We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not the same anymore!”
Review of Catch of the day

Catch of the day
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Jeffreys Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 8 January 2020

With guests from out of town and wanted to have seafood and calamari we thought we will book for 6 people and have a good seafood dinner. 2nd time that we are just so disappointed. It really seems like it is all about money during season time. The calamari and fish combo was so small portion of calamari and there were no difference between the few chips and calamari on the plate. The chips are also no longer fresh potato chips, it is soft soggy frozen chips. The price, however, is not the same any longer and it was just such a disappointment!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wilnaventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

Absolutely pathetic service. Raw food. People around us getting the wrong food. Waiter useless. Restaurant not even busy.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Travelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019

Although the food takes long to prepare, the quality is excellent. The salad was crispy fresh and the sushi fantastic.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2019 via mobile

I have been wanting to come here for years.
Food was tasty and nice spot ...... but Overpriced and Expensive.
I had 12-prawns (small) and rice. Paid way more than what it was worth.
Not a flashy, upmarket restaurant but been around for a while and they are really overcharging for what you receive. A very plain “rustic” restaurant.
Will get more value for money at most other restaurants in the area.
Would NOT recommend or go back.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank NelusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

What a disaster........... One of the best restaurants in past years and a place we loved to go and enjoy live sports and the vibe. Service were poor and the food was really bad. Fish were mushy and had to send it back and the Sushi my wife had was not up to standard, cannot believe how the place has changed. Left at half time and enjoyed the rest of the game at the Mexican which were really great

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Gert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catch of the day also viewed

Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Catch of the day? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.