings Walden Garden Manor. Rooms that are made for romance and relaxation. Stretch out on extra-length, king size beds, relax in front of the fire with fine wine, good music and great company. Our decor is inspired by clean, elegant lines with modern European undertones - warm and earthy, velvet and leather, cream and black - and our bathrooms are spacious and sexy. The ideal 2-night stopover !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Walden Garden Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing