We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
339
71
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
339
71
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding garden suite royal natal park main building each evening family run loved every minute a wonderful stay south africa stunning views guided walk stayed longer the cottages lounge area fly fishing beautiful place cave paintings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2021

Went hiking in the Royal Natal National Park. Stayed here as the rooms were much better than that in the park itself. About a 15 minute drive through the village and fields to the park entrance gate. The chalets are fairly modern, with good finishes. Lovely views of the lower berg and amphitheatre . The food was much better than expected, and the service was personalised and good. Management were on-site and responsive. Will stay there again

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AngusB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Dear Angus,
Thanks very much for choosing Montusi as your base for your Royal Natal National Park adventures! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very lucky to have this location with our views and space.
We hope to welcome you back again one day.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Overall this is a fantastic Lodge with amazing views of the mountain. There was a variety of food options to suit many dietary requirements. The owners are very hands on when it comes to the customer experience. The hikes were well-marked and catered for various fitness levels.

Room tip: Newer rooms facing the mountain are spacious & good furnishing
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshMaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Hi Ash,
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed hosting your family and hope to see you all again soon.
All the best for 2021,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

I’m leaving this beautiful haven feeling relaxed and revived.Oscar the cat was the cherry on the top.Great service from Ammilette our server who greeted us morning and at dinner time and smiled with her beautiful eyes coz of covid19 regulations wearing her mask. To the overwhelming view of the mountain that really intimidated me, and really tested my body,I totally recommend doing the hiking trails the clean fresh air lush green vegetation and plant species are so amazing.the best part of all the cool fresh wild waters that flow with so much force out the mountain.
Montusi a must stay good food clean comfortable beds and stunning views of the darkens berg.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rossouwrustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Dear Rustin,
Thanks so much for including Montusi in your KZN adventure.
It was an absolute treat to host you and share our mountains with you. Thank you for loving your hike and the unadulterated beauty of the pristine wilderness in her full summertime glory.
I will pass your compliments onto Ammilette. I'm so glad her kind heart shone through the mask!
We hope to welcome you back to Montusi in the future.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020

This was my first post lockdown holiday and it was an ideal starting point and a much valued holiday. The lodge is located in magnificent surrounds in close proximity to the Royal national park for those, like myself, that appreciate early morning hikes.
The lodge is beautifully maintained, aesthetically pleasing, modern with character and to top it all provides fantastic service. The food was amazing both for dinner and breakfast. Dietary needs were met without reverting to boring and the meals were delicious - with generous portion sizes!
I had a wonderful stay and will certainly pay a future visit and hopefully a longer one visit next time.

Room tip: All the rooms have amazing surrounding views which one may appreciate from the patio
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheyb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your time with us!
It has been quite a year, and providing guests with the space to restore their souls is an honour. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here and had the opportunity to explore the mountains.
They will be waiting for your next visit!
Kind regards,
LiIndsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

This is a great lodge. Many things to do in the area - hiking, mountain biking and other adventures.
We had dinner twice at the restaurant and it was fantastic!
Lunch also very good. Nice vegan menu. Very good wine selection as well.
The chalet we stayed in was very comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank elmien32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2020

Thanks so much for your great review of your time at Montusi.
Guests staying in the Self-catering Cottages are indeed welcome to book meals at the lodge dining room:)
There are so many things to do and keep busy, but also ample opportunity to soak in the peace and quiet.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews