We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
339
71
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
339
71
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding garden suite royal natal park main building each evening family run loved every minute a wonderful stay south africa stunning views guided walk stayed longer the cottages lounge area fly fishing beautiful place cave paintings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We often go to The Cavern. This time we decided to stay at Montusi. What a wonderful surprise. Lovely setting.
Great accommodation.
They had very good rains and one can hardly describe the different colours of green. Views over the mountains one can keep on writing stories about. Great cappuccino. Had a good rest and visit. 2nd place of many happy returns.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 927cynthial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Cynthia,
Thanks so much for sharing about your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed it as much as you have The Cavern. We are living the continued legacy of our grandparents who started the Cavern all those years ago.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2021

We stayed at Montusi for 5 days and could have easily stayed longer.

What made our stay better than excellent:
1. The activity pack with colouring pens for my little one. Happy children = happy parent.
2. Daily guided hikes that accommodate all guests including children
3. Management & staff who are genuinely interested in their guests and making the stay fabulous
4. Excellent vegetarian and vegan food options
5. Guided evening runs

I am hoping to be back in the near future!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lisakG3778XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Dear Lisa,
Thanks so much for your review of Montusi.
It is our favourite when people love it here:)
I'm so glad you enjoyed the little touches...and our run! Even though it was a little soggy underfoot.
We hope to welcome your whole family back again one day.
All the best,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2021

Went hiking in the Royal Natal National Park. Stayed here as the rooms were much better than that in the park itself. About a 15 minute drive through the village and fields to the park entrance gate. The chalets are fairly modern, with good finishes. Lovely views of the lower berg and amphitheatre . The food was much better than expected, and the service was personalised and good. Management were on-site and responsive. Will stay there again

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AngusB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Dear Angus,
Thanks very much for choosing Montusi as your base for your Royal Natal National Park adventures! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very lucky to have this location with our views and space.
We hope to welcome you back again one day.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Overall this is a fantastic Lodge with amazing views of the mountain. There was a variety of food options to suit many dietary requirements. The owners are very hands on when it comes to the customer experience. The hikes were well-marked and catered for various fitness levels.

Room tip: Newer rooms facing the mountain are spacious & good furnishing
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshMaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Hi Ash,
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed hosting your family and hope to see you all again soon.
All the best for 2021,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

I’m leaving this beautiful haven feeling relaxed and revived.Oscar the cat was the cherry on the top.Great service from Ammilette our server who greeted us morning and at dinner time and smiled with her beautiful eyes coz of covid19 regulations wearing her mask. To the overwhelming view of the mountain that really intimidated me, and really tested my body,I totally recommend doing the hiking trails the clean fresh air lush green vegetation and plant species are so amazing.the best part of all the cool fresh wild waters that flow with so much force out the mountain.
Montusi a must stay good food clean comfortable beds and stunning views of the darkens berg.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rossouwrustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Dear Rustin,
Thanks so much for including Montusi in your KZN adventure.
It was an absolute treat to host you and share our mountains with you. Thank you for loving your hike and the unadulterated beauty of the pristine wilderness in her full summertime glory.
I will pass your compliments onto Ammilette. I'm so glad her kind heart shone through the mask!
We hope to welcome you back to Montusi in the future.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews