We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel@Tzaneen(Tzaneen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magoebaskloof Hotel(Magoebaskloof)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bolivia Lodge(Polokwane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
154
48
10
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
48
10
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse mealfantastic locationenjoy the viewawesome viewsmichelin starperfect servicefour courseshigh classfresh salmonset in beautiful groundsan unexpected delightshows howoutstanding fooddirt roadgreat stopoverlong weekendopen fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Warm and welcoming, great accommodation with superb views and garden, excellent food and friendly service, Thanks to Billy, Minette, Leoni and all the other staff for our most enjoyable stay.
When we next visit Tzaneen we would stay at Kings Walden again,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamTibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 day stay at King's Walden. Hospitality was great. I was grateful for no TV in the room this left us more time to lounge by the pool, walk the magnificent gardens, and enjoy the fireplace in the room. Free internet worked very well. Breakfasts were culinary delights (complete with the edible flowers). 4 course dinner was very well prepared and tasty (but a little expensive - R320/person). We were delighted by a massive rainstorm, brilliant sunshine, and breathtaking views. The staff were friendly and attentive; always trying to please and give us individual attention and information. The King's Walden bottled water and nougat chew on the pillow is a nice touch. (The tap water is also good!) We had a nice frog chorus at night. This hotel is about 12 km from the Tzaneen city centre.

Room Tip: rooms 5 and 6 in the main building have fantastic views of the garden.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SequimWATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of my favourite lodges in South Africa. Absolutely breathtaking views, top location. Lovely gardens too. Food is excellent and staff helpful and friendly. Rooms are fine, quite large and fully functional, with fire places. Wifi and mobile phones work best towards the front and not well towards the back. No TVs (maybe a good thing when there is so much peace and quiet). Located also in a beautiful part of Limpopo province within easy reach of the northern Kruger Park. good stopover place to relax for a couple of days and break your journey

Room Tip: Go for a garden facing room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

difficult to reach by most standards, but So worth it once you arrive. beautiful house and welcoming hospitality. the rooms were modern, sexy and well-appointed. the bathrooms were like a visit to a spa. the food and wine selection was superb. my only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cedpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked a weekend over Father's day this June 2014.
So disappointed and saddened by how this establishment has been run down.
Menu, including dinner, hasn't been changed since I last visited four years ago. Same pea soup and shank for dinner and tomyum soup the next. Could not fault the food, but disappointed it's the literally the same.
Were told that the lodge was full, there were three couples, including us. with literally only two people running the lodge, breakfast took well over an hour to come out. the fourth table fro breakfast was a family of four that had popped into the establishment for breakfast. they sent half their food back as orders came out wrong.
Finding staff during the day was non-existent. people were popping in during the day for coffee and drinks and leaving. we were totally left unattended.
trying to order drinks was a joke too: no coke zero or coke light, no savanas (other guests requests), no coffee for rooms (when I asked, the staff never got back to me), no normal black tea for breakfast (staff actually went and fetched their own 'joko' tea bags so that we could have tea).
Rooms, no towels were available. I went searching for towels and found an employee working in a laundry room close to the staff quarters. She gave me two mismatched, hard as hell, towels.
On this first night, got a knock on the window, who now I believe was the owner, quickly telling us the dinner specials and then apologised to tell us that he has a broken pipe to fix on another site. We never saw him or management until we checked out.

Let me tell you in the past this place was a gem. the gardens where immaculate, the rooms were too. They used to light your fires in your rooms, soft towels and even lit candles in the bathrooms. Meals were presented to you and drinks were offered in the lounge before hand. Staff would offer interesting, local sites to visit and places to eat etc.

I am sorry to say that the new owners/managers clearly don't share the passion of the previous European gentleman, and if they do, have no idea how to run an establishment of its kind.

If you expect guests from Johannesburg etc. to drive the four to five hours to simply gaze at the one thing going for you, the dead tree, you are simply mistake.

Room Tip: Don't take room three, looks onto kitchen. request one of the two rooms in the main building, overlooking gardens.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NormanFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswalden, Owner at Kings Walden Garden Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your constructive criticism . We do appreciate each and every bit of feedback we get and hold it in high regard for us to continue being the best voted hotel in Tzaneen. We do regret that you had a less than favourable experience at our pride and joy and would therefore like to clarify some of your experiences.

The breakfasts at Kings Walden which we have become somewhat renowned for take time, each dish is hand crafted and made to order. Many herbs and veggies in the gardeners omelette, for example, come out of our garden. To minimize wastage, this gets picked freshly by either the kitchen ladies or our other staff. Like a good wine, it takes time. However we do sincerely apologize for the wait although this is the reality behind the long time frame.

We apologize for not having your fire lit. We have changed the system slightly as we have had guests who don't like their rooms being entered or having a room which is too hot, so we do it upon request. There may have been a misunderstanding that you assumed it will be done as per the previous owner, however we prefer to give each guest a unique experience and ask that they request a fire if needed.

We admit there was no coffee in the rooms. We don't generally put coffee in the rooms but rather cappuccino sachets. We like to encourage guests to enjoy the view of the Letsitele valley and enjoy some real Free Trade home brewed coffee instead.

As our establishment is green and environmentally friendly we only provide one set of towels. In the room leaflet we ask guests to put used towels in the bath and will be replaced the following day. Perhaps you did not see that instruction. We allow our towels to dry through the sun and this does make them hard, however prior to guests arriving we pop them in the tumble dryer to make them fluffy and soft. Unfortunately you caught our staff off guard as we have never had a request for fresh towels twice in one day. Once again our sincere apologies and will in future keep a fresh fluffy set on hand for cases like this.

Over the years we have decided to stock certain beverages according to sales and what our mainly European guests drink. Savanna, sadly was not one of them as they generally prefer Hunters Dry, which is why we stock it instead. We are a small guest house and not a bar, per say, therefore we have limits to what stock we can carry. We had a large group come for drinks prior to your arrival and sadly ran out of the one soft drink you requested. We will ensure that this doesn't happen again and have already addressed this matter.

As owners we are regretful that you felt that you did not get enough of our time. We love spending time with our guests and hospitality is in our blood so naturally spending time with our patrons is a priority. Lucky for us we live in this paradise however it does not come without it's challenges. It's rural and pipes burst. We have to rely on our own knowledge to fix it as plumbers etc. are reluctant to come out and tend to plumbing issues at such short notice. I can see how that may have made you feel neglected however to supply water to the lodge is and was a priority that I needed to attend to urgently.

As you know our food is our pride and joy, we have regulars who come bi-monthly who want what they want! :-) We have added a number of new dishes to our starters, mains and soups. However over the years there are just those little winners that would really be a shame to not make. They are classic dishes that guests just love! It would be a real shame to remove them from our menu. Perhaps on your next visit we can make something special by request as we have for so many others who have already tasted the dishes served. What a coincidence that you had exactly the same menu you had four years ago. We do apologize for this bizarre occurrence.

We apologize that you felt that you had a bad experience at Kings Walden and we do hope that we have brought some clarity on your time here. Please feel free to contact us directly if there is anything else we can help you with or any other way in which we can improve to continue to be the best there is in Tzaneen.

Kindest Regards
Billy and Minette Mckechnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews