We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
337
71
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
337
71
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding garden suite royal natal park main building each evening family run loved every minute a wonderful stay south africa stunning views guided walk stayed longer the cottages lounge area fly fishing beautiful place cave paintings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

I’m leaving this beautiful haven feeling relaxed and revived.Oscar the cat was the cherry on the top.Great service from Ammilette our server who greeted us morning and at dinner time and smiled with her beautiful eyes coz of covid19 regulations wearing her mask. To the overwhelming view of the mountain that really intimidated me, and really tested my body,I totally recommend doing the hiking trails the clean fresh air lush green vegetation and plant species are so amazing.the best part of all the cool fresh wild waters that flow with so much force out the mountain.
Montusi a must stay good food clean comfortable beds and stunning views of the darkens berg.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rossouwrustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Dear Rustin,
Thanks so much for including Montusi in your KZN adventure.
It was an absolute treat to host you and share our mountains with you. Thank you for loving your hike and the unadulterated beauty of the pristine wilderness in her full summertime glory.
I will pass your compliments onto Ammilette. I'm so glad her kind heart shone through the mask!
We hope to welcome you back to Montusi in the future.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020

This was my first post lockdown holiday and it was an ideal starting point and a much valued holiday. The lodge is located in magnificent surrounds in close proximity to the Royal national park for those, like myself, that appreciate early morning hikes.
The lodge is beautifully maintained, aesthetically pleasing, modern with character and to top it all provides fantastic service. The food was amazing both for dinner and breakfast. Dietary needs were met without reverting to boring and the meals were delicious - with generous portion sizes!
I had a wonderful stay and will certainly pay a future visit and hopefully a longer one visit next time.

Room tip: All the rooms have amazing surrounding views which one may appreciate from the patio
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheyb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your time with us!
It has been quite a year, and providing guests with the space to restore their souls is an honour. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here and had the opportunity to explore the mountains.
They will be waiting for your next visit!
Kind regards,
LiIndsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

This is a great lodge. Many things to do in the area - hiking, mountain biking and other adventures.
We had dinner twice at the restaurant and it was fantastic!
Lunch also very good. Nice vegan menu. Very good wine selection as well.
The chalet we stayed in was very comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank elmien32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Du Plessis, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2020

Thanks so much for your great review of your time at Montusi.
Guests staying in the Self-catering Cottages are indeed welcome to book meals at the lodge dining room:)
There are so many things to do and keep busy, but also ample opportunity to soak in the peace and quiet.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

We spent three nights at Montusi and this was probably our 5th or 6th visit. We first visited Montusi whilst living in SA but since moving to Europe we have continued to visit SA and have returned to Montusi twice. The chalets are comfortable and ours had a new bathroom. Food is a good standard and service is excellent. The walks around the property are well marked and there is a daily complimentary guided walk. I also had a massage which was great after a long walk. Great views.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayMML, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Dear Caroline,
Thanks for your lovely review and for coming back to visit Montusi again and again:)
It is wonderful to be a haven for you when you are back in South Africa. We've had all our bathrooms upgraded, so every suite has smart new bathrooms!
We look forward to hosting you again.
All the best,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

We had two nights here on our way from Joburg through the Drakensberg and onto Durban. A great place to stop with about 15 private cottages and a central retaurant.
Lovely grounds wher each place has a stunning view and you don't know there are other cottages until you go outside. The cottages are private and have a fireplace which must e cosy in winter.
We didn't use the pool as overcast when we weret here but it looked good in a rural setting away from the main building.
Nice to have a drink on the veranda before everyone goes in for dinner around the same time. Menu and wine list not extensive but good as was local beer.
Service and breakfast good so couldnt fault the place.
Some serious walks around here but we took the shortest walk (strenuous enough) up to the Bushmans Caves and were amazed that you can still see some painting about 8000 years old.
Had a day trip out to Spion Kop which was worth it although not well sign posted and includes 10km of dirt road. (In fact the site wasn't signed approaching from one way and we found it on the way back). To think soldiers struggled up here with all their equipment in hot weather to die needlesly.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OlePompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayMML, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Thank you so much for sharingyour positive experience of Montusi. We are so happy you enjoyed it despite the not-quite-perfect weather.
Spionkop is indeed a battlefield worth visiting (although finding it is challenging!) - the stories that came off the mountain and the atmosphere that still permeates the peak make it a soul-shaking experience.
We hope to welcome you back again one day, when the sun is shining and the pool is inviting!
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews