We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
348
73
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
348
73
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse ride main building each evening family run a wonderful stay royal natal national park south africa mountain biking stunning views minute drive stayed longer guided walk fly fishing the cottages beautiful place lodge walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed at Montusi during Christmas 2008 with two kids (4 years and 10 months). This place offers you a lot to do but suits equally well for those who just want to relax. The service and meals are excellent and the quality of the accommodation is of high standard. The units offer you a lot of space and good level of privacy.

They have special meal times for families with children so can recommend this place for both families with children and couples looking for complete relaxation.

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mjm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

The setting in the Drakensberg Mtns of S. Africa is absolutely beautiful. The staff is dedicated to your pleasure and comfort. And then there is the wonderful food. We were there on Christmas Day and the family that manages the facility invited all the guests to join them in a 3-4 km walk to the river to share hot chocolate and cakes and enjoy the beautiful mountain scenery. If it wasn't so far away from my home in NYC I'd go back often. If you're going on safari in South Africa you should schedule a few relaxing days at Montusi Mtn Lodge.

Date of stay: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdflicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

Very nice Lodge far far away from the next road or city. If you want to relax, this is a place where you can do this. The food is excellent, the rooms are very clean, the offered activities are very good.

Note: This is not a small B&B, it is quite a big Lodge (appr. 20 rondels) with a business hotel character. It is only 3h from Joburg and the rich South Africans from Joburg are spending their weekends here. This is not a bad thing but you should consider this for your travel schedule.

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank marbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We were greeted by the family who run the lodge and they are all absolutely wonderful. We stayed at Montusi for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The lodge is beautifully located and is a great base to explore the Northern Drakensberg. There are also several hikes on the property.

The cottages are very spacious and well equipped. There are heaters in the bathroom for cooler nights and winter days, a hairdryer, the lounge area has a TV and fireplace, the large beds are extremely comfortable and the private terrace is the perfect place to watch the sun set over the valley. A laundry service is also offered.

The food was delicious and different every evening. We enjoyed the variety and nice wines. Be sure to stop by the bar and play a game of pool pre-dinner. The lodge also prepared a packed lunch for us to take on our hikes.

Overall we had a fantastic time and will definitely be recommending Montusi to our friends. Thank you Carte family.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gbwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Montusi Mountain Lodge as the first stop over on our holiday to South Africa. It was the perfect place to adjust to the relaxed South African pace of life and an unexpected delight. The sweet little cottages are very comfortable with the most wonderful views imaginable. The food is excellent and the helpful staff do everything possible to make your stay a great experience, including champagne, fresh fruit and chocolates in the room. They organised a surprise singing of Happy Birthday and a cake for my partner and also organised our full days hike to the top of the Amphitheatre (well worth the effort). Waking up at dawn to see the sunlight just touching the top of the mountains was a highlight of the holiday.
All of the complex is beautifully maintained and there are some very good and well marked walks through the surrounding countryside.
I would thoroughly recommend Montusi to anyone intending to visit the dramatic Drakensberg region of South Africa.

Date of stay: November 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews