We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$279
View deal
Booking.comUS$280
eDreamsUS$280
PricelineUS$280
Agoda.comUS$279
TravelocityUS$279
CheapTicketsUS$279
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
345
73
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
345
73
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse ride main building each evening family run a wonderful stay royal natal national park south africa mountain biking stunning views minute drive guided walk fly fishing the cottages beautiful place lodge walks drakensberg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service all around the property was always friendly and prompt. The chalet view and amenities was excellent and spotless. A very peaceful location and if you like walking an excellent place to go from easy walks to tough walks with guides. Food was always excellent especially the al a carte evening menus always different. The best was the peaceful atmosphere especially at night time. The least impressive was having to leave after 5 nights as well as no Guinness and no lemon flavoured Flying Fish alcoholic drinks, although they had some very good craft beer/ale bottles.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daveboardman2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dave,
Thanks for coming back to stay with us!
It was a delight to host you again.
Thanks for sharing about your visit. You certainly managed several great hiking adventures:)
We hope to see you again soon...I'm sure we can rustle up some Guiness for the next time.
All the best,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2021

All round excellence. The accommodation was really good and very comfortable with fabulous views of the mountains. The room was well appointed and clean. The meals were superb and my wife's request for gluten free meals was dealt with amazingly, the chef is an absolute gem.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrewcbuildcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Dear Andrew,
Thanks so much for sharing about your time with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that Chef Lungi delivered:) We hope to welcome you back again soon!
All the best,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

Montusi Mountain Lodge was great and we absolutely love the mountain biking in the whole area. All Out Adventures is really close by to hook up on the trails and the centre is a wonderful place for children of all ages. The food at the Lodge was delicious and we were made to feel very welcome at all times. The views of the mountains all around the lodge are beautiful.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MondiMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Thanks so much for coming back to Montusi! It was an absolute treat to host you again and we are so glad you enjoyed the MTB trails, despite the crazy rains. We look forward to welcoming you back again, especially when we get the bike wash facility sorted;)
All the best,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

We often go to The Cavern. This time we decided to stay at Montusi. What a wonderful surprise. Lovely setting.
Great accommodation.
They had very good rains and one can hardly describe the different colours of green. Views over the mountains one can keep on writing stories about. Great cappuccino. Had a good rest and visit. 2nd place of many happy returns.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 927cynthial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Cynthia,
Thanks so much for sharing about your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed it as much as you have The Cavern. We are living the continued legacy of our grandparents who started the Cavern all those years ago.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2021

We stayed at Montusi for 5 days and could have easily stayed longer.

What made our stay better than excellent:
1. The activity pack with colouring pens for my little one. Happy children = happy parent.
2. Daily guided hikes that accommodate all guests including children
3. Management & staff who are genuinely interested in their guests and making the stay fabulous
4. Excellent vegetarian and vegan food options
5. Guided evening runs

I am hoping to be back in the near future!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lisakG3778XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Dear Lisa,
Thanks so much for your review of Montusi.
It is our favourite when people love it here:)
I'm so glad you enjoyed the little touches...and our run! Even though it was a little soggy underfoot.
We hope to welcome your whole family back again one day.
All the best,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews